We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - shame about the location.”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over New Year. Breakfast is amazing! So much choice. The New Year's Eve gala dinner was a little disappointing. Our room was lovely and very tastefully decorated. Staff were very friendly. The only disappointment was the resort of Chaweng - it is far too commercialised and busy. There are too many travellers visiting en route to the full moon party.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3intrepidtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi and thanks for your review!

A pity you didn't enjoy Chaweng so much, it certainly is a bustling place...especially at that time of year. It is a lot more peaceful out of the high season so perhaps you could visit us during one of those times.

Best wishes from Samui,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have previously reviewed this hotel following our honeymoon stay in September 2011. The hotel is set on a beautiful beach with the busier nightlife of Chaweng just a 5 minute walk by beach or road. It is also 10 mins from the airport. We had such an amazing experience first time around we decided to make it our mission to return in January 2013 and boy were we not disappointed. After a rather stressful overnight delay in Bangkok & early morning arrival we received the most heart warming welcome the Amari team complete with cold towels & chilled drinks & an effortless check in. We immediately recognised some of the staff on check in which only added to the welcome back experience. We were shown to our beautiful room which awed us completely. We had contacted the hotel & asked if possible could we have a room across the road from the beach & front pool, we felt it was quieter in terms of less people. We appreciated that this may not have been possible, but were totally thrilled so find we had indeed a room there, complete with balcony & pool view. The room was beyond our needs in terms of space, wonderful huge bed with the most comfortable duvet & pillows, a free standing shower with large shower head, giving the most amazing showers, bath, full wall length mirror in room, tv, dvd, fridge, iron & board, safety deposit box, beach bag, robe & slippers, umbrellas...all we felt we missed from home was the kitchen sink! The hotel is divided by a road. The crossing is actually manned ensuring you safe crossing not that the road it busy, but it just adds to the sense of safety and security you feel staying at the Amari. The buffet breakfast is beyond your imagination, a food lover’s dream. Everything you could possibly want from every continent. It is self service which is fantastic & fresh tea & coffee or Cappuccino, latte whatever it is you require is served to you with a smile by the wonderful staff. We ate almost every day at the pool bar which we realised nearly all residents at the hotel seemed to do. We would highly recommend the steak night which is on Tuesdays, and there is Happy Hr every evening from 6-8 & all night on Thursdays. It’s essentially buy one get one free. Beautiful quality cocktails working out at 200Bht for 2 – amazing value! Prego is a must also. On arrival all guests are given the option of a discounted spa visit to Breeze Spa, which I availed of. 90 minutes of a signature mood massage left me forgetting cancelled flights and truly set the tone of the holiday. There is an amazing management team at the Amari, on checkout which was as smooth and effortless as check in, we felt we couldn’t have thanked Martin, Juliane and all the wonderful staff enough. Our room was immaculately kept by housekeeping, grounds men are constantly manicuring the beautiful grounds around the hotel and everyone is so friendly, helpful and accommodating. We are counting down the days to our next visit. I would recommend this hotel for everyone, couples, honeymoon couples, we met families in early 30’s/40’s with young children, and retired couples and couldn’t recommend it highly enough. The sense of safety and security of home with the luxury and trappings of a 5 Star Holiday!

Room Tip: As hotel is separated by a road, we chose the side opposite to reception & dining area. we felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madforcamping79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear F & M,

Thank you so much for the lovely and detailed review of the hotel, it is very much appreciated! We are all looking forward to welcoming you both back again soon for your next visit :)

Very best wishes from our island to yours, see you next time!

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great Hotel, right on the beach, great pool, 7 min walk from Chaweng center ( main road ) with lots of Bars, Clubs and shops, around 5000 THB per night. GYM is OK for a quick work out.
Breakfast looked the same for the 4 days we were there but still you can find good food.

if you are chilling by the pool get drinks and fruit for the vendors at the beach ( it's a better deal )

Room Tip: Amari has two sides to the hotel one on the side closer to the beach and one across the road, I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Ronen,

Thanks a lot for your feedback and tips during your stay here with us...glad to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. Maybe we will see you back for an anniversary??

Best wishes from Samui,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If u are looking for a great location , great service and amazing hotel , don't think twice , Amari Samui is one of the unique hotels I saw , the staff are amazing , their willing to help was one of a kind! Walking distance from the Main Street and a quite property is what we all need when going to vacation.
The big hotels need to learn something from Amari Samui.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Moshe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Moshe,

Thank you so much for your flattering review and kind words! We really appreciate and hope to welcome you back again for another beach holiday soon!

Very best regards,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We choose Amari Palm Reef hotel for our wedding in March 2012. From the initial contact with Martin and the staff of this beautiful hotel I knew we were in good hands. The staff could not have been more helpful in organising our dream wedding, nothing was too much trouble for them. The entire wedding was amazingly beautiful and everything I had pre-arranged with photos via email was spot on perfect. The ceremony set up on the beach was stunning and the reception food to die for!
The actual hotel is lovely, the rooms are clean and the grounds lush and green. There are big pools and nice day beds to relax.
The hotel is in a perfect location just a short walk to all the action Chaweng has to offer.
All of our guests were very impressed with the wedding this hotel put on and loved staying in this resort.
I can not say enough about this resort especially if you are looking for a wedding venue- I would highly, highly recommend this hotel!! You will not be disappointed!! We loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Sherri,

Thanks so much for your nice review! Lovely to hear from you and hope both you and Ro are doing well. The kind words are very much appreciated, and we have even received a wedding booking from some of your guests...maybe we'll see you then :)

Many thanks and kind regards,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first time in Koh Samui, and we very much enjoyed our stay at "Amari Palm Reef"
hotel.
The hotel was only a 10 minute drive from the airport, and it was like "stepping into paradise" !!
The whole experience from the moment that we stepped into the enchanting "reception" was superb ! The hotel staff were particularly pleasant ! Upon arrival we were upgraded to a seaview suite with an incredible view.
The whole atmosphere was one of tranquility !!
Seeing as we were celebrating our anniversary, we were greeted in our room with a beautiful cake and fruit, and each day received small plates of appetizing treats !!
the location of the hotel was just amazing - just a 2 minute walk from all the "buzz" of Chaweng road, so we could easily take an evening stroll to eat or shop, and then return to the lovely serenity of this great hotel !
We much recommend this hotel , it was a great experience

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Galit,

Many thanks indeed for sharing your nice feedback, and I'm very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your anniversary stay here with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

An amazing hotel in an excellent location

We spent ten nights at the Amari after arriving from Bangkok. I cannot think of any negative comments at all, we absolutely loved staying here. We have stayed at higher rated hotels around the world but I don't think we have come back without a gripe or two before..

I found the food and drinks at the hotel very good value. We have stayed in quality hotels in Phuket and Bangkok and the drinks have always been very pricey, but here they are very reasonable, especially if you make use of the lounge bar which has happy hour between seven and nine pm nightly. You can have any cocktail of your choice for the equivalent of two pounds each. These are proper cocktails, not the 'fruit based with a touch of alcohol' type.

We also ate at the Hotel restaurant around the pool twice. I love Thai food & believe I am a good judge of it having eaten in many Thai restaurants and cooking it regularly at home and the food was absolutely gorgeous.

Please try it, you will not be disappointed. The food there is better than most of teh restaurants in Chaweng.

All in all we absolutely love the Amari, fantastic hotel and great service. If I were the sort to come back to the same location then I would definitely come here and would recommend it to anyone.

The only negative is not the hotel but the resort. Chaweng is a bit like a Thai Tenerife, but the hotel is just far enough away from the madness to remain tranquil.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank beejjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Beejjones,

Many thanks for your great review of the resort, in particular of the the food and beverages - our bartenders and chefs are very pleased indeed with the feedback! Yes, Chaweng is a busy place, but this does vary depending on the season...it can be fairly peaceful during shoulder and low periods.

All the best for now and hope to have you stay with us again one day,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.6 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $134 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing