We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!!”
Review of Tree Tops

Tree Tops
Ranked #10 of 184 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $73
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner at the tree tops during our holiday to Koh Samui and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip! We had table number eight which had a fantastic view. We went for the "romance" testing menu and it was delicious! Service was top class and the staff were extemely polite and took lots of photos for us. Tree tops is expensive but 100% worth it. Would definitely recommend it especially for couples as it has a very romantic setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Maryi,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Tree Tops that much and are looking forward welcoming you back hopefully soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    225
    101
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Dining in a tree house was very cool! Although I would recommend an advance booking given there are only 8 tables. We sat in one of the high tables with views over the resort. The staff thought of everything including providing complimentary mozzie spray. They feature specialists salts to enhance your meal and the salt descriptions were quite interesting. Food portions are large so I went with two starters of Goats Cheese wrapped in Mango, followed by Crispy Tuna. The deserts were out of this world and I would recommend the Chocolate and Mango Sphere if you are a chocolate lover. High marks for this restaurant, just don't expect a cheap night out.... Although it was worth every penny.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Samia R,

Thank you for sharing your compliments here on TripAdvisor… I have to say that the Tuna is one of my favorites as well and I’m glad you liked it too.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honfleur
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“beautiful view and food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the perfect restaurant for a romantic evening. The view is spectacular and only rivalled by the food.
The large spaces between rooms allows you to enjoy the quality time with those you are with without be bothered by other tables.

The food is very imaginative, Chef Mathias truly understands flavors and has a gift for presentation. We loved the bread and the salt selections. The wine pairing menu was very well done.
The wait staff in particular K Nill were very attentative and not at all intrusive. A truly great restaurant and well deserving of the awards it wins.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudderless-Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Rudderless-sailor,

We appreciate your feedback and compliments that will certainly been shared with Matthias and Khun Nil. Great to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and we are looking forward welcoming you back to Tree Tops in the hopefully not too distant future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only book "high" tables and try the Essex salt!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

There is absolutely no doubt the food is very good here.

Medium rare tiger prawns with a sushi style wrap was delicious.
I followed with the ubiquitous Black Cod, which can so easily be drowned out in sauce, but this was done to perfection.

Wine was as you'd expect, quite expensive, but the choice was very good and they had some excellent examples to choose from the refrigerated walk in wine fridge at reception.

The one must here is booking the right table, you MUST book at minimum a "medium" or prefereably a "high" table. There are only 2 sitting per night, one at 6 and the other at 9. Either way, don't bother with the low table unless you're a real foodie and are not bothered about looking at the back of a hotel room.

I was disappointed despite staying here over 1 week, we couldn't manage to book a high table in any night.

Finally, and anecdotally, I wonder if they are trying too hard.... Having a waitress explain the various salts they have to offer seemed a little excessive, but turned into hilarity when she described the various sea salts from around the worlds most beautiful surroundings (including here of course) to then finish with a sea salt from... Essex in England....er?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SquareBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Squareboy,

We are glad to hear that the option of having salt from your neighborhood put a smile on your face during your dinner and added to your experience.

Please accept my apology that your required days and table had booking already for the week you’ve been staying. Usually there will be always an opportunity but we hope for your understanding that we can’t cancel previously confirmed bookings.

Neverthless, thank you for the compliments on the food.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Romancing the stone”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

What a glorious meal!!! Took the old ball and chain to treetops for her bday dinner. The minced wagyu with smoked Rosemary is to die for, def a must. Service here is Devine and the setting will win you brownie points for sure. Expect to pay $200 aus for 2 entrees, Mains and a shared desert. Great for a special occasion

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toopence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Toopence,

Thank you for having chosen to dine with us and sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed it and looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops also viewed

 

Been to Tree Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing