We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large and modern rooms, good value, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice large and modern rooms, good value, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked here on one hour notice as I was switching from another hotel that I had problems with. Check in went smoothly even though I had just booked. Our room was across the street from the lobby, but there are crossing guards that are very helpful. The room was large, modern, and clean. Internet was fast, gym was small, but had all the necessary equipment I needed.

I ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant for 4 days. I thought the food was great and a decent value given it was a nice hotel environment. The cooking classes here are great value as few people attend, they cost 400THB per person for a one hour class where you cook and eat 3 courses.

Nice beach location and multiple pool options at the hotel. You can walk either direction along the beach/road from the hotel to find stores, restaurants, and other businesses.

I found all the service very friendly here. There were a couple instances where staff members did not understand how to answer the simple request being made, but we were able to find someone else that did understand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimIL747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    649
    161
    60
    35
See reviews for
521
1,069
75
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner & I stayed in room 5310 between Aug 8 - 14 (6 nights) on the garden side of resort, this being our 3rd time to Thailand & Koh Samui, and admit the Amari Palm Reef is THE BEST accomodation we have ever had in Thailand, hands down. Cannot fault one bit. Will be back in 18 months but for a longer stay.

Room Tip: garden side much quieter than beach side, very much had an "adults only" vibe. few kids co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank takingbackbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 9 nights, good superior room away from the beach. Two excellent pools and good beach front.

Service is excellent and very friendly.

Good location to walk into the Chaweng and it's bars, restaurants and shopping (if you like shopping!).

Room Tip: Rooms across the road away from the beach are quieter as is the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice 4* hotel. In the quiet north part of Chaweng. Walking distance from the busy center. Very nice Italian restaurant. Nice pools. Excellent beach. If you imagine a Thai resort - this is the real thing. Bathroom could be bigger with more water pressure though..

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a fantastic resort. From the moment I entered the resort, I was made to feel very welcomed at the resort, the reception staff were quick and efficient and was taken to my room immediately. My room was located on the beach side of the resort, overlooking the pool, and it was a perfect room, very clean and well stocked with all the things you need in a hotel like this. Noise was not a problem, but being a little quiet in Koh Samui, I can see that rooms on this side of the resort could be a problem during the busy periods. You are only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping/bar area of Chaweng beach, with plenty of restaurants and entertainment to suit your every need, or you can walk down the beach for a beachside restaurant or a simple massage. Breakfast here was fantastic, with a huge choice to satisfy your breakfast needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

After a very tiresome start to our holiday (storms, airport closures, missed flights, airport sleepovers and airport food) what a breath of fresh air to arrive at Amari palm reef. We arrived at 7:30am and from the moment we stepped out of the taxi we really felt welcome the staff sat us down gave us the most beautiful smelling refreshing face cloths and some lemongrass juice. After missing our first two nights accommodation because of our flights our room wasn't available which the staff were very apologetic about. They took us to the bar and we had a cocktail on the house (mai Thai for breakfast yes please) we sat here for 30mins and the receptionist came and told us our room was ready. Beautiful room, very simple finishes and THE BEST BED IN THAILAND! We have spent a month traveling around Thailand in 3-5 star places and this is still the best!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kibok E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I chose the Amari Palm Reef from a Kuoni brochure as our honeymoon destination for a 10 night stay and can only say we couldn't have chosen better.

The hotel itself straddles Chaweng Road with one half facing the beach and the lagoon. Don't be too disappointed if you end up on the other side of the road - you have a separate pool which has its own lunch menu served by the Prego restaurant nearby. You also have a beautiful tropical garden to wake up to every morning also. The beach-side half has its own pool, bar area, reception and access to the beach.

The beach is a 5 minute walk away and has crisp white sands. The hotel supplies loungers and towels and these can be shaded by the trees on the beach. There are locals on the beach selling everything from coconuts to pictures with a monkey but they don't pester you.

The decor of the hotel is amazing, modern yet in keeping with thai style architecture. The bar area is open, relaxed and you can relax on one of 3 full sized beds overlooking the pool area and an upstairs restaurant that serves breakfast and sometimes, dinner. The Prego restuarant faces reception and is worth a visit, particular if you are a fan of Italian cuisine.

The garden side of the hotel also hosts a spa which provides a number of treatments. I opted for a back massage (to counteract the effects of 24 hours of travelling on 3 flights) and felt energised afterwards.

The best part of the hotel however are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Each one from gardeners to maids, reception to pool-side greet you and thank you in a traditional thai and genuine way.

The only thing I can pick fault with the hotel is that it gets very quiet at night, despite having beach barbecues and happy hour promotions. I can only assume this might be due to other options for guests on Chaweng Road itself.

Whereas Amari Palm Reef is a luxury choice of destination, you cannot say the same for Chaweng Road. Stagnant drains, pushy tailor shop sales people, dodgy thai massage parlours, they all exist here. Do not let that put you off however. There are many little craft markets on here, bars that show sports (F1 and Wimbledon could not have been missed for us) and knock-off watch and designer shops. Restaurants like Red Snapper and Eat Sense are must-visits as well if you are a fan of fine dining. Cha cha moon (near Chaweng Stadium, but down by the beach) is worth a visit for a night time shore side cocktail on a lounger.

In terms of advice for Chaweng Road...
- keep your belonging in your front pockets
- haggle hard - If you don't get a massive discount, walk away, you'll find the same thing at another stall
- Go see Muay Thai at least once, it's amazing to watch
- Don't talk to suit sales men, they'll try bully you into their shop
- If you want a good suit, go to Mode Milano. They have been there the longest (25 years and recommended by the hotel).
- wear comfortable shoes. Pavements are often broken and uneven.

In all, while we spent 10 nights at the Amari Palm Reef, we could've stayed twice that time. It really does look like the brochure pictures, the staff really are that pleasant and we couldn't have picked a better honeymoon spot. Go ahead, treat yourself.

Room Tip: Bring a photocopy of your wedding certificate for complementary room upgrades; Don't be too fixe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveMcGeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Amari Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing