We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tree Tops

Tree Tops
Ranked #11 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $73
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are in Koh Samui and willing to pay extra for a great dining experience go to this restaurant. Although there wan't a big choice of food what we had was excellent, and very well presented. Each of the tables is in a separate small semi-enclosed area so you almost felt you were the only diners. We had a view over the garden and were quite high up. We had to walk along a wood walkway to reach our table.

We had our starter course when a waitress appeared with a box of knives- we were asked to chose which knife we wanted to use for our main course. Our choice depended on what we were eating, and I chose a serrated edged knife as I was having lamb. Another waitress then appeared with a choice of salt!! Never had this before - but I admit that the salt I chose [sea salt with added seaweed] enhanced the meal.

The bill for 4 of us [excluding wine] came to £232. Not bad for a dining experience with a difference. We took our own wine and paid a reasonable corkage charge.

If you book early enough you can get a table high up in the trees - but these are highly sought after so book before you go if you are only there for a week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Paulboy100,

Thank you for dining at Tree Tops and sharing your experience here. We appreciate to hear that you had a wonderful meal and the little added touches were appreciated by you.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    214
    97
    45
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“In Thailand Stick to Thai Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The restaurant is located the Anantara resort where we stayed. We ate there on our last night as the Restaurant itself is very beautiful and attractive, However, Prices are in european standards... and the food is not more then OK. Bottom line, chose one of the many good restaurants and eat European food in Europe.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Eran H,

I’m sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with Tree Tops, especially when having read your very positive review about the resort.

Even though we wouldn’t necessarily call the cuisine in Tree Tops European (or the pricing) it is clear that it is very different to the local Thai cuisine. A difference that is often appreciated.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and will do our best to life up to the expectations of all our guests.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One the most romantic settings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife found the tree tops restuarant - shes got expensive taste lol and we weren't disappointed.

You need to call ahead to reserve a table. There are only 8 tables available and each in the own section for a private dinning feel. Each table gets higher and higher as the numbers rise so to make the most of the occasion you want to resever table 8 as this is the highest table and has the best views. We got table 6 which was almost level with table 7. The dress code is smart and shoes, make an effort as this place deserves it.

The food was really good, it was a 7 course meal which I've never had before and inbetween courses they cleanse your palate with sorbets etc. This was the most expensive restaurant we went to in koh samui but not the best but still pretty decent. But definately worth visiting if you can afford it and more importantly get a table. It cost in bhat around 4000-5000 for both of us which I found reasonable considering some of the things other people were saying. My wife and I had 1 alcoholic drink, water and cokes in that price also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amojaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear amojaz,

Thank you for the compliments on your dinner experience. We are glad having met your wife’s expectations and didn’t disappoint.

We also appreciate that you have seen the value for money you are receiving at Tree Tops and that you found it being in line with what you receive.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Treetops is a unique experience for couples. You are seated privately in your own space, each of these being connected by walkways for the wait staff, to give the experience that you are genuinely dining "in" the treetops. There could be a tendency to feel isolated if the staff forgot about you, but that didn't happen to us! They seemed to judge perfectly when to offer their service and when to give us some time. Views from the highest tables are beautiful, and the food and cocktails are fantastic. If you are a seasoning lover like me, you will love the salt menu!
We dined here firstly in June 2012 and visited again in February 2013.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goddess230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear goddess230,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest to Tree Tops! Always great having you back and hopefully you are enjoying the enhancements we did.

We appreciate that you have shared your feedback again including the compliments to the team that will be certainly passed on to them.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I honestly don't understand why this place is rated so highly. We sat at the second highest level ( about a metre below the highest) and we were overlooking roof tops. The food did not live up to expectations, the servings were tiny and so expensive for what it is.
The most enjoyable part of this restaurant were the friendly staff. Definitely don't waste your time or money. It cost around $200 ( Australian) for entree and main.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear JaneT,

Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate being visited by local patrons from Samui and usually receive very positive comments.

Being a Samui Resident I would have certainly hoped that you would have taken the chance discussing your feedback with me or my team personally as you seemed having expected something we did not provide you.

Having spent AUS 200 for an appetizer and main course I am surprised to hear that the portions were too little as you must have order bigger than the regular portions considering the money you spent.

Anyway, we are certainly aware that our restaurant is not to everybody’s liking but will try our very best to meet expectations for everyone, especially if they are communicated to us.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops also viewed

 

Been to Tree Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing