We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amari Koh Samui
Nearby Hotels
$130
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$153
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$137
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$197
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$176
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$300
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$397
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,717)
Filter reviews
2,717 results
Traveler rating
1,625
769
203
78
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,625
769
203
78
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspregobeach sidethai villagegarden wingbreeze spakoh samuicrossing guardsdeluxe roomchaweng beachthe main hotelbusy roadmain poolthe main roadpool viewbreakfast was amazingour honeymoonhappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,069 - 1,074 of 2,717 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights last week and first time away without the children. From start to finish it was wonderful. Airline lost my luggage and staff at Amari were onto it straight away and stayed in regular contact with airline until luggage found. They call Thailand the land of 1000 smiles and that is exactly what you got at Amari. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. The whole place is meticulously clean and tidy. Some people have complained regarding the Internet and yes, it does drop out a lot, but if that is the most you have to complain about then what a wonderful place. It is Thailand after all and you are on an island so all things considered, you are probably lucky to get internet at all. We stayed in Bangkok 2 days prior and could barely get internet or phones at all. The breakfast was great and always plentiful. We saw lots of families with small children and caters for them as well so no one misses out. We ate at the restaurant and very comparable prices to what is available on the beach. Only difference is that you get charged a service fee and tax on top of the price on menu but the quality of food is good. My husband also had a suit made from Tailor at complex and very much recommended. It was sad to leave but we know we will be back and will probably bring our children along as well as our grandchild. Highly recommend to all from young to not so young. Something for everyone.

Room Tip: Stay in the village, quieter. Ground floor is best if you have small children.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are all very happy that you and your husband had such a relaxing time and enjoyed your experience! We certainly hope to welcome you and the rest of your family back again next time.

All the best till then,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Just amazing hotel.
We stayed at superior room near the pool and the room was perfect, with nice terrace and pool view.
The breakfast was sooo yammmy with a lot of choice.
The stuff were so nice and the hotel is so clean, we will come back again for sure

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hilaplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a great little resort. The pool is nice the beach front is nice, and the staff were very nice and took care of us. The hotel is located just far enough from the edge of the busy street that you didn't have the crazy foot traffice and noise, but close enough that you could walk to it in 5 mins. The breakfast was amazing, the variety and the quality was something I haven't seen at other hotels I have been to. Our rooms were on the beach side and were small. They did what we needed, but the bathroom was a little too small for more than one person getting ready at a time. We were there for my birthday and my niece's honeymoon. They left me a piece of birthday cake in my room when we checked in, and they put flowers in a heart shape and a piece of cake in her and her husbands room. That was very nice and a great touch. They kept the rooms clean and left a flower on our pillow each night. We enjoyed our stay at the Amari Palm Reef. It was definitely one of the nicer hotels along Chaweng Beach.
The reason that I'm not giving them a 5 rating: They have a "service fee" tacked onto anything extra. Drinks ordered at the bar had a service fee, laundry had a service fee, the spa had a service fee. This fee was not for the performers of the service, this was not a tip, these were just fees they tacked on. It was annoying. It's like the famous resort fee that US hotels are taking on to the price of the hotel. These services and costs were already expensive when compared to similar services, and then they tack on a service fee.

Room Tip: If you want a room with 2 double beds you can only stay on the street side. The beach side only has King size beds.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyLaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear BillyLala,

Thank you very much for your great review. It's really nice to hear that you enjoyed your family holiday and enjoyed all the facilities and services at our resort, your kind words will be shared with the team!

I'd like to explain the service charge though, as it seems to be a little bit of a sore point on an otherwise great experience. Most hotels in Thailand add a 10% service charge on the goods and services provided. This service charge actually makes up part of the staff's salary, as it is divided equally among all staff at the end of the month. This is to ensure that it is not just the servers who receive a "tip", but other team members like the gardeners, dishwashers or laundry attendants who are also working hard. I promise it is not something just added on which goes into the hotel coffers!

In any case we are very happy that you had a nice time and hope to welcome you back again,

Best wishes from Samui,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights on the beach side and it was great. The room is very nice , comfterble ,clean and has all the facilities . Great location ,on the beach and in a walking distance from the center. The pool,and the public amazing . Friendly staff, good breakfast and excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eyal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Eyal,

Thank you for your very nice review, we hope to see you here again in the near future.

Best wishes!

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in amari for 4 nights for our honey moon in November, we had a great welcome and the hospitality only improved from the first night onwards! Great location only 2 mins from center and great beach access and clean pools. I don't think there is any hotel we would like to stay other then amari on our next visit. Well done guys!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Umair,

Many thanks for your great feedback, so glad to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us! Looking forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary :)

All the best for now,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews