We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Taa Yaay Bungalow
Ranked #56 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, now wishing it was longer. Rooms are large and very clean, serviced daily. Comfortable bed and loved the outdoor bathroom. Staff are very friendly and the 2 dogs are great fun to play with, one wouldn't leave our room because of the ac! Great location, it's only a few minutes walk to the beach and restaurants. Grab a scooter for your stay, cruise the strip and take it all in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TreyDuece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Why on earth is any review complaining about the location of this place! You have the perfect mix at Baan Taa Yaay Bungalow, away from the crazy hustle and bustle of Chaweng Beach but only a quick bike ride or even walk from it...

From the moment me and my boyfriend arrived at Baan Taa Yaay it was like we had stepped into another little town in Samui. Gorgeous spacious apartments (I have to say they are more like apartments than Bungalows), COMFIEST BED EVER, massive shower room in a little cubby hole around the side of the rooms, amazingly friendly staff, greenery and trees everywhere, husky dogs to watch and keep you entertained, juuust brilliant. Boyfriend and I spent a long time looking for perfect accommodation on Chaweng away from the madness of "the strip" and in our opinion this is the most perfect accommodation in the area. 700 baht for fridge, hot water, air con, free drinking water, massive room, fantastic value for money!!

The young owner and I think his wife, were even so kind as to cancel our last few nights stay AND organise our boat off Samui AND take us to the Tuktuk station at 6am in the morning when we had an emergency and had to leave the island. Absolutely amazing, theres nothing these people wont do.

The only thing I would say, is that the communal dining and cooking area isnt in the best condition at all. It could definitely do with a massive clean-up and I am sure it would get used by guests all of the time!

Short but sweet stay, should be higher on trip advisor. If you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet and kindness here is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Its only a 5 minut walk to the Beach. Its a calm and quiet place.
The standard is very good for that cheap price.
I really recommend this place because the staff is so serviceminded they even let you use their kitchen if you like to cook your own food.
We went on a private day tour Around the island With one Of the staff, you choose the destination you like to go to and to a very cheap price.
We Will defenitly go back to baan taa yaay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jens86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My first trip to koh samui and I had the intention of moving around a bit but after one night at baan taa yaay I was so comfortable I decided to stay for almost 3 weeks . A 5 minute scooter or taxi ride outside the main chaweng beach area and you feel as though you're in your own little secret hideaway although there's a bunch of shops with everything you'll need including a family mart and bars literally 30 seconds around the corner . The people running baan taa yaay couldnt be more friendly and a laundry service and day excursions and motorbike rental is all available at the reception(also wifi but a bit sketchy the further away from reception you get) I will definitely be staying here if I ever return to koh samui ****

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worker1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was so unexpectedly lovely. We arrived late at night it was hard to find as it down a quiet road just on the outskirts of the town. The staff were so helpfull and carried our bags to the room. We booked a standard room but when we got there the light wasn't working so the girl upgraded us to a superior room it was so nice. It had a lovely terrace area to sit at during the day and the room was really big. It was beautifully decorated in a Thai Style. The girl on the front desk was so helpfull and got us a motorbike to rent while we stayed, they sell heaps of affordable trips from there, elephant trekking etc. It's a little away from the centre but not much you could still walk to everything. The price we paid was amazing. The common grounds around it was lovely and very clean. It seems to be a family run business so therefore every member of staff is lovely. The rooms have everything you need. Shower,wc, double bed, tv, fridge. We loved our stay here and would definitely stay again. Clean, Afordable, Perfect Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Cute guesthouse located on the southern end of Chewang. If you haven't rented a motorbike be prepared to pay for shared tuk tuk rides to the center (as the center is easily 30-40 minutes away by foot - we never paid more than 100 baht for two people to the center). However, you can access the beach fairly close to the hotel, but not the main part.

The grounds of the guesthouse are quite tropical feeling with lots of plants. It's in a quiet area, but not so quiet at night because of all the frogs. If you don't mind nature noises then it's all good.

The rooms are clean and well sized. The outdoor washrooms were unexpected but actually nice (they were well screened in to prevent bugs). The rooms have a mini fridge but there is no in room safes. The bed was soooooo soft. Mushy in fact (not a good thing). If you like a bed with any resistance at all, this is not the place for you.

The hotel staff were friendly and someone was always around. Although that person may / may not speak English. If they didn't speak English they would call someone and they would either translate on the phone, or come back on their motorbikes (never had to wait more than five minutes for help).

Make sure to check your laundry if you have it done here. They mixed up one of my items and placed into another guest's laundry bag. Luckily I was able to get the article back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here because it was really cheap and seemed like a good place. We stayed in a bungalow, it had AC and outdoor shower which was quite cool. The staff were very helpful but one couldnt speak english. The room was basic with no safe but had a TV and a fridge. We were told it was a 5 min walk to the best but if you want to be at the main part of the beach where the shops and nightlife are then it is atleast a 20 minute walk. we found ourselves walking it in the day time then home for a shower and the walk again and night. sometimes we got a taxi back which was 200BHT. Overall it was a cool place but just to far away from the night life for us

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachtag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
457 reviews
0 mi away
MM House
MM House
#50 of 103 in Chaweng
29 reviews
0 mi away
Saver Guesthouse
Saver Guesthouse
#46 of 68 in Chaweng
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,639 reviews
0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,986 reviews
0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Taa Yaay Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Taa Yaay Bungalow

Address: 49/3 Moo 3, T. Bo Phut | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: $16 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Taa Yaay Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Baan Taa Yaay Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Taa Yaay Bungalow Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing