We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!”

Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar
Ranked #11 of 191 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $76
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wow that's what you'll say when you begin to climb the stairs of the Tree atoms restaurant! It's literally a tree house filled with different levels of private sections for dining. The ambience is something out of a Tazan movie with huge prehistoric rocks and big roots of the Banyan tree growing from these rocks. The food is to die for. Service is second to none! We had the lamb rack and th black miso cod. A taste sensation! Dessert for couples was plated up at your table by the chef himself, yummy! Please, don't miss this restaurant but be sure to book well in advance it's very popular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenPorter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear KarenPorter54,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and the great feedback you have shared. Will pass it on to Tarzan and Jane 

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,041 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us on our first day in Koh Sumiu. Compared to Thai prices it is expensive but worth every $$$. We actually went twice in 4 days. Excellent service, excellent food and a real dining experience.

Thank Breeda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Breeda M,

We are excited to hear that you have chosen to come every second day for dinner and couldn’t have asked for a better compliment.

Let us know when you come back to Samui and first drinks will be on us.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a variety of meals in Koh Samui ranging from 500 baht to 2000 baht. We had the Romance Menu at TreeTops and it set us back 9000 baht. So a meal that costs 4x any other meal we had should be pretty special, right? It was the only disappointing meal of the whole trip.

From other reviews, it is clear that the Romance Menu changes from time to time. This is a good thing. We rated the palate cleanser as the most successful thing we ate. Our notes:

--"My Rock Lobster"--basically lobster two ways. Both were a waste of good lobster. One was incorporated into a strange mousse in brioche dough, the other were a few bites in aromatic spices, but lobster ended up so dry as to be unpleasant. Butter, anyone?
--"Champagne Soup with Crunchy Oyster." Presumably this would taste like champagne and oysters. Nope, the champagne soup tasted like sour onion. The breading on the oyster was complex and had more than one level of flavor, but I never tasted anything that tasted like an oyster. I wondered if it was only breading.
--"Scallop Tempura." Perfectly cooked single scallop encased in gloppy bready tempura dough that added nothing to the dish. The description of the dish promised a whisky foam, but no foam arrived and there was nothing tasting of whiskey nor anything really to do with the icky tempura dough.
--Wagyu Beef Cheeks. We presume this was cooked sous vide and it is an excellent example of what sous vide does well and does not. Beef checks and carrots were cooked to perfection. The accompanying fennel had been reduced to colorless mush. In sous vide, better to toss the fennel once it has given its essence up to the dish or substitute new fennel if desired. We never cook green veggies using sous vide--it robs them of both color and texture. Big pot blanching is a better cooking technique for green veggies.
--"Black Forrest." (Sic). The "brownie" was nothing more than a chocolate sheet cake. We enjoyed the "almond ice cream," but it tasted like sour yogurt and had no taste of almond.

Best hing in the entire meal was a palate cleanser of ginger watermelon sorbet. I'll be stealing this idea.

At course number five we asked to order a taxi, but were told this was unnecessary because taxis were always avaliable at the anantara. When we left the restaurant no taxis were available. The staff offered us a seat and said they'd find a taxi for us. Fifteen minutes later, still no taxi. We inquired again and this time they moved into action and a taxi was soon located.

On a last note, there was little or nothing on the menu that referenced that we were in Thailand. A bad Black Forest cake when there's so much that could be done with Thailand's fruits? A stylistic choice obviously, but a lost opportunity we thought.

ity, lovely setting. This could have been so much more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohninWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear JohninWashingtonDC,

From your comments I gather that you are a Chef yourself or at least enjoy cooking very much. It is clear that we haven’t been able to meet your palates satisfaction. Your feedback about our degustation menu differs very much from other reviewers and following a personal re-tasting with my team it appears that it must have been a one off for which we want to apologize. The Wagyu beef cheeks are actually braised and not cooked sous vide.

It is indeed very unusual that no taxis have been available in front of the resort and to be honest there is no taxi hotline that can be called to order one. I am nevertheless confident that my team took action upon your first request and called nearby hotels to send one over. We apologize that this seems to have taken a bit longer than usual.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner at the tree tops during our holiday to Koh Samui and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip! We had table number eight which had a fantastic view. We went for the "romance" testing menu and it was delicious! Service was top class and the staff were extemely polite and took lots of photos for us. Tree tops is expensive but 100% worth it. Would definitely recommend it especially for couples as it has a very romantic setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maryi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Maryi,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Tree Tops that much and are looking forward welcoming you back hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Dining in a tree house was very cool! Although I would recommend an advance booking given there are only 8 tables. We sat in one of the high tables with views over the resort. The staff thought of everything including providing complimentary mozzie spray. They feature specialists salts to enhance your meal and the salt descriptions were quite interesting. Food portions are large so I went with two starters of Goats Cheese wrapped in Mango, followed by Crispy Tuna. The deserts were out of this world and I would recommend the Chocolate and Mango Sphere if you are a chocolate lover. High marks for this restaurant, just don't expect a cheap night out.... Although it was worth every penny.

Thank Samia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Samia R,

Thank you for sharing your compliments here on TripAdvisor… I have to say that the Tuna is one of my favorites as well and I’m glad you liked it too.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing