We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff,great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
greenock
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great staff,great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the amari palm reef for 10 days,nothing bad to say about the place,there are 2 parts to the hotel beachside and garden wing which is across the road,we were in the garden wing,it was very quiet,both pools are good but the beachside has more people around it
Staff were very attentive and polite ,breakfast very good lots of choice and constant fresh coffee.all in all top class !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhoyGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear BhoyGreenock,

Thank you for the great feedback, it is much appreciated and will be shared with our team!

All the best from Koh Samui,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    645
    159
    60
    35
See reviews for
513
1,059
71
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just spent 10 days at this fantastic hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect, at the top end of Chaweng, away from the bustle, but only a few minutes walk from the town and all it's attractions. The rooms were clean and in good condition and the service at breakfast and in the bar was excellent. The beach side pool was always fairly busy and the garden side pool a lot quieter. The beach side benefited from the sea breeze during the hottest part of the day. Despite a policy of no reservations there was a fair bit of lounger bagging going on but we always got a lounger where we wanted. Crossing the pool boy's palm with silver did seem to assist in getting a lounger in a preferred spot! The beach is perfect for people watching and spotlessly clean; the staff sweep it every day. As others have commented the breakfast choice is vast and the omelettes especially good. Bar service was excellent and the staff always polite and helpful. Apart from one meal at Prego, the hotel Italian restaurant, we didn't eat in the hotel (too many other attractive places nearby) but can thoroughly recommend the satay and corn sellers on the beach to the left and tight of the hotel. We did eat in Prego, the Italian restaurant and had a great meal.

All in all a fantastic hotel and we really recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We'd recommend a room across the road from the beach for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your review. Very glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities and services of the hotel and our team. Much appreciated and hope to welcome you back again on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in the Amari Palm Reef Hotel the last days during our holidays to relax and enjoy the beach. Exactly that was possible in a very nice way at this hotel. Despite its size one gets a good attendance of the staff and the restaurant facilities as well as the pool/garden area are very nice kept. The only down side was that at this time of the year the hotel was very busy, which made it sometimes difficult to find a place at the beach or pool side to relax. Also one needs to know that the rooms are mostly located at the garden side and not right at the beach, thus a walking distance of about 5-10 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeannetteSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Jeanette,

Thank you for your nice comments about your stay at the hotel. We do appreciate it and it has been shared with the team.Yes indeed February is a busy time being our high season, but I hope despite this you were able to enjoy relaxing days here with us!

All the best from Samui,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A bit late but had to report on our recent visit to Koh Samui and this hotel. We settled on it after looking at the reviews on ta. Have to say we're somewhat apprehensive about travelling this distance for a ten night holiday. Our usual trips are to carribean but as it was a special occasion we wanted to create a special memory of somewhere different. Koh Samui and the amari so exceeded our expectations. Beautiful island full of a wonderful friendly culture, great fun and a not in the slightest intimidating. Indeed one of the friendliest and least pushy places we have visited. Nothing too much trouble from anyone we met. The amari was perfectly located, offered a fantastic base with great comfort and even better service. Those wonderful Thai smiles from everyone we met. It was great value for money and the attention to service exceptional from the guys who set up our sunbeds everyday, lee and others who blended the perfect cocktails and the girls who serviced our room, left fresh flowers everyday and decorated it for our arrival to celebrate our silver wedding. We are already planning a return trip next year and have recommended it to our friends and family. Thank you to you all for giving us some very treasured memories

Room Tip: Don't worry about being across the road. Rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda3933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Panda3933,

Thanks very much for sharing your Samui holiday experience, it was a pleasure to learn how much your visit was enjoyed and how our team were able to help you celebrate your anniversary! Looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.

All the best till then,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Spotless grounds and spotlessly clean rooms. We were in the rooms at the back and ours was big and fresh. The air con kept inside cool despite the heat and humidity outside. Little things like two umbrellas and a pool bag make your stay easier.

The staff, every one of them greats you with a smile and hello.

The food around the pool and the bar is good. The variety of things for breakfast is amazing. You would need to be extremely fussy if you can't find something to suit you.

It is located at the quiet end of the main street. Everything you could want (food, shopping, beach, massage, entertainment) is within strolling distance.

We held our daughters wedding at the Amari. They could not have provided a prettier, more professional and cost effective ceremony and reception, including a traditional water ceremony and dancers and drummers. The food was superb and so much more than we could eat. We could never have afforded something half as good in Australia and it would have been 10 times harder to organise. I saw a wedding at a nearby resort a few days later and it was not even close to what the Amari provided.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_WA068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Dave,

Many thanks for your great review. It is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team! I'm glad you enjoyed the wedding, your group was a pleasure to host and we wish your daughter and her big man many years of happiness together!

Warmest regards from Samui,

Martin & the Amari team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Amari for the second time in the last 8 years and I can honestly say both times have been really good. We did have a issue booking with the hotel and also when we got there we had requested a room early as we were travelling with a 5 month old baby which they stated "they would recommend for this to occur" on arrival this was not available after a long chat they gave us a room in there staff area and look it wasn't great but it was clean and somewhere we could get a 5 month a old bottle. This was soon forgotten the rooms were clean and well designed but we stayed beach side and they were a little tiny. The food was fab and very well priced. The happy hour was very good and the cooktails were very nice and well priced at buy one get one free.

We would highly recommend this resort for families but be mindful there is no kids club. This time we stayed with a 5 month old baby but last time a 5, 7, 3 and 1 year old there needs were well catered for. Room service second to none, food fab and staff very friendly. Great location walking distance to everything without being to busy.

We hired a car this time and loved it even more

Kim :-)

Room Tip: Beach side is nice but the room are a lot smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Kim,

Thanks a lot for your review and great to hear you had a nice time with us! We are actually planning on setting up a Kids Club soon, so perhaps next time you visit when your little one is a bit older she will have a place of her own to play!

Hope to see you back again soon,

Best wishes,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had attended a wedding in Koh Samui but on the quiet side of the island at Lipa Noi - as a comparison we spent the last three nights in Chaweng but we were ready for the congestion and and hustle and bustle. Amari is a beautiful resort set amongst well tended gardens with all the facilities we needed. The resort is split into two sections - we were over the road away from the beach but this was fine as there was a beaut swimming pool right outside our door. The gym was also on our side but we did not use it. The breakfasts were amazing and there were slightly different foods on offer each morning. We were made to feel very welcome and service was very attentive - there was a slight problem with translation but we just kept asking till we made ourselves understood. The beach was nice and clean and the location great. You could walk straight to shops and market stalls and there were plenty of restaurants around. Hiring a bike was simple as there were many options to choose from within walking distance. We had one problem that the hotel asked for a credit card as security and we offered our travelcard and unfortunately they put a hold of 3000 THB for the duration of our stay which meant there was about $100 of last minute spending money unavailable - we should have offered an ordinary credit card. The rooms were airconditioned and the temp was too cold - we adjusted this but felt we would have like a sheet on the bed when there was only a quilt. It was a luxurious accommodation and we loved it - there was free wi-fi on offer but we occasionally had trouble connecting. All in all we would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms over the road away from the beach are private and quiet but a little further to walk to breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Heather,

Many thanks for your review, and glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Quite a contrast here in Chaweng from Lipa Noi!

Best wishes and hope to welcome you back again one day soon,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing