We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Overall:-

Excellent hotel with a great beach front location

Rooms:-

We stayed in the "deluxe" rooms which were spacious, clean and had very comfortable beds. The rooms were spotless and were serviced at least twice a day. There is a slight downside though - the shower/bathroom area could be improved. It is a bit small and ours did appear a bit tired. Do not be put off when you read that the rooms are "across the road" because there is a permanently manned crossing which is fantastic for everyone (especially the kids). Also there is a large pool area at this side of the complex as well and it always seemed quieter. The gym is also at this side of the complex as well.

Pools / Sea:-

Fantastic - just like the postcards and brochures

Poolside service, food, sunbeds, etc are plentiful.

Dining / Restaurants:-

Fantastic international buffet breakfast

Beach buffets 3 evenings per week - not to be missed (£12)

The best italian restaurant in Chaweng

Service:-

Excellent - staff cannot be more helpful and polite


Customer mix:-

Seemed to be from all over the world (from the accents)

Not too many kids

All age groups would feel welcome and relaxed

Room Tip: The "superior" rooms have better bathrooms because we asked to see one just in case we cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trustme555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,549 - 1,555 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a damn good hotel. It's right on the beach, but also has some super swimming pools to relax by the side of. The food is excellent (breakfast buffet is truly world-class), the rooms are relatively roomy and well-maintained, and the staff are professional and approachable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrippoDicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

great property, very well located, located at the beginining of the main market street where all shops, restaurants and bars are located. ideal place if u would like to step outside the hotel and are travelling with family. rooms are well done, very modern and spacious. neat and clean. very good service. located on the beach. the hotel has a excellent italian restaurant. great food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chapps76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at this resort in October 2011. We had a wonderful time with our family here including 2 children aged 9 and 11. We stayed in a family duplex room and found this fantastic for a little privacy for the kids and us. The stairs are very steep, but our kids coped fine as they knew to be careful. We loved having two pools to choose from and the beach as a third choice. You could always get a lounge around the pools to lie on and excellent service from everyone working there. They supplied huge towels at the pool areas and never ran out of new ones. It is only a 10 minute walk into the market and restaurant area, although there isn't as much shopping to be done here as say in Phuket. Everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming and we will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Family duplex rooms are great for older children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed there from 06/10/11 to 09/10/11. Its location is quite convenient. Just a 10 min walk to the night market as well as to the main shopping belt.

Service is also quite ok. Definitely so much better as compared to the Club Med Phuket which we stayed 2 weeks back.

The room is spacious and clean. The breakfast spread is good .... and definitely have a Thai flavour in it.

If u are looking forward towards a good Thai dinner .... then in fact look no further. Amari has a Thai Buffet Dinner twice a week and we were definitely giving thumbs up with every bite we gave. The spread is good .... but more importantly it is the authentic Thai flavour that we are looking for. The only downside is that Amari only offers it twice a week. In addition, it also adds in a live band which adds to the ambience as well. What impressed us further was the fact that when our dedicated songs were not available, one of the band member (the female lead singer) actually came down personally to our table to make apologies to us. She also asked us which songs we like and she will try her best to sing. Not that we mind but such thoughtfulness definitely brought our lovely evening to the next level.

The only down side is this .... As our package includes a return transfer to & from the airport ... The driver nearly missed us. If not for my wife's initiation to ask around, he would definitely have left us at the airport. Our names were on his small sheet of paper but he excluded our names on the "Bigger" card held in his hand .... He was supposed to ferry 6 people but he only held up 4 names on his card and ours was not on it .... He kept repeating to us saying dat .... "If no name means no transport provided" .... I lost count of the number of times he kept saying while flipping through his papers ..... His body language indicated that he was so sure our names are definitely not on his list .... I felt like strangling him but no point getting angry at this point to spoil our day as well as the trip .... When we pointed our names (which was highlighted in pink with the other 4 names) ... he realised it was his mistake and his mumblings stopped.

Truth is fact and fact is justice. He did not apologise but we are not going to dwell on it. Moving on is a better way to enjoy life .... right?

All in all it was a good trip. If u are looking for a good massage .... the nearest one to Amari (Which is a 5 min walk on the right side of the road if u are walking towards the town center and have just the name Thai Massage) ..... is definitely good enough. Just ask for the massagers name "Tock" .... "Lin" .... or "Fai" ..... they did a fantastic job (and definitely no hanky panky business here).

The bottom line is this .... if we are coming back to Koh Samui again .... we have no issues coming back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wkw18koi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from the Amari Palm in Samui. Could not fault the hotel or staff, nothing was too much trouble. We are certainly looking forward to going back again.
We met one couple that have been going to the Amari for the last ten years, and they have travelled the world - I think that say's it all. Can't wait to return next year. Barbara and John, Kent, England.

Room Tip: High floors have more A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Palm Reef is good for a short break with the family. The pool area overviewing the see makes it easy to keep an eye on the kids while they play in the water. The food is tasty and the staff smily. The rooms is however located across a road. We had a family room that was facing a back alley and the back of Prego (the resort Italian restaurant) with plenty noice early morning and late night. The stair case to the open kids beds room is also pretty dangerous (no wonder they make you sign a release from for potential damage from falling down). I was however a good and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helle M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,497 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $131 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing