We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this very well balanced hotel”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for about 4 days in December. Overall a great place. Debated in my head whether to give 5 stars or 4, but settled on it being worth of 5.

What I liked about this hotel:
- Location is great. It's close enough to the main party area of Koh Samui at night (call in a 5 minute walk) that it's very accessible, but just far enough away that you're far from the noise when you ultimately want to retreat into quiet. Also close to some beach front night spots, and restaurants / convenience stores are real close by as well. It's also pretty close to the airport.

- Rooms are beautiful with a big bed, and great view. High standard. Very clean except I did notice that when I accidentally left some bread crumbs on the floor overnight, the ants were out in full force the next morning (note to self, don't leave food on the floor!). This was more my fault than the hotel's,

- Staff was very friendly. I remember the first day I arrived I went into town with some people and came back at 4:00 a.m. in not the best shape in the world and they helped me find my room.


Really the only cons are the hotel complex is huge, and my unit was at the very rear out back. Was a gorgeous view, but a long walk to get to. Only other thing is the pool area seemed a little vanilla, and quite a few beach vendors (which of course will be an issue for all the hotels along that strip).

Overall, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Daniel,

Many thanks for sharing your great comments about your stay, appreciate the recommendations!

Hope to welcome you back again to the Amari Palm Reef,

Best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Amari Palm was great. I would really recommend this hotel for those seeking outdoors peace and quiet. The staff was so friendly, specially Luz. He always made sure I was happy and comfortable. Which made my holiday even more enjoyable :-)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just a short note to say to the Management and staff how much we appreciated the hospitality on our 13 nights at you resort over xmas and new year's. The Staff were so nice to our kids and the entertainment you put one was awesome. I have attached a photo of the fire act which was amazing. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed the Christmas and New Years dinner and shows, and hope for the chance to welcome you and your family back once again!

Best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 10 nights from 6th December, following a fantastic 4 nights in Bangkok. This was our first trip to Thailand.

We arrived via taxi from the airport (expensive for such a short trip) around 1pm and were warmly greeted at reception and shown to our room (4216 – on the other side of the road).

Our room was bright and airy, with plenty of space. We were on the top floor. We did however notice in the bathroom that there was no shower head on the shower – this seemed quite an obvious thing to have missed when the room was checked for our arrival. We called reception and they sorted it out, but it did take some time as the receptionist’s English wasn’t the best and there was some communication problems.

We loved the hotel, and found no issues at all. It’s in a great location – a short walk from the hustle and bustle of the resort, whilst being right on the beach.

I used the gym a lot – it’s small but has everything you need.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic – loads of choice and this kept us full until lunch. I loved the French toast and pancakes.

The 2 pools are clean and large – we spent more time at the one near our room as it was quieter than the main one (less noisy children), but there is no bar at this one. We did notice that there was no lifeguard on duty at either pool, which may concern us if we had children. There is also no lifeguard on the beach which we found strange.

We enjoyed happy hour in the bar most evenings (loved the mango sticky grain cocktails) before we headed out.

The one particularly bad experience we had on the trip was at the Prego restaurant which is the hotel’s Italian one. The service was appalling – staff spent more time talking amongst themselves than serving customers. We placed our order and the starters arrived before the drinks did, which really annoys me. After our main courses (which came out as we were eating our starters), we ordered desserts, and my husband’s arrived and mine was forgotten. A waitress did apologise but by that time we were just too angry! The restaurant is described as the best Italian in Chaweng, but we would disagree and preferred Olivio’s (read below).

Just a few points on the Chaweng area…

Taxis are pricey in comparison to Bangkok and none of them use the meter. It’s cheapest to hop on one of the Tuk Tuks.

We went to Fisherman’s Village one evening for dinner and had a great meal at Starfish and Coffee – highly recommend it. Ask for a table overlooking the sea.

We went to the Ladyboys Cabaret show which was a good giggle – get drunk first!

Our favourite restaurant in Chaweng was Olivio’s – a lovely Italian overlooking the sea. If you go to the beach outside the hotel and walk left as far as you can go, you’ll find it. Very reasonable and much better food and service than Prego.

We didn't use the hotel spa as you can get spa treatments for half the price in Chaweng.

You have to take Chaweng for what it is – highly commercial, but good fun. If you want to escape, head out on a day trip. We did the snorkelling trip to Ko Tao which was a 1.5hr speed boat trip away. It was nice to experience some different islands.

We will definitely be back to Thailand, but will be visiting some of the less commercial islands next time!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Carlyn,

Thanks very much for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. It is great to see that overall you had an enjoyable experience, and nice that you included many helpful pointers in your review.

Regarding your comment about the absence of a lifeguard, all our pool staff receive First Aid and CPR training regularly in case of a mishap, and there is security at the beach most hours of the day and night.

About your dinner at Prego, I must apologise. We usually receive very good comments about the dining there so I have addressed this issue with both the Restaurant Manager and the Chef for their attention.

Thank you again for sharing, and wish you all the best,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

the hotel is not that bad, just want to share yesterday's experience:
we wanted to move to another hotel, by taxi. As taxis are the most unpleasant experience in Thailand, we asked around, what would be a reasonable price.
The girl at reception said, 500 would be a good price, probably a bit more. The first taxi-driver we asked, offered the ride for 400 already and a passing-by staff (westerner, to be more precise) said, without knowing I had the driver at 350 already, anything below 600 would be a great deal!

meaning to say: when it comes to taxi-prices, DO NOT ASK THE STAFF, they either don't know or they make their share as well.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Vielreisende R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Vielreisende,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and glad you found the hotel to be not bad, but don't you think a sweeping statement like "Don't trust staff" is a little unfair?

As you say yourself, dealing with taxi drivers is not a pleasant experience as you usually need to bargain the price down, but to suggest a passing staff member may receive a cut for their suggested price (as wrong as it may be) is a bit ridiculous, especially as the fares asked from driver to driver varies greatly and the meter is never used.

Regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed from the 7th. to the 12th. of Dec'2013 and as usual the stay was excellent. This was my 4th, visit to the hotel in the last 4 years and look forward to going back again next year. The staff is excellent, the food was good, the whole experience was enjoyable and pleasurable. Congratulations to the management.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NimeshMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Nimesh,

Great to hear you enjoyed yet another stay with us, many thanks for your kind words. This is great to hear especially from returning guests such as yourself. Look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

All the best till then and Happy New Year,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January with 2 friends. Brilliant atmosphere though the beach is not private.we stayed in a bungalow which was on the half of the resort separated by the road. Had an amazing salad for lunch and the breakfast was delightful. Unfortunately the beach is not private so tourists were constantly walking through meaning it was not as relaxing as we wished for. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Dotty,

Thank you for your kind review, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. About the beach, yes it is not private - all beaches in Thailand are public domain, but people watching can be fun too :)

Best wishes from Koh Samui,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,484 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $119 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing