We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Déjà vu”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Déjà vu”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We last stayed at the Amari Palm Reef about 10 years ago and not much has changed. That can be good or bad, depending on your point of view!
The location is good at the quieter end of Chaweng Beach but still within an easy walk to shops and restaurants.
The hotel is split across two sides of a busy road but it worked well for us. We stayed in a deluxe room in the garden wing on the non-beach side which was a much quieter area than the beach side of the property.
Rooms haven't changed in 10 years and although now showing signs of tiredness they're very clean. Marble bathrooms are looking faded and worn and new fittings seem well overdue. But again, they're very clean.
The pool area in the garden wing is much quieter and more suited to adults only or families with toddlers. Food and beverage service in this area can be slow depending on how busy the area is.
Food at Amari is very good. Buffet breakfast provides plenty of choice and is of good quality. Breakfast is served in an upstairs dining area so climbing stairs may prove difficult for some parents with young children or older guests.
We also ate in the area around the main pool and at Prego and both were of reasonable quality and cost.
We stayed at Amari for 6 nights in a deluxe room and our deal also included breakfast each day and return airport transfers which cost us 44000 baht. We booked directly through their website to get this deal.
We really couldn't believe that things were exactly the same as 10 years ago. I know there are much newer properties available in Koh Samui but overall, whether you're a couple or a family, you'll get a well located, clean and comfortable, good value for money stay at the Amari Palm Reef.

Room Tip: Choose the Garden wing if you'd like a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChampagneCharlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    706
    173
    67
    38
See reviews for
593
1,136
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great combination of beach pool and access to great restaurants in town. The staff is very nice and always do the best to satisfy. The only down side is if you reserve through third parties and not direct they will accommodate you in less preferred rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eitanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Friends of mine had there wedding here so it was only fitting that we would stay her for the week.

First off I cant fault how beautiful the Amari is. The pool was lovely, It had a great location, the rooms were pretty nice and food wasn’t too bad.

I do have a few concerns. We were very fortunate enough to get a discount because our friends were having the wedding at the resort but when we looked at the prices before hand it was upwards of $300 per night. which for Thailand standards is very very expensive. Its definitely not a $300 a night resort.

the other disappointing part was the lack of service around the bar and pool. At some stages it was quicker for us to walk up to the 7/11 and get drinks and food then it was at the resort, yet there was heaps of staff walking around. it was pretty disappointing. when we did get served the beer wasn’t that cold either.

If I was asked would I recommend it I probably would but would I say there again probably not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Amari and had a great time. The staff were excellent very friendly and most helpful. The breakfasts where amazing with heaps of food to choose from. We stayed on the beach side of the resort and the room was perfect for us. Bathroom was very small and the airconditioning was hard to get the temp just right but other than that it was cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels. The pool was very clean we found it difficult sometimes to get a sun bed but that was always around lunch time. Close enough to walk into chaweng but far enough to not hear the nightlife. On the day we checked out we weren't getting picked up until 4.45pm and the staff let us have a shower in one of the rooms which wasn't occupied. All in all we had a wonderful holiday at the amari and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

It is at the top end of beach which is refreshing as more relaxing. However as other reviewers have said sea is not so good as at the lagoon end. Looks to be one if the better hotels at Chaweng but would say 4* not 5. We asked to be moved from first room (4209) which was right at side overlooking a car park and very noisy. Rooms not that big and we were 3 (2 adults and teenage daughter) so a little bit cramped. However nice hotel in general and public area, pools and grounds were very well maintained. On the negative side: complete lack of electrical points. On the positive side: extremely good quality and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are a family of 4 (hubby (35), myself (30), and two daughters (5 and 2 year olds). Stayed in Amari for 7 nights from 09 -16 August 2013.
I would like to start with the description of the resort which divided into 3 parts:
1. Beach side with lobby, seaview rooms (deluxe, junior, superior), restaurant (second floor), bar (first floor) and a swimming pool.
2. Second pool thai village houses across the street with family duplexes, superior and deluxe rooms.
3. Garden houses (deluxe rooms) across the street (the furthest from the beach).
We stayed near the second pool in deluxe room (3223) in the thai village area right next to the pool.
Room
Our deluxe room was rather small, however with a modern touch. The bed is very comfortable (bouncy). The existing sofa was used for our 5 year old to sleep in. The hotel also provided a baby cot for our 2 year old daughter (all nice and clean).
There is a closet and shelves where you can place your luggage right at the entrance. Inside the closet you have got a safe, 2 umbrellas, slippers, robes and a beach bag (very useful).
The bathroom is tiny and not very appealing; however there are both walk in shower and a separate bathtub. The shower however should be placed higher than it is. My husband being 1.8 meters was uncomfortable while washing his hair… While most hotels have long switched to rain shower, so this is a turn off. I see that most pictures of Amari does not include bathroom so I will make sure to include my photos to give a general look.
I loved the balcony overlooking the swimming pool and gorgeous garden trees. Magical view and a lovely place to sit both in the morning and in the evening (watch out for mosquitoes – always close the net and put on mosquito repellent for evening sit outs ).
The room was cleaned regularly, sheets and towels changed and amenities supplied.
Aircondition control switch is near the door and there is no way to regulate the temperature but to walk all the way there. Not so fun at night when you want to sleep but it is either too hot or too cold and you have to roll out from your bed and walk to regulate the temperature.
Swimming Pool
The first beach pool is the busy one l pol
Breakfast
Breakfast is absolutely wonderful with huge selection for all tastes. Latte and other types of drinks are included so feel free to ask for it. Wonderful way to open your morning.
Everything fresh, lots of choices including the egg/omelet station, salad corner, kids corner with pasta, sausages and donuts (plastic miki mouse plates are available for small children – lovely touch), selection of rice and noodles, baked beans, bread station, shakes station (you can make your own shakes) , selection of 5 juices, pancakes and other breakfast perks.
Being with small kids, we wake up very early and would usually be at breakfast by 8 am. It gets crowded after 9 and there were couple of times when people didn’t have available tables and had to wait for about 15 minutes.
Location
Amari has a great location – far enough from all the buzz and the noise, however close to all bars and restaurants, pharmacy and 7/11. Being with small children, a small stroll (no more than 15 minutes) to the center with tones of restaurants and shops is fantastic.
Atmosphere
I would recommend this hotel for families. During our stay there were lots of other families with small children and we felt in the right place. I assume that if you are looking for peace and quiet with your other half, this hotel might not meet your expectations. The pool is filled with kids jumping and playing around, so for us it was perfect, but for example for newlyweds it would have been a bit too noisy and packed.
Food
The food at the pool is fine. You also have vendors selling grilled chicken, corn, fruits, ice-cream and drinks right in front of the hotel on the beach. The prices for food and fruits are from 20-50 baht.
Thai Buffet offered by the hotel was not successful at all, so do avoid it. Not a lot of choices, not tasty. Thai food needs to be served hot right from the hot frying pan, so a buffet is a bad idea. Go out and have a decent meal! There are so many choices outside the hotel.
WiFi
Complimentary wifi is available around the hotel grounds. The speed of the internet is now wow, but enough to check emails and facebook.
The Beach
Be aware of the fact that the sea in Chaweng is practically un-swimmable. There are lots and LOTS of seaweed all around, the water looks murky green (more like a pond) and there are lots of sharp objects in the sand and under the water. The sea is very shallow and in order to get to deep waters you have to hire a kayake or walk into the water (not a good idea with all that stuff under there) for 15 minutes…
The Staff
Overall, the staff is helpful and cheerful. However, I would strongly recommend the manager to talk to the staff about taking behind guests back. I know thai language good enough to understand what people say around me, so comments like “this omlette is not for this girl, but a prettier one. This one isn’t so pretty”, or after asking for filling in hot chocolate to my baby’s bottle I heard a comment “Oh, that’s a new request. Anything else?!”. These are just examples and it is extremely inappropriate.
Pool staff was lovely, helpful and cheerful.
Room Service
Room service was fast, food delivered within 20 minutes both from the hotel itself and from Prego Restaurant. By the way, there is no Prego Menu in the room, so If you are stuck with sleeping kids in your room, find prego restaurant via google and use the available menu to order directly from the restaurant.
The Road
Crossing the road from one “wing” to another might not seem like a big deal for couple of days, but if you have to do it for a week or more, it gets annoying. With small children it is actually quite stressful – always need to keep an eye on your babies and hold their hands.
Sunbeds
Jacuzzi in the main pool was making horrible high pitch buzzing sound. Chairs near it were taken last and people usually would run away after couple of hours. The hotel needs to fix this.
Not enough chairs at the pool and at the beach during our stay. If you don’t catch your chairs right after breakfast (no later than 9:30) you might end up without place to sit.
Summary
Overall good place to stay if you need to be a walking distance from the center of Chaweng. It is not luxury and most suitable for families with kids.

Room Tip: Choose the room near the second pool across the street in the Thai village. Make sure to mention tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YanaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose Amari because of it's location: walking distance to Chaweng and the nightlife. The hotel is perfectly located. We had a room on the "other side" of the road. So it was quieter and that suited us perfectly well. We enjoyed our stay here as it's a beachside resort and it's a good one. Not really a romantic hideaway but that's what these resorts are about: fun in the sun.
The breakfast buffet was ok, a bit busy at times. So was the pool. Lot's of noise from guests shouting and playing. The pool on the other side of the road is more quiet and nicer if you want to relax.
We had lunch at Bar@c twice which was really good. Good variety and quality. Good prices too. Went to Prego one night and although it's the much talked about Italian on Samui, we were not completely convinced. Good, but nothing special.
The staff was - hey, this is Thailand - all smiles, helpful and friendly. If you want to be close to Chaweng this is a perfect hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goalgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,443 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing