We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Authentic and fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant

Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 179 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Homestyle Thai food cooked only with fresh ingredients.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic and fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was great! Real Thai food at a reasonable price in the middle of Chaweng. The shrimp curry, pad Thai and chicken and broccoli were amazing. Will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jov3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    184
    44
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic and cheap Thai food haven in the middle of a tourist trap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great pad thai with shrimp, paneng with chicken and Tom yum with chicken. The service was great - very friendly staff. It's a tiny place with 5 tables. We were lucky to get in during a rainstorm, but happy we did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DinksTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“trustworthy tripadvisor reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Read many good reviews about this little humble cafe. Was hoping to try the food here. We happened to stumble upon this cafe while looking for our dinner options.
Was delighted and quickly went in. Ordered a few simple Thai food and they were so yummy! Even though some may not appear on the menu, you can ask the friendly owner if it can be customised.
Thumbs up for the value and pleasant owner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angelicdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We ate here tonight thanks to trip advisor...you never let us down.
We had just ordered when the power went out along the Chaweng strip. Nevertheless, this restaurant cooked and served the food without a problem. Sitting at tables lit by candles, the food was delicious and very authentic. The owner kept apologising but she didn't need to. Our meal was so tasty , large servings and very cheap.if we had another free night we would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HOLSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The restaurant is only fairly small, but they are busy, they were constantly trying to find seating for customers, so that's a good sign. The thing I most appreciated on the night that we ate there was that it was air conditioned inside....ah luxury in Chaweng. The meals were tasty, although I thought they were a little small. Overall I thought the restaurant was good but I certainly don't think it was the best I have encountered in Chaweng. But they do have Mango with Sticky Rice!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nerney1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing