We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing stay with very friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalala Samui Resort
Ranked #1 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Chalala, which is situated at the quieter north end of Chaweng beach. There is a lovely clean pool which we took great advantage of combined with the delicious cocktails @ 100THB. We stayed 6 days and found the service to be very good and friendly without being intrusive. We ate at their beachfront restaurant many times as the food was delicious and very reasonably priced.
There was still the charm of the odd vendor passing by selling his wares but not too many.
I would recommend this place to travellers who want to get away from the very busy section (but still only a pleasant stroll) for a good night sleep.
A happy traveller. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Chalala Samui Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 224 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We originally booked to stay at Chalala for 3 nights and ended up extending the stay for 8 nights! Would highly recommend and we would potentially return.

The resort was right on the beachfront and had it's own pool, restaurant and bar. Beachfront dining meant we ate breakfast/lunch/dinner with sand between our toes looking at an amazing view of the ocean! Fabulous.

The bungalows have a lovely living room area with tv, fridge, sofas and a coffee table - really useful to have the space. The bed is then up a small level which was nice. Comfy and very clean. Bathroom slightly dated but spacious and complimentary toiletries provided. The colours of the bungalows are slightly strange (think pink and green!) but we weren't bothered by this. Staff were absolutely fantastic - Jazz took the time to learn our names and was extremely helpful.

Location is great - plenty of beachfront restaurants and bars next door and within walking distance. Authentic local Thai restaurants within a couple of minutes walking distance inland. Enough going on to have plenty to do but without the noise and hustle of the main street beach area further down. Walking distance to Chaweng main street and really close to Samui airport too.

Hotel restaurant was reasonably priced and fairly good food.

Would definitely stay here again and would really recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajp124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at Chalala, and on the whole had a great time. The staff are helpful (especially Jazz at reception who is just fantastic), the food from the restaurant is great, the beach wonderful, the pool ditto, and the location is excellent (lots of beach front restaurants very close) AND Chaweng is just a 5 minute walk away. Really the location is perfect.

Now for the BAD. We booked the family room (I believe there's two) and all was good during the day. Trouble generally started at about midnight when the roof and walls were overrun with fighting, screeching, running rats (yes, plural). You come to expect the odd slice of vermin when travelling but this was pretty OTT. Staying on the mezzanine (where the second bedroom was) was realllllllly noisy, to the point where we ended up not sleeping up there. We asked reception if anything could be done, and Jazz did get the mechanic to see if he could get rid of the rats.... unfortunately no change.

I can't comment for all rooms, but everyone else we spoke to seemed very happy with their rooms. I would stay at Chalala again, but I would definitely not stay in the family room next to the kitchen (nor would I recommend anyone else do it).

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family, or booking the family room - double/triple check that you do NO...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

- good value (hotel is small but quality is good)
- good location in chaweng (5 mins walk to main street)
- clean and quiet
- good and efficient service
- staffs are helpful (Thanks Jazz)
- mosquitoes in room but no repellent provided

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank killerlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Chalala is located north of Chaweng with only 5 min walk to the interesting part of the main street. It is a very nice location if you like it quiet in the night and dont like airplane noise every hour as the airplanes fly straight over Chaweng.
I stayed on Chalala in August with my girlfriend and we had a garden bungalow. It was a very nice and big room, with mini fridge, water boiler and a great air condition. The resort has a small pool and a restaurent on the beach. The resort looks clean and nice but is of course not as fancy as the neighboors, which are much more expensive.
The staff are friendly and helpsome, helped us getting sun beds from the pool to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRosbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We only stayed here for a few days, but it was fab and I would definitely have stayed for longer.
The rooms were basic, but perfectly functionable. The beds were comfortable and there was adequate space for a short break away. The rooms had a safe, tv and a fridge. The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels were delivered.
The location was perfect for us, it was much quieter than Chewang beach, but you could still get to the busier area if you wanted the night life.
The resort backed onto the beach, so you could use the pool or go on the beach, The bar was great and we had a few nice cocktails from there! We also had a fantastic massage on our beach!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

As I have stated in my previous review we have not stayed at this hotel. However we were in Koh Samui April / May this year and once again visited this place most afternoons for something to eat and drink. This place looks fabulous for a budget hotel - the rooms remind us of something like Bedrock from the Fintstones. There are no sea views but we are talking seconds walk from your room - all are situated at ground level. If I was on a budget would most certainly stay here. Staff are fantastic. Rooms look lovely and clean when we walk past them (on route to the 7/11 opposite). Oh and the loo for the restaurant - reminds me of a cave from the Flintstones to. Nice and clean as well. Many an afternoon soiree spent here and never had any complaints. We noticed the same as last year - you see the same faces eating here everyday. So that is saying the place is not bad. Also there is a small lovely pool area facing the sea. Sorry but can't fault the place from what we have seen.

Room Tip: Maybe chose the rooms closer to the beach
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JULIE_ADRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.3 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#15 of 103 in Chaweng
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalala Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalala Samui Resort

Address: 119/3 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road | Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: $43 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalala Samui Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel have only 15 Bungalows totally. We are service mind for all our guest and helpful.We wish guest stay in our hotel with feeling of relaxing and comfortable like stay at home because all of our guest is our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalala Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalala Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing