We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't relax here, you can't relax”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is our 2nd stay here, previously we were here in 2006. We travelled as a family of 5 and stayed in a family duplex overlooking the back pool. All duplexes are above double rooms and most are based around the back pool. We stayed in room 3207, but 3205 through to 3212 all have pool views so request these if possible. Our children are aged 8, 4, and 1. The 1 year old was provided with a travel cot and 8 and 4 year olds single beds upstairs. The hotel make you sign a disclaimer about the room safely due to the stair rails upstairs, but we had no issues at all. I know some uk travel agents will only allow 2 children aged between 5 and 12 in these rooms, but contact me if you want to know how to get around this.

Everyone on here has already told you enough about the hotel. It's not quite 5 star but it has an amazing vibe, especially around the beach and at night. It's unbeatable really.

Food wise, go to the beach look right and you can get soft drinks for 20BHT and beer for 50BHT. Sweet corn is 50BHT, satay chicken sticks 20BHT and an amazing papaya salad is 50BHT.

T-shirts in the stalls around chaweng should not be more than 200BHT

You must go to Bophut Fishermans market on a Friday night. Great atmosphere and 300BHT each way in a taxi.

We did the cooking class at the hotel which was good value, and the first massage place you come to on the right along the beach is amazing and start at 200BHT

Wifi all around the hotel is free, towels and baby linen also provided. Staff are all wonderful, not seen anyone grumpy, everyone here is so lovely. They LOVE children.

We went 27th October to 11th November which was cheap flights with Etihad as its supposed to be rainy/low season here. It rained twice during our stay both time during the night, I'd certainly come at this time of year again as the hotel has less than 50% occupancy.

In summary this is a great great place to relax and for young children.

If you have any questions, please ask.

Room Tip: As per review, 3204 to 3212 are the best Family Duplex rooms around the back pool
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jambo1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
There are newer reviews for Amari Koh Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our 3rd visit to the Amari in Koh Samui. It satisfies all of our demands in a holiday. The hotel is a very good quality 4* and so has none of the pretensions you sometimes find in higher rated establishments. The staff are wonderful and the setting is divine. The breakfasts in the Merante restaurant are superb. The hotel has a great bar where pre dinner drinks are extremely good value during a 3 hour long happy hour! . My family and I like the fact that we can choose to dress up or down as much as we like for dinner. We ate in the hotel, in the shacks on the beach, from the beach vendors and in the main town at a variety of restaurants ranging from plush to 'back street'. If, like us, you are football fans there are several bars in town that show all the Premier League games. We would definitely recommend the friday night market in Fisherman's Village Bophut.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilGino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are actually staying here right now as I'm writing this and was compelled to do so rather than wait til we got back. We actually booked and paid for a different hotel which shall remain nameless as the owner was very understanding, it's just that it didn't suit our needs.
We therefore walked through Koh Samui and called at 5 high end hotels and requested room rates and made our selection on the 'feel good' factor. We always use Tripadvisor as our bible when choosing our hotels, but seeing as we were here anyway, what better way to book than personally visit each hotel?!
I have to say that this is now our second day and we are extremely happy with the choice we made. We had never heard of the Amari chain before and so were not swayed in any way by past experiences or recommendations. We were given an upgrade to a deluxe room which we are very impressed with. Nice big room with all amenities including free wifi, bath with separate TV, separate large double headed shower, large sink with his and hers taps.
It is ideally placed as it is not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Koh Samui, but close enough to walk in of an evening. Nice quiet pool on the quiet side of the road as opposed to the beach side, although both are equally as nice. Water is at a perfect temperature at this time of year in both the pools and the sea.
Breakfast is extremely well presented and tasty and all the staff we have encountered have been extremely pleasant, courteous and helpful so we cannot empathise with previous couples who have experienced problems. There is a pedestrian crossing between both parts of the hotel where they have two security guys who stop the traffic for you to cross. They are not really needed as Koh Samui is nowhere near as hectic as other parts of Thailand, but it is a nice extra touch anyway, which shows that the hotel has its customers good intentions at heart.
All in all a superb hotel with beautiful surroundings, eager to help staff, great food and a credit to Koh Samui. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe as you are on the quieter side of the road with all the amenities only a road cr...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raybrahms1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just got back this morning after staying for 11 nights. The room was excellent (No 3204). It had all of the things you need for a holiday, TV, Safe (free), wardrobe, shower, separate toilet, double bed that was very comfy and clean. The staff came in each day to clean and service the room. Cant say anything bad about it.
Our room was over the road from the main reception which was nice and quiet. To get to the beach we walked about 45 seconds if that. The hotel provides two security staff to walk you across the road if you need to. Its a small road and not very busy but shows the way the hotel thinks about its customers. The breakfast is excellent with lots to choose from. The pools are also clean and well maintained. You can step off the hotel poolside directly onto the beach, and big beach towels are provided. If I was to be critical in any way what so ever, I would say that the hotel provides a beach buffet on a Wednesday night and a live singer / group. The cost was 890 Thai Baht each (about £18 UK pound). Although there was as much food as you could eat, the actual choice of food was not that great. That aside, I cannot fault this hotel at all, and have already looked at re-booking it for next year. An excellent hotel with very very little to complain about, but everything to compliment it. A real real well done from the three of us.

Room Tip: Our room had air con which is a definite must.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e-ocallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Came here in a lowseason, so got a nice price and with just a few guests at the hotel. But. Since the hotelarea is so big, I really dont know how many was here. But I loved it!

I upgraded to Deluxe. It must be worth it. You are far from the road, and the only thing you hear is running water from the garden. Also had the big pool almost for ourself. The hotel is on a quit part of Chaweng, but only a few minutes to walk to the the hart of the main street.

The rooms must be a few years old, but I loved the bathroom!

Room Tip: Deluxe was very nice! Was placed on its own location.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppa80Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a Junior suite which was well worth the extra spent, just steps away from the beachside pool with a lovely little patio with gorgeous ocean views. Room was large and clean. Bed super comfortable, fridge in room, bathroom enormous with double sink. W ate at the resort every morning for breakfast which had a good variety and had a couple of thai dinners at the resort which we sensational! Also we walked along the entire Chaweng beach and checked out all the other hotels and this is the nicest!

Room Tip: Shell out the extra for a beachside Junior suite - you wont be disappointed!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzimacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Set in a beautiful location, the Amari Palm Reef impressed from the outset. Modern yet Thai inspired arcitecture on a beautiful beach backdrop. The staff were extremely friendly the whole time I was there, nothing was too difficult and they were very eager to please.

The room was fantasticly clean with a well stocked mini bar, along with a huge shower and decent sized bath which some 5 star resorts lack.

The beach buffet dinner was a high-light of the stay and an absolute must.

Overall I was extremely impressed with the hotel and its staff, Martin was exeptionally welcoming and introduced me to the in-house restuarant "Prego" which I highly recommend to anyone seeking a world class dining experience.



If you havnt visited Koh Samui before, then this is your place to stay. A pure delight. I will be coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $116 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing