We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel, excellent service, brilliant staff.”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel, excellent service, brilliant staff.”
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Having read some of the previous reviews, I really cannot understand how anyone could have anything to moan about with the hotel. Check in was very quick, staff were full of smiles and we were taken to our rooms on a little golf cart. We had advised the hotel in advance that we would be celebrating a wedding anniversary and when we were shown to our room we were pleasantly surprised. The huge bed had been decorated with palm leaves and flowers, there was a large bunch of roses, a personal letter congratulating us, and they had even baked us a cake! I had specified the type of room I wanted in advance (one of the newer types) and we were also given this. The room was large, we had a double wardrobe and although there were only 2 drawers there was a large open space outside of the bathroom where things could be stored. We certainly did not have to live out of our cases and we were there for 12 days. We had a dressing table and mirror along with a full sized mirror. The bathroom was large with a fantastic power shower.

The rooms were made up every day without fail and we were not woken up early to fit in with housekeeping, they always came in after we'd gone out. They came in every evening to close the curtains and spray insect repellant around (when they would always hand deliver a flower) and checked with us to make sure we were happy with the housekeeping. There were morning papers delivered each day, and we were supplied with bathrobes, slippers, beach bags, fresh fruit, bottled drinking water and umbrellas.

As you have no doubt read before, the Amari is in 2 parts, one side on the beachfront and the other set in gardens at the side of the spa, across a busy road. It really is a matter of preference as to which side you want to be on and I know some people requested to be moved from the garden side to look over the beach. Our preference however, was the garden. It was extremely quiet, we could listen to the frogs chorus and the sound of running water through the gardens and it felt quite secluded and special. We had a beautiful tropical outlook which we were delighted with, the gardens are stunning. The road was not a problem for us and even if you have children there are 2 smiling lollipop men who ensure the traffic is stopped even late at night.

The spa is more expensive than the massages you can get on the beach, but you get what you pay for. My husband and I had a massage together and the setting and atmosphere of the spa (as well as the excellent massage) was worth paying extra for. Even then at approximately £35 per head for 90 minutes, it is still cheaper than most spa massages in the UK.

The food in the hotel was exceptional. The breakfast buffet offered a wide range of probably everything you could want and everything was freshly prepared. Breakfast runs from 6.00am to 10.30am. We had lunch and dinner in Merante (the hotel restaurant) and found the food to be as good and sometimes better than the fine dining establishments (including Prego) on the island. In addition, the staff were warm and friendly and the prices were very reasonable. The hotel bar was a lovely comfy refuge for us as we were unfortunate enough to have a lot of rain during our stay. Drinks always came with complimentary snacks. The only drawback would be that the wines (everywhere on the island) were overpriced.

We hired a car from reception at 1000 baht for 24 hours which equated to roughly £15 and it was perfectly comfortable for us. Something that is not widely advertised is that the hotel has an activities programme. It is placed on a board near the toilets but is not otherwise cascaded to the customer, so look out for it. One rainy day we booked in for the cooking lessons for about 2 hours in the Merante (200 baht each) and we had a fun afternoon where we could practice the dishes ourself under chef supervision. We were given recipes to take away with us which we intend to try again.

The upside for us was really the quality of the customer service. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. If you attempted to lay down your own towel or fill up your own glass, someone came running and stepped in quick. Everytime you walked through reception you were greeted with smiling faces and it was genuinely meant. Can't recommend the place highly enough!

  • Liked — service with a smile, friendly atmosphere, lovely surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorrascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    690
    168
    65
    37
See reviews for
561
1,125
81
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We spent 9 nights at the Amari in Samui, I was hesitating between this resort and the Chaweng Regent. I'm very glad we ended up at the Amari after a walk through the Regent...

The location of the resort is good just on the outskirts of the very busy part of Chaweng - along the street and the beach. It's a 2 minute walk before you hit your first 7/11 or Tailor...Also its not on the glide path to the airport.

We were welcomed with smiles and greetings from the moment our car approached. The check-in was swift, before we knew it we were drinking cocktails on the deck of our suite, which was located on the beach side of the resort ( Amari is split into 2 complexes either side of the road) This level of welcome and service continued until the day we left.

The suite was one of eight which faces the beach and pool, the bed was extremely hard which took me a few nights to get use to, the bathroom was huge and had everything you needed.The balconys are large and offer privacy for most of the suites.

The front pool area is well maintained by the staff who are always on the move making sure people are attended to. That is a common theme with the Amari, Staff always on the move keeping an eye on their guests, with a smile.

The main resort restaurant offers great quality food including the biggest breakfast buffet set up I have ever seen. Prego the signature Italian restaurant is ok, it offers a slick enviroment thou I recommend one stick with either pizza's and pasta. Go beyond that and they come unstuck. There are many excellent eating options in Samui so do explore, its worth it.

The main bar is again very well attended by the staff making people very welcome.

Amari's beach area is not as cluttered as most of the other resorts and is well maintained.

As my title states...I was shocked to see the Amari not listed in the TA top 10. The resort was busy with lots of happy guests including us, that has to be a good sign !

C2L

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — No PCs for Internet. Thou they have wireless throught the bars if you have your laptop.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clear2land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

It was the reviews on this site which encouraged me to switch from another hotel to this one. Though I wasn't dissappointed, I have to say I also wasn't overwhelmed by how wonderful it was - as many other posters to this site seem to have been.

Basically, we booked for a superior room and were led to a top floor room on the other side of the road, almost at the back of the hotel premises (beyond the pool.) Given its relative location when compared to other rooms, I sort of expected that the room itself would be large and quite impressive. Wrong. It was small and standard. Nothing superior about it, though it had a small balcony. It felt like we were in an apartment complex, and in fact we looked across a garden area to other rooms.

Fortunately, I was able to upgrade us to a junior suite with a sea view, and it was much better (though around £50 a night extra). However, even then the room looked tired. The furniture felt quite sixties, the daily toiletries were cheap and nasty (ok, I'm comparing it to the Bo Phat Spa where we stayed last year and where the toiletries were herbal and a delight) and the bathroom felt like it needed a really good scrub.

However, a nice touch was that we received fresh fruit every day and an evening treat of chocolates and brandy snaps.

We had a few nights of heavy rain and on our last two nights there, our room started leaking (the bathroom). it got so bad that the light fitting actually fell out of the ceiling in the bathroom - fortunately the night before we were leaving or we'd have been more concerned and wanted to change rooms.

The breakfast was fine but nothing outstanding, ditto the pool. The beach was poor - not swimmable, basically not much more than a lake - no tide, very low level of water (sometimes only to the knees for 50 yards or so out to sea).

Overall, if I got a cheap deal I might stay there again but I think next time I go to Chaweng I'll really try to stay at the Buri Rasa resort (??) - the place opposite Ninja Crepes (which is an excellent place to eat, by the way). It looked as lovely as their website photos suggested it would. And its probably in a better beach location.

  • Liked — sea view
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sgperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

My boyfriend & I have just return to the UK after a 10 night stay at the Amari (and a 3 night stay at the Shangri-La, Bangkok.) We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and can confidently recommend the Amari hotel!

Experience: Hotel has everything you need 3 restaurants, room service, two pools and wonderful, smiley staff. The main reception area and adjoining refreshments area is beautifully designed, very much a boutique hotel in style. We loved to drink jasmine tea & fall asleep on the day beds after a day round the pool! It’s immaculately clean and the grounds are well kept. The best thing was the zero tolerance on people reserving sun lounges (horary!) you can get up at 11am and still have a choice of where to sit.

Location: turn out of the hotel and walk 3 mins and you are at the start of the Chaweng Beach tourist trail (all the usual bars, shops, restaurants, v built up & a bit smelly!) Turn out of the hotels beach exit and you have an array of hedonistic beach bars and resultants on the sand. Airport is 5 mins away (but no problematic plane noise). The hotel is spilt by a road, so if you have kids you might want to request the beach side to make life easier, but it wasn’t a problem as they have ‘lollypop men’ to cross you over the road! Beach is nice, clean but is full of sellers bit annoying, but ignore them and they do go away- recommend buying corn really yum!

Rooms: our only slight disappointment, in short the rooms were fine, above average but nothing spectacular. They are clean, modern and comfortable. King size beach, bathrobe, mini bar, hair dryer, air con, TV & DVD. Let down is that there is not a lot of storage space e.g. no chest of draws, literally just a wardrobe which meant we lived out of our suitcases a lot (not nice). There is no dressing table or full length mirror (only mirror in bathroom bit inconvenient for doing hair & stuff!) and no ironing board and iron until we requested one.

Food: breakfast was good everything from Sushi to omelette, Thai to pancakes & you can pull together a basic English breakfast if you want! They had soya milk available and the usual fruit & cereal selections. Prego (Italian) restaurant was exceptional & the food round the pool was fine.

Overall, we loved it and would fully recommend it to you.

  • Liked — Beautiful reception and restaurant area. Location. Pool areas.
  • Disliked — Rooms were perfectly fine & clean but nothing spectacular
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We stayed in Amari for 8 nights in our honeymoon, and we had the best time ever!

professional nice staff, great rooms, very clean toilets in the lobby,
umbrellas in the rooms, fair price (~$100 per night).

Disadvantage:
1) hotel like this should give a free shuttle to / from the airport. it's just 5 min. drive and to ask 250 THB per person is exaggerated.

2) the mini-bar prices are exaggerated! guys, 110 THB for can of Coke?? 160 THB for 300 ml. of drinking water???? where do you live???
did you check 7eleven prices next to you??? (coke, 20 THB, water 1.5L 16 THB....)

  • Disliked — the amount of hawkers in the hotel beach is terrible! you can't relax for a minute without someone asking you something...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aya-Alon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I am a travel agent and did a sight inspection here for work.

This is another resort which is located on both sides of the road. It has a lovely open air lobby and feels very spacious and welcoming.

Amari Palm Reef Resort has three categories of accommodation:- Superior, Deluxe and also Junior Suites. All rooms are garden or pool facing except for the Junior Suites which are Ocean Facing.

Superior Rooms were very compact but all categories had great décor, dark wood floors, white walls and white duvets. The only difference between the Superior & Deluxe Rooms are the size.

This resort is 17 years old but it well looked after. They also have a limited number of Family Mezzanine rooms so the resort caters well to couples and also families.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We have just returned from our holiday, after spending two amazing weeks at this hotel.
There was 14 in our party all of different ages and the hotel catered for everyone.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and treated everyone with a great degree of respect, they offered help when it was needed and were curtious and polite at all times.
The pool was kept emaculate and the pool boys were around in order to carry your towels and put umbrellas up when needed, they brought menus and you would be served lunch around the pool if you wanted. The food was resonably priced and you were offered a great deal of choice. Breakfast also had a wide variety of food and kept everyone happy.
The hotel is just by the beach, the beach was a bit rocky but it was still lovely, if you travelled up the road to the next village, Lamai to the beach you would find golden sand and clear blue sea with lots of water sports. The taxis are unique and will pick you up for a very cheap price although you can barter a little and get it for less. We found it best to start at a third of what there asking and work from there if your offering to little they will not do the deal.
We highly recomend elephant trekking it is a once in a life time oppurtunity the people who run it are friendly and can talk english quite fluently although are a bit cheeky. The elephants are very talented and you are able to sit on there heads and drive (DO NOT BE AFRAID), they dance with you on their backs which is super, you can feed them fruit which is provided on the way round as the elephant stop and eat , they can peel the banana skins themselves!
Over all we recomend this hotel to everybody!

  • Disliked — nothing it was all fantistic
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndzbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing