We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional and very memorable dining experience”

Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar
Ranked #9 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional and very memorable dining experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I were entertained to dinner at Tree Tops during our visit to Ko Samui and I have to say it was a wonderful experience. All the dishes were superb, but the rack of lamb was exceptional, both in terms of quality of meat and cooking..
The fact that it is currently No.1 on the tripadvisor restaurant approval list for the area is no surprise and entirely justified.
A truly memorable dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eromallid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear eromallid,

Thank you for the very nice words and compliments! Happy to hear you enjoyed it!

Hopefully seeing you back one day.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    230
    107
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faultless dining experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This dining experience surpassed the hype surrounding Tree Tops. From the escort to our table, to our waiters the service was friendly, knowledgeable and prompt. We especially enjoyed the salt demonstration and the (admittedly quirky) touches like a choice of knives for the steak-eaters at our table! Add to this an excellent cocktail list. My smoked whiskey sour was completed at the table to demonstrate how the smoke had been infused into the liquid within the bottle it was served in. Delicious and a fun presentation to boot. One of my dining partners had made a habit of having a Piña Colada at each restaurant we dined at and said his cocktail here was easily the best of the bunch.

I chose the degustation menu with premium wine-matching and it did not disappoint. While not disappearing down the path of gastronomical chemistry, the deconstructed courses like the champagne soup with crab were wonderful and the wag you beef cheek for main was sublime. All wines were presented with a decent explanation and suited the food very nicely.

Our table had the 6pm sitting, so we had the benefit of watching the sun going down over the Samui coastline. The view was breath-taking from our perch in the "tree-top". The only downside (fully understood due to previous experience with booking a sitting time) was that we had to vacate by 8:40pm to allow the 9pm sitting in. Minor problem, as we would have loved to stay longer. Well done to a brilliant restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidGAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear DavidGAyres,

We appreciate that you have taken the time sharing such detailed feedback about your dining experience with us. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed the dinner at Tree Tops and would love being able to welcome you back again.

With best regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

It is like you have stepped onto the impressive set of a Star Wars adventure where the Ewoks on Endor welcome you to their home for dinner high in the tree top canopy. There's an elaborate construction of wooden bridges which winds it's way around massive boulders. Shooting off the perimeter of the walk way are platform decks which with candle lighting provides a romantic and secluded outdoor dining experience.

Tree Tops has the Wow Factor right from the moment you're greeted at the front entrance. You very quickly get lost in superior service and it fells like you're a million miles away from Chaweng's busy street of hustle and bustle.

Upon arrival we ordered one of their signature cocktails the champagne mojito which surprisingly arrived in a tall beer glass with a McDonalds thick shake straw. But don't let that deter you.

Tree Tops has a very extensive wine list and a well thought out and put together food menu which was divided into entree, mains, "wild kitchen" specials and for those seeking gastronomic indulgence the Tree Top Romance Menu was a degustation like no other.

I'd highly recommend the lava stone grilled lobster with tomato saffron broth which was amazing. Followed by a palette cleanser we had a visit from the "Knife Guru" which arrived with a brief case a various knives one could choose to use for the main mean. As I ordered the seafood, I didn't get to choose one of the special knives (I was given default knife) but my partner who ordered the lamb rack was allowed to test each of the four special knives for hand grip suitability.

Also before mains being served we were visited by the "Salt Doctor" who in similar style to the "Knife Guru" arrived with seven different jars of salt from all over the world and was able to best match salt to the main you ordered. There's a great deal of ohhh-ing and ahhh-ing at this point.

The salt is then delicately poured into a shallow ramekin dish and awaits the arrival of your main meal; in our case they too were impressive.

Grilled lamb rack with arabic spices truffle cous cous and eggplant and for me, seafood with asparagus, polenta set on a foamed Thai hollandaise sauce. Extremely pleasing flavours, so much so that I completely forgot about the damn salt which regrettable sat in the middle of the table untouched.

But the true decadence was dessert, a well crafted chocolate experience with white chocolate snow, chocolate truffles and salted caramel ice-cream. Yes I died and went to heaven.

Tree Tops can not be faulted but it should be said that you get what you pay for. The service was impeccable having employed staff with personalities and a good sense of humour. The food was fine dining and that won't suit everyone's budget. For us, it was a wonderful experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simie-Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Simie-Boy,

Wow… after a previous reviewer has referred to the team in Tree Tops as being beautiful I think your comparison for them with the Star Wars Ewoks gave them a pretty harsh reality check…

Joking aside, I appreciate your very detailed review and comments.

The Ewoks and I are looking forward welcoming you back to Tree Tops.

With best regards

Chewbacca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Was treated like a king, food was great, drinks were great. Highly recommend this was one of the best experiences of koh samui.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLeeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear TheLeeroy,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your compliments here with us.

With best regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An unforgettable evening”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner planned this dinner for our anniversary and it was a wonderful experience. Service was impeccable, and the attention to detail was surprising and pleasing. We never once had to get a server's attention as things just fell so perfectly and discreetly into place, I hardly noticed them. The salt selection was such a fun experience, and one of the recommended salt really did added a unique flavour to our main course.

My partner order the lamb steak and loved it. I ordered the wagyu steak and was a little disappointed that my medium rare steak came medium well instead. Had expected a fine dining restaurant to get the done-ness of the steak right. I however did not comment on this to the staff as the steak was still good anyhow, and I didn't want to dampen the mood of our aniversary dinner. The wine selection available by the glass was very good.

All in all, the view was great, and the pavailion with its privacy made the evening even more romantic. We had an amazing and unforgetable evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Janise T,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor. Great to hear that you enjoyed an unforgettable Anniversary evening, even though the steak was not cooked correctly. We would have loved to hear about it on that evening in order to take corrective action immediately.

We hope being able to serve you again.

With best regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing