We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Samui Verticolor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Verticolor
Ranked #68 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I booked to stay here with my 21 year old daughter for 9 nights, we stayed for two! The hotel is new, but still under construction, so is noisy in the daytime and the rooms are unfinished in places. The shower in the rooms are good, and beds are comfy, this was the only positive for us.

The hotel was like a club 18-30, people going to the resort and buying alcohol and bringing it back to the hotel to drink until 4-5am. The noise was horrendous, banging doors, music, dancing and singing in the corridors, we could not sleep. We did complain to reception but they had no control of the situation what so ever. We then tried to sleep in the daytime but the noise of the building site next door was so bad it kept us awake. The pool is taken over by the young people, dive bombing and splashing, getting drunk all day.

The breakfast was cold and covered in flies on the two mornings that we stayed. We checked out and as we were doing this another couple checked out before their time, also for the same reasons, poor service, poor quality food and the noise. I spoke with the manager and he offered me an upgrade but the problems were still the same on the other side of the hotel, so we negotiated a refund of 5 nights even though I had paid for another 7 nights. However, I am still waiting for my money. This is a reflection of the service and attitude of the staff. I believe it is part of a chain so the staff have no investment and are not bothered about the comfort or service to the guests. We stayed in 6 hotels/gust houses during this trip to Thailand and this was the only one that was not family run and was the only one that we were not happy with.

This is a very honest review, I am not inclined to complain for the sake of it or if somewhere does not serve orange juice for breakfast or some other petty reason. I know you get what you pay for and the rates here are reasonable but I do expect to be able to sleep and have edible food, not a lot to ask for.

We moved to Lamai beach after our experience here as Chaweng is very much like the Benidorm of Koh Samui, and I think a lot of the hotels cater for the younger crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 552 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nites on feb 2012 in standard room..very clean room,comfy bed,good shower,nice pool,ample parking space..suitable for young travellers..good location if u have your own bike..very good value since we paid for 1100baht per nite thru agoda

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f_kazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

BED BUGS!!! My husband and I were at this hotel and woke up with over 20 welts each all over our bodies. When we went to get assistance, they were slow and generally unapologetic. We had to get all our belongings washed to prevent us from bringing any of the critters home with us, and the hotel would not agree to pay for our costs. We were willing to overlook many other issues, stinky bathrooms, cold water, prostitutes running around, thin walls and noisy guests and them failing to have a taxi ready for us on departure which almost made us miss our flight. Bed bugs are terrible pests and the bites were painful for days afterwords. Worst of all, they re-rented the room the next day! No fumigation or anything! AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyP_CHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

When we booked this hotel there were no reviews to be found anyway, so I was a little worried but decided to go with it as it was quite cheap, about $50 per night. I was very pleased when I arrived as it looks very clean, new and nicely decorated. The pool is at the front next to the car park, but is decent sized and has plenty of sun lounges. The rooms are very clean and modern and housekeeping come every other day. They provide you with everything you need, clean towels, free water, free shower gel....

The hotel has 3 buildings and only 1 of the buildings has a lift. our didn't so we had to climb up 4 flights of stairs to get to our room which was a pain. They did get someone to carry our suitcases when we arrived though.

Breakfast is standard - hot food and a choice of cereal, salad, toast etc..

We did have a problem with the lighting in our room and it took them about 3 days to fix it as it didn't work properly, but this was eventually sorted out.

It is slightly far out from all the main bars etc, about a 20-30 minute walk. However there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, it is just the quieter end of the strip. the beach is a 5 min walk away. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lubi2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Hotel seems to be newly built and/or renovated, didn't get the feeling that anyone had stayed in our room before.
A large hotel, so service is rather unpersonal and front desk staff seem a bit indifferent at times (especially in busy times around check in/out.) Room cleaned every other day, complimetary water, tea and coffee. Standard western breakfast buffet (eggs, bacon and the lot) with one or two asian items as well.

Large pool with sun beds, that (contrary to what the brochure says) doesn't has views of the gulf of thailand but of the parking lot. Airport pickup on request for 400 bath and they arranged taxi to our next hotel as well on departure. It's not right on the main strip, but (our room at least) was somewhat noisy still.

10 min walk to the beach (Don't know what people are up about with the beach in Chaweng, it is really nothing special.
Well worth it for the price paid (around 60USD a nigth).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great hotel and staff, close to the main beach and the main chaweng street .

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yosefwehbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank jeanmarie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.6 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
238 reviews
4 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#34 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#69 of 104 in Chaweng
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
1.6 mi away
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Verticolor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Verticolor

Address: 19/16 Moo 3, Haad Ngam Rd, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly The Verti Color Chaweng)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: $23 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Verticolor 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colorful hotels location of the quiet Southern section of Chaweng Beach with 152 building room well equipped, elegantly appointed guestrooms offering spectacular mountain and sea view for a refined retreat and relaxed swimming pool holiday experience. Well placed in the beaches area of Samui city, Samui Verticolor provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 1.0 kilomater from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities, for those of you who want to venture out, The Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts, Thai Boxing Stadium, Pru Chaweng are just some of the attractions available to visitors. The Samui Verticolor is a 15 minute drive from Lamai Beach and Samui Airport. The Big Buddha Temple is a 20 minute drive awayThe hotel offers a restaurant. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas and an Internet point is located on site. The staff can provide tour/ticket assistance, tour assistance to explore the surrounding area, and translation services. Additional amenities include a fitness facility, laundry facilities, and room service (during limited hours). For a surcharge, guests have access to a roundtrip airport shuttle during limited hours. Guest parking is complimentary. A total renovation of this property was completed in November 2011.Important thing we do have free shuttle bus two times per day to sister hotel Samui Resotel and Chaweng Cove to relax at the beach club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Verticolor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Verticolor Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing