We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary dinner!”
Review of Tree Tops

Tree Tops
Ranked #10 of 184 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $73
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary dinner!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our daughters treated us to a wonderful anniversary dinner at Tree Tops restaurant - amazing experience: gorgeous service, delicious food with such attention to detail, palate cleansers in between courses, lovely presentations AND a wonderful view included. Walking through such lush and lovely gardens and ponds to the drinks bar where there were music and gauzy pavilion beds on white sand, red umbrellas over seats at the beach........what is there not to like? Dinner was just brilliant especially when topped by a delightful, chocolate covered, mousse filled cake - compliments of the house for our anniversary.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Felicity H,

Happy Anniversary and our special Thanks to your daughter for treating you at Tree Tops! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear that you not only enjoyed our Restaurant but as well the Bar at the beach for some Pre Dinner drinks. Might have given you an idea where to stay during your next vacation? ;-)

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    225
    101
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in Koh Samui”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We have tried numerous restaurants in Koh Samui - this is by far the best. Excellent food, amazing setting, perfect service.
Will definitely go back

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Dania C,

Thank you very much for the great feedback and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and environment”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location, atmosphere and design of the restaurant was stunning, which brings up the average overall rating. Unfortunately the food was disappointing. The four of us had the tasting menu with wine pairing. Food was either underseasoned or just 'didn't work', such as the nice sweet dessert ruined by adding in 'goat cheese dollops'. We were presented with the salt menu at the final course before dessert but perhaps would have been more conducive if they came at the beginning of our meal. Overall, I think they are just trying too hard to make it more than it needs to be. The food would be more delectable if they kept it a bit more simple. That said, the service was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevensFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear StevensFam,

Thank you for complimenting our service team and the additional feedback you shared. We apologize if the experience has not met your expectations and acknowledge certainly that the tasting menu experience was not to your liking.

Since your visit we have actually changed a large number of dishes throughout our regular menu changes and we hope that with the new menu in place more dishes are meeting your taste and pairing expectations.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food and Location amazing”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived late for our booking so was already dark and couldn't see the amazing view but the location is amazing. Like having your own individual tree house which made for a very romantic setting. The food was amazing, cocktails was fun and the staff lovely. After enjoying a week of nothing but yummy Thai food it was great to enjoy a steak which was perfectly cooked.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Ricaaa,

Thank you very much for your visit. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service.

We hope being able welcoming you back in 2014.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst food experience ever”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have signed in on trip advisors only to write about our experience at Tree Top. it was terrible. the setting is nice but the food was very bad. we sent both the starter and the main course back as the fish was literally off. as a grand gesture they deducted the main cours. the salt was a nice experience indeed but did not do much to offset the rest. my kids even left most of their desserts... and all of that for a big check at the end.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HerwigvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear HerwigvH,

As mentioned during our phone conversation, I am very sorry to hear about your experience and apologize on behalf of the entire team for the disappointment. It is certainly very unpleasant, especially as your wife apparently has just recovered from a fish poisoning in Singapore a week before as you mentioned to me.

I have to say that I was rather disappointed that you have not responded to my offer at all, even though we invested quite some efforts and time getting in touch with you at your resort. You mentioned you will get back to me after having it discussed with your family. I would have hoped that you take advantage of having my direct mobile phone number and will get in touch with me, no matter what your decision will be.

We have certainly investigated your feedback further. As you have experienced yourself, the restaurant has been very busy on that particular night with other tables ordering the same dishes from the same fish you had. No other guest had a similar feedback. The turnover of the food is rather high as we are ordering frequently and in small quantity in order to guarantee freshness. We do have food quality controls in place which I can say with confidence are beyond many others you will find on this island and we pride ourselves in very high audit results in this area which are performed from an outside independent company.

As mentioned before, we understand with the recent history of a fish poisoning you and your family might have been highly cautious and sensitive in these regards but can assure you that such incident would be highly unlikely.

Nevertheless, we appreciate the feedback and the opportunity investigating your feedback.

We hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay on Koh Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops also viewed

 

Been to Tree Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing