We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place on Koh Samui”

Moby Dick Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moby Dick Guesthouse
Ranked #23 of 66 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst place on Koh Samui”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The rooms were unclean, the beds uncomfortable and the bathroom stank. There is no lift, so you have to carry your suitcases up lots of stairs. Don't be tempted by the price, because in the long run you will lose out. Surrounded by at least 5 bars there is nonstop club music until 6am. Our room was NEVER cleaned despite several requests.
Lastly, do NOT under ANY circumstance, no matter how desperate you are, book your travel from here. We were sent on a stressful journey that took us on taxis, tuk tuks, boats and buses back to Bangkok. When we got there, however, we found out our group had £600 cash, £200 in travellers' cheques, a passport, a digital camera and an ipad stolen while on the bus.
AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Don't book here! You'd be better off paying 50 baht more for somewhere away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H_Hazlehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am very sad to get so bad review from our guesthouse. Since May 2012 things have changed. We have renovated all our rooms (November 2012) and they are lovely and clean, freshly painted, new mattresses and pillows, bedding and towels, new air-condition units and bathrooms are fixed and scrubbed. We are one of the cheapest places to stay in the central Chaweng with a short walking distance to everywhere. Unfortunately we are located in the heart of the night time entertainment area called Green Mango so its noisy. There is several bars and nightclubs around us. We are about 10 minutes walk away from the beach.
I am very sorry that you got robbed in the bus on the way to Bangkok. I will never book tickets from this bus company again. As a tip to everyone who is travelling in bus I would recommend you always to have a small bag with you to carry your valuables close to you and never but anything valuable in to your suitcases (even if you have lock on it).
If i remember right we did book you tickets to go Fullmoon party in Koh Phangan and that worked out ok.
I am very sorry you had so bad time in our guesthouse. All the best, Tuula and staff from Moby Dick Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our first impression of this room was somewhat disappointing. The tv was faulty, the fridge had ants living in it, the electrical sockets hung of the wall, the bathroom door wouldn't close or lock properly, and then we found a used condom wrapper on the floor. A quick check under the bed revealed that the method of cleaning is just to sweep everything under there. The sheets and towels were stained, though we think washed!

Then at night it turns out you're next door to the latest opening, loudest club in town, and the sound insulation is poor, so even earplugs probably wont do the trick.

Believe it or not, you can kind of live with all this, and if you're in Chaweng to party, and want cheap accomodation, this place would do the trick. Otherwise, its a no go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Ok rooms at decent rates which cater for the backpacker on a budget. However, the noise at night is loud! We both had ear plugs and could still hear the bass thumping through our ears!

Would also add that we went for a air con room (600 baht), as these rooms were on the floor above the pub and had access to the WiFi router (positioned in the bar), I would not recommend doing this - the WiFi is the worst I have ever used - off more times than it's on and when it did work it was slow!

In summary, good place to stay if you want no frills place, perfect if you plan on going out at night and sleep in the day! Hotel is located nearby all local bars and clubs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My freind had stayed at this hotel for five times previous years and always adviced it. It is not the ritz but it has everything you want from in thailand, aircondiditoing and chang when ever you want it plus food. The staff are amazing the bar girls are amazing. If you want to sleep at night dont stay here as there a night club next door and music gets played untill early hours of the morning. But I had a blast there. I had my 21st Birthday there and they threw me a party and it was superb, everybody had a great time! definitely stay here if you want a party thai exsperience!!

Room Tip: There is rooms on top floor which i advice to take they are a bit more exspensive but worht it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Room itself was ok, had air conditioning and tv. However staff were very unhelpful, and we had hardly any sleep as there was loud music until about 6am. Don't stay there unless you would be out partying all night!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the road - it might be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The guesthouse is in central of chaweng where the best nightclubs and pubs are. Good location. Short distance to the beach and Chaweng mainroad shops.
Room was airconned and had bathroom, balcony, TV, fridge. It was cheap (600baths) and clean.
Downstairs is restaurant and pub. Good breakfast, good food and good beer. Not expensive at all. There is also 3 excelent pool tables. I watched also lots of football from the big screen there is.
Very nice, happy and helpful staff. I had a good time there and i'm definetly going back. there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed here for a night in June 2006. It was one of the worst night's sleep I've ever had. In fact I don't think I even slept. I ended up getting up again and going back out.

The "hotel" - it's actually more of a hostel, I don't recall a reception even - is right smack bang in the middle of all the bars at 'Green Mango', so music blasts right through the night. The rooms were very basic. Bedding was crap, tele was crap, I don't recall having a bathroom, it must have been pokey if we did, and I recall there being spiders climbing the walls as well.

If you're just looking for somewhere to stash your bags for the day and go out, this is a decent bet, as I think it was about £5/£10 a night to stay there.

There are no facilities that I remember, such as swimming pool or restaurants. I'm pretty sure it's just rooms. Can't even remember there being lifts.

This is getting worse. I'll leave it there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterSob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ark Bar Beach Resort
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
1,492 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moby Dick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Guesthouse

Property: Moby Dick Guesthouse
Address: 168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moby Dick Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location in Chaweng Beach Road in the middle of night time entertainment area called Green Mango. Short walking distance to the beach, spas, shopping, restaurants and night clubs. Free Safety Box and WiFi. Restaurant and Bar. All rooms recently renovated in November 2012. Best place in Koh Samui if you want to party!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Moby Dick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing