We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good..great for the price”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is a beach property..they gave us a room as far away from the beach as possible..room no 5314 and 5315 so it was a longish walk both to the beach and for breakfast. Also it was on the second floor! but we decided it was a good way to walk off all the yummy food that we had. very well located both for beach shack restaurants and short walk on the main road to lots of food joints. The rooms were comfortable, sheets, towels, clean. The airconditioning was perfect.
The breakfast was ample..lots of choices..although they would run out of food and the service was slowish in clearing up..If you are in a chilled holiday mood(difficult not to be in samui) you dont mind.
Happy hour is good for half price drinks in the evening.
The beach is a bit mossy but once you figure out what to avoid in the water the ocean is like a warm swimming pool.

Room Tip: Take a room in the part of the hotel that is on the beach side so you dont have to walk so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagladyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at Amari Palm Reef so many we times we have lost count.

We are writing our first review because we read on Trip Advisor an negative review that encouraged us to set things straight !!

Firstly, the reception staff are outstanding, quick, efficient , pleasant and accommodating. We had a small issue on our first visit (2009) that was resolved quickly by the wonderful Khun Kruawan (executive assistant manager) . And she is still offering her wonderful service to this day.

Secondly, the managerial staff. WOW

On our first visit we had the privilege of meeting Christophe, a wonderful general manager that has since moved to Amari Hua Hin. If fact we are going to visit Christophe at his new hotel in August.

Now for my third point!!

The new and exceptional GM Martin Kunzman (with new baby Oliver) has kept up the exceptional standard with the new addition of the WONDERFUL Juliane (new 2IC), and together they maintain a sensational team.

Now for my fourth point

The longevity of staff retention is a great reflection of a well managed hotel.

We love to see the familiar faces when we go to breakfast, our lovely "Khun Duanpen"and the amazing smile from "Arnold Swarzenegger" and the rest of the breakfast staff , always welcoming. Not to mention amazing breakfasts, freshly baked breads (all done in the hotel), an amazing choice of international dishes, enough to please all palates.

Last but definitely not least, the meticulous housekeeping staff,



The most gracious and accommodating women- nothing is a problem. We are always greeted with a smile and help with our attempt to speak Thai !! (Their English is a whole lot better than our Thai).

Amazingly "Sirinna" our housekeeper four years ago was moved to beachside rooms and recognised us after all that time "amazing" after all those years and clients!!

To sum up , I chose to spend my 50th Birthday at the Amari with my 24 and 30 year old BOYS and two of their friends one of which is American and he said the hotel breakfast was better than anything in VEGAS!! PS we ARE RETURNING TO AMARI IN SEPTEMBER




.

Room Tip: we like beachside but smaller rooms, convenient for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Nicole,

My goodness, thank you for such a lovely review! It is very much appreciated by all of us here, and we are simply delighted that you always enjoy your stays with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

All the best till then,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Amari is a good choice. We arrived and our room was not quite ready, so they gave us a free drink in the lounge areas. Our rooms were across the road from the main area but this was not an issue. Our room was spacious but had a bit of bug problem - housekeeping did try and resolve this. The pool was nice and service was good. Nice hotel for families and also close to the lively Chewang area. The hotel food/drinks etc are quite pricey but some more reasonably priced restaurants on the beach close to the hotel.

All in all, a good 4 star hotel which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anon100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Anon100001,

Thanks for your recent review of your stay here with us. It's great to hear that you were happy with your choice of hotel, and appreciate the recommendation!

All the best and hope to see you here on your next visit,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort was superb, from the stylish decor to the fabulous pools, food, service and location. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful and the facilities and activities were great. I particularly loved the beach and main pool and pool-side bar , where we enjoyed fabulous cocktails every night. The evening beach barbeque was also really special.
It was also lovely to be able to stroll up and down Chewang beach, wading or floating in the calm warm water when we got tired or too hot or choosing a good spot to enjoy a fabulous Thai beach-side massage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Karen,

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your time here at our island paradise. Thank you for sharing and hope to welcome you back again one day soon!

Warm regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location
The location was probably the best bit - it took a 5minute walk to get to central Chaweng and we got the chance to discover great restaurants along the way! The beach is much nicer here than the hotels in the middle of Chaweng. It isn't noisy but is still close enough to everything!

Service
Fantastic - checkin and checkout was great, room was cleaned very well every day

Room
I understand what people mean by dated but honestly, there was nothing to complain about. Big comfy bed, good TV, balcony, great bathroom! We were located on the garden side across the road from the beach but its a 2minute walk I don't understand why people make such a fuss!!

Facilities
Pools were great
Restaurants were great
We had our laundry done for a great price and was done and returned very quick
Breakfast was good

Spa
WOW!!! a must try! they have amazing promotions also, and worth every bit of $$ spent

OVERALL - this was a great resort which could cater to everyone
I travelled with my partner but there were young families, groups of friends etc also staying and it was never an issue! Happy to answer anyones questions.

One last thing - there was a wedding at the resort while we were there and the area for the ceremony was set up beautifully!

Room Tip: Deluxe was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Emily,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Myself and the team are really glad you enjoyed your holidays here with us. Come back and see us sometime!

Kindest regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We decided to stay longer after our first few days. Our family suite was comfortable with balcony overlooking the grounds and sight seeing tower. We would have loved to be on the beach side but the family suites were all across the street. Other than that the room was comfortable and clean, the service excellent the pool is beautiful and all of the restaurants were great. A short walk on beach took you to many other great resorts and restaurants, or a walk along the street took you to banks, shops and quick marts. Very convenient location. My son rented a scooter for the week at a very reasonable price and loved touring the island every day via scooter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Lori,

Many thanks for your nice review following your stay with us. Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed our resort and even extended your stay!

Hope to see you back here again one day,

Kind regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a family wedding/reunion in Koh Samui. I booked 3 rooms at Amari Palm Reef and all were well sized, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful especially as our bags were lost in transit from Australia. They communicated with the airline and got it sorted. The buffet breakfast was part of our deal and the food was delicious, fresh and plentiful. The views from the restaurant were fabulous. We liked the fact that there were two choices for pools and found the pool quieter on the western side of the resort. We had lunch at the resort and it was reasonably priced but for somewhere special to go for dinner we were very happy with Prego which is attached to the hotel.The hotel is in a good position, far enough away from bars and clubs but close enough to walk to if interested.

Room Tip: Rooms on beachside are closer to restaurants otherwise you need to cross the road to get to breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Louise,

Many thanks for sharing your experience of staying with us. I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our restaurants. Your kind comments will be passed along and I'm sure will be appreciated by the team. Thank you again and hope to see you on your next visit to Koh Samui,

Warmest regards,

Martin Kunzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.6 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $134 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing