We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conviently located to Chaweng”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose Amari because of it's location: walking distance to Chaweng and the nightlife. The hotel is perfectly located. We had a room on the "other side" of the road. So it was quieter and that suited us perfectly well. We enjoyed our stay here as it's a beachside resort and it's a good one. Not really a romantic hideaway but that's what these resorts are about: fun in the sun.
The breakfast buffet was ok, a bit busy at times. So was the pool. Lot's of noise from guests shouting and playing. The pool on the other side of the road is more quiet and nicer if you want to relax.
We had lunch at Bar@c twice which was really good. Good variety and quality. Good prices too. Went to Prego one night and although it's the much talked about Italian on Samui, we were not completely convinced. Good, but nothing special.
The staff was - hey, this is Thailand - all smiles, helpful and friendly. If you want to be close to Chaweng this is a perfect hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank goalgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

It is at the top end of beach which is refreshing as more relaxing. However as other reviewers have said sea is not so good as at the lagoon end. Looks to be one if the better hotels at Chaweng but would say 4* not 5. We asked to be moved from first room (4209) which was right at side overlooking a car park and very noisy. Rooms not that big and we were 3 (2 adults and teenage daughter) so a little bit cramped. However nice hotel in general and public area, pools and grounds were very well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed with husband at Amari last summer. We were happy to be there. Amari is suit for family and couples.

Staffs are very nice and helpful. Welcome drinks were served when check in.

Although our rooms are at garden side and need to across the street,, it is okay for me. As garden size is quiet. Room is spacious and tidy. It is more appreciated it if bathroom factilities can be improved.

We went o Chaweng street within 5 minutes walk and many restaurants and shops along the street.

I like their Breeze Spa and it refreshed after spa treatment. We had spa treatment at outdoor but it is comfortable and peaceful. Price is reasonable.

Breakfast buffet is average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PP_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked here on one hour notice as I was switching from another hotel that I had problems with. Check in went smoothly even though I had just booked. Our room was across the street from the lobby, but there are crossing guards that are very helpful. The room was large, modern, and clean. Internet was fast, gym was small, but had all the necessary equipment I needed.

I ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant for 4 days. I thought the food was great and a decent value given it was a nice hotel environment. The cooking classes here are great value as few people attend, they cost 400THB per person for a one hour class where you cook and eat 3 courses.

Nice beach location and multiple pool options at the hotel. You can walk either direction along the beach/road from the hotel to find stores, restaurants, and other businesses.

I found all the service very friendly here. There were a couple instances where staff members did not understand how to answer the simple request being made, but we were able to find someone else that did understand.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimIL747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner & I stayed in room 5310 between Aug 8 - 14 (6 nights) on the garden side of resort, this being our 3rd time to Thailand & Koh Samui, and admit the Amari Palm Reef is THE BEST accomodation we have ever had in Thailand, hands down. Cannot fault one bit. Will be back in 18 months but for a longer stay.

Room Tip: garden side much quieter than beach side, very much had an "adults only" vibe. few kids co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank takingbackbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 9 nights, good superior room away from the beach. Two excellent pools and good beach front.

Service is excellent and very friendly.

Good location to walk into the Chaweng and it's bars, restaurants and shopping (if you like shopping!).

Room Tip: Rooms across the road away from the beach are quieter as is the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice 4* hotel. In the quiet north part of Chaweng. Walking distance from the busy center. Very nice Italian restaurant. Nice pools. Excellent beach. If you imagine a Thai resort - this is the real thing. Bathroom could be bigger with more water pressure though..

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Ukusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,955 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $127 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing