We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great no frills hotel, in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Verticolor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samui Verticolor
Ranked #63 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Karratha, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great no frills hotel, in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Samui Verticolor is a no frills hotel that is very good for the price. It's in a great location right on the main road in Chaweng. You can walk the whole Chaweng road very easily it probably takes about 20 minutes.

Verticolor has a good size swimming pool with quite a few sun beds available. It was low season on this visit so sun beds may be hard to get in the peak season. There is a pool bar that is open until about 8pm cocktails were 120 Thai baht.

For breakfast there are 4 selections to choose from, An American breakfast with eggs and ham, a continental breakfast with French toast and pancakes, 2 x Asian breakfasts one with soup and one with noodles. All breakfast come with chips, salad and fruit.

The rooms are nice and clean, and house keeping does a good job cleaning and replacing towels every day. My only complain is the bathroom smelt a bit off :( it had a dank wet not very nice smell, but that would be my only complaint about the whole hotel.
Wifi is free in the lobby but is very expensive if you want it in your room, 350 Thai baht a day!

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Chaweng Walking street, this is the place to eat at night in Chaweng! Great choice of food and at a great price.

The dealing I had with the staff were all positive, always happy and smiling :)

For AUD $47 a night for a twin share room you can't complain. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyshaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Value guest,
Thank you for your sharing excellent comment regarding your stay at Samui vericolor.

Concerning your comment about our service, Your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Our staff work hard to ensure that all guests leave with positive impression of our hotel,I will pass on the positive comments to all department.
and hope to take care of you with the good internet access in the near future
and please accept my apologize for a bit smelt from our bathroom,I will try and make sure and find the way to improve.

Warm Regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    203
    101
    44
    58
See reviews for
38
203
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

First off, I would like to state that we paid £20 per night for a deluxe room. We stayed in room 3502 (5th floor) and were greeted with amazing views as well as an awesome bathroom and main room. Check in was smooth and we were greeted at the door for someone to take our bags up.
After reading other reviews I was worried about the quality of the hotel but for twenty quid a night, this was heaven. A few plus points outlined below

+ amazing spacious and clean room with super king beds and flat screen tv
+ bathroom with hair dryer and all amenities
+ Various plug points with you don't need an adaptor for. I just plugged in my British plug and all was good
+ stunning pool, and I mean stunning
+ complete working fridge so we were able to buy our own breakfast

The only minus were the Mosquitos but for goodness sake, it's a tropical island; they are everywhere, except of course your room. We were only bitten near reception as the doors are open. As long as they weren't in our room we were fine. I would say if you don't like Mosquitos, the islands are not where you'd like to go.

Many people complained about the staff. Yes, there English is not great but again, I don't get the expectation that they should all be fluent. Its a little ignorant if you ask me. I wanted tea bags, they brought up tea bags. I ordered room service, I got room service. I booked a tour through them, I got the tour.

Free wifi would be good in the rooms but its free downstairs and if you do want it in your room its only about £3 for 24 hours.

Overall, I would say that it more then met our expectations. I am very very picky when it comes to hotels and this was exceptional in terms of value. I have stayed in comparable hotels across the world and I've paid so much more. It was a true delight to stay here.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £3 per night for the deluxe room! Ask for 3502 if you want a corner room with lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Michelle

I refer to your recent stay at our resort and thank you for your candid comment concerning your time at our property and Thank you for your sharing excellent comment .

With positive comment we are very pleasure that you are very happy with our hotel accommodation during your stay. With positive feedback I will share your comments with our team and staff. I am sure that this deed back will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as well as strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services. Even we have such a positive feedback from you, we will never stop improvement our standard and services for your future stay and make your holiday perfect and a better day for your holiday vocation.

I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was a disappointment due to the large number of insects that surrounded and pool area and that you felt reluctant to venture out for fear of being bitten. Apart from the extensive fogging that we carry out, we also retain the services of a reputable pest control company to address this concern. We tackle the insect situation from many angles and have a programme of every week steaming, fogging and spraying. We have also recently recruited on staff an environmental co-coordinator to actively look into this issue. In your particular case our abatement measures were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. Everything was great apart from the air con which leaked and did not seem to have a temp gauge that worked so was cold or really cold. Great hotel and value for money HOWEVER the lady (mid 30s, orange hair) who checked us in was RUDE! No smile, no greeting just a - ' do you have reservation' and not even in a nice tone, she actually looked angry and annoyed to see us. First impression was really off putting then we tried to put that behind us but upon check out and when we were paying to use their taxi service I put the money in front of her, she never looked at me, just gave a deadly stare and turned away! Seriously I have no idea why she works there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fijiwi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Value guest
I refer to your recent stay at our resort and thank you for your candid comment concerning your time at our property.
I am indeed sorry that you felt your total experience with us was below expectations and that in your words we singularly failed to meet the quality standard that you expected from a Samui Verticolor.
Concerning your comment about our service, Your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Warm Regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Pros:

1) Spacious and vibrant esp their deluxe room
2) Room fully equip with basic necessities i.e fridge, security box, fully working hot water

Cons:

1)Sewerage smell on 3rd floor (3309)
2)No FREE INTERNET?? yeah its a big deal for tourist. although it is free in the lobby, my next complaint is..
3).. TOO MANY Mosquitos!!Large Mosquitos!!

Room Tip: Level 1 room, so you can get free INTERNET Bring mosquitoes repellent Make sure rent a motorbike i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AizatSidiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Value guest

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill in our guest comment form in tripadvisor and for your kind input. We also would like to thank you for having chosen Samui Verticolor for your recent vacation.
I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was not the ultimate,
our internet access that you had hoped for. In your particular case, our services were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.

I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was a disappointment due to the large number of insects that surrounded area and that you felt reluctant to venture out for fear of being bitten. Apart from the extensive fogging that we carry out, we also retain the services of a reputable pest control company to address this concern. We tackle the insect situation from many angles and have a programme of daily steaming, fogging and spraying. We have also recently recruited on staff an environmental co-coordinator to actively look into this issue. In your particular case our abatement measures were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Booked this hotel in chaweng for 6 nights. It was a little further from the centre than I expected. Was a 25 minutes walk to the main night life.
Lovely swimming pool on site and 2 or 3 minutes walk to beach. Had to pay for wifi which was disappointing as most Thai hotels are free but to be fair it was cheap.
Even though the hotel didn't have a travel desk the staff were very happy to make booking.
Didn't like breakfast and would advise not to pay for inclusive.
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Value guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill in our guest comment form in tripadvisor and for your kind input. We also would like to thank you for having chosen Samui Verticolor for your recent vacation.
I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was not the ultimate,
our internet access that you had hoped for. In your particular case, our services were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.
We always appreciate receiving guest comments so that we may review our performance and strive to maintain the highest standard of service for our guests.

Warm Regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. The room
& hotel were very modern & clean and so was the pool. Staff were not overly helpful. Wifi is only free in reception & not in the rooms which many guests complained about. Location is good only 5 min walk to chaweng beach & shops/restaurants are on the doorstep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole15372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Value guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill in our guest comment form in tripadvisor and for your kind input. We also would like to thank you for having chosen Samui Verticolor for your recent vacation.
I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was not the ultimate,
our internet access that you had hoped for. In your particular case, our services were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.

Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights whilst in Koh Samui.
When checking in we were upgraded to a deluxe room which was great!
Loads of space, nice bathroom with a great shower, good bed and spotless.
The gym was also really good and the pool are nice too!
Breakfast was decent but you can only get Wi-Fi in the lobby which was disappointing!!
Overall a great hotel though and I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisOwensTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Value guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill in our guest comment form in tripadvisor and for your kind input. We also would like to thank you for having chosen Samui Verticolor for your recent vacation.
I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was not the ultimate,
our internet access that you had hoped for. In your particular case, our services were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.
Concerning your comment about our service, Your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Our staff work hard to ensure that all guests leave with positive impression of our hotel,I will pass on the positive comments to all department.
and hope to take care of you with the good internet access in the near future


Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.6 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#38 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#24 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
4.0 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Verticolor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Verticolor

Property: Samui Verticolor
Address: 19/16 Moo 3, Haad Ngam Rd, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly The Verti Color Chaweng)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Verticolor 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colorful hotels location of the quiet Southern section of Chaweng Beach with 152 building room well equipped, elegantly appointed guestrooms offering spectacular mountain and sea view for a refined retreat and relaxed swimming pool holiday experience. Well placed in the beaches area of Samui city, Samui Verticolor provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 1.0 kilomater from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities, for those of you who want to venture out, The Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts, Thai Boxing Stadium, Pru Chaweng are just some of the attractions available to visitors. The Samui Verticolor is a 15 minute drive from Lamai Beach and Samui Airport. The Big Buddha Temple is a 20 minute drive awayThe hotel offers a restaurant. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas and an Internet point is located on site. The staff can provide tour/ticket assistance, tour assistance to explore the surrounding area, and translation services. Additional amenities include a fitness facility, laundry facilities, and room service (during limited hours). For a surcharge, guests have access to a roundtrip airport shuttle during limited hours. Guest parking is complimentary. A total renovation of this property was completed in November 2011.Important thing we do have free shuttle bus two times per day to sister hotel Samui Resotel and Chaweng Cove to relax at the beach club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Verticolor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Verticolor Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing