We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best First Anniversary Dinner!!”

Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar
Ranked #9 of 195 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $77
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I have searched through trip advisor on where we can spend our anniversary dinner and have decided to try Tree Tops. We have then made a booking weeks in advance and better do so as they can get booked out. The higher you are seated, the better the view.

From the moment we walked in to Anantara Resort, we were blown away by the calmness of the surrounding.
We were then ushered to the entrance where we were greeted and seated to Table number 5. We got there at 6pm so plenty of time to take in the nice view. Romantic ++
As per reviews, we tried all the highly recommended food, and was amazed by how the staff and the restaurant have taken an extra mile to keep our anniversary extra special by giving us complimentaries after complimentaries! The sizes of their were just perfect! Must try their signature dessert!

The prices are as expected for the services that they have provided. The service was superb and the staff were just truly amazing!
Highly recommending it to our friends and husband and I will definitely come back next time we're around!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Camiliciouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Camiliciouss,

I hope this was not your first anniversary as one of our previous reviewers as it would take away a bit from the compliment of being “the best anniversary dinner ever!” 

But on a more serious note… thank you for your compliments and for taking the time sharing this here on TripAdvisor.

We would be delighted welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,171 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were staying at Samahita Yoga-Thailand, which has good healthy food, but we wanted to get out and try some of the restaruants on Koh Samui. Tree Top is one of the most unusual places I have eaten becaue it is literally built within trees, with a veiw that looks out over the ocean. Each table is seclued and romantic. The food is expensive and the chef that planned the menu has an ego that is bigger than the Gulf of Thailand. (I am sure the Chef views his work more as 'art' rather than food preparation.) The most pretentious menu and food items I have seen in a long while. For example; I had black noodles with my entree, which is an egg noodle that is made from the dark ink squids squirt when they are threatened by a predator. They have a salt tray with 12 kinds of salt that they recommend to you depending upon your entree. Even the dessert menu was pretentious. We spent more on wine and dinner at this place than any other restaurant we went to during our week on the island, and came away with more of a dining out story than being satisfied from the food. I'm glad we went but would not go again. This is a dinner for two type of place and go with the attitude that you're going to come away with a good restaurant story, rather than a great meal and you won't be dissappointed. PS: The rating I gave is entirely based upon the surroundings and ambience and not the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KD2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear KD2122,

Thank you for having been adventurous and joining us for dinner in Tree Tops.

I can imagine that the atmosphere and service of Tree Tops was much more in compliance with your overall holiday experience coming from Samahita Yoga than the origin of some of our food items.

I have to say that I am glad you haven’t chosen our Foie Gras dish as the origin of it might have been even more disturbing for you than the black ink of our noodles. Nevertheless, I can assure you that we do have options on the menu in which no animal has been harmed or threatened in the production of the product. The goat cheese and mango set for example.

As for Chef Matthias’ ego I can assure you that a personal meeting with him would have assured you that he is very down to earth and a humbled person. Having been long enough in this industry I can also assure you that every decent Chef will consider his food and work as a piece of art. If not, I would seriously question his passion and professionalism and would have not hired him. Food, especially in this dining environment, deserves the respect of the people using it. At least the squid contributed to a piece of art and brought joy to many people with his sacrifice.

Once again, thank you for joining us for dinner and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay on Samui.


Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked Treetops in advance as it had such good reviews on Trip Advisor. From the start, their communication was great, advising us of the best time to arrive and giving us table number 7 which has the best view.
On arriving at the hotel, an hour early as we wanted to see sunset, we were immediately blown away by the friendly staff and made to feel welcome. They took us by golf cart to the private beach & bar where we were served cocktails by the amazing staff (happy hour is 6-7pm where they ring a gong to announce it). The private beach has day beds and live music which was so romantic and idyllic.
The golf cart appeared at 6.30 and took us to the restaurant and I can honestly say WOW! We've eaten in a few of the best restaurants around the world and this one is truly magical! The architecture is astounding, designed sympathetically around a huge rock and trees and lit by candlelight, almost as if it was an extension of the surroundings.
The food, great seafood selection and a few meat dishes (they emailed a PDF menu in advance so we could peruse at our leisure - this meant by our pool this afternoon).
The salt selection and explanation that came with each one aroused the senses and you could see the guy was genuinely interested in our reactions and sharing his knowledge.
The view - outstanding and all the staff were friendly, unobtrusive and professional.
All in all - they made our first wedding anniversary magical and we came away feeling thoroughly spoilt and well fed!
Ps. A little on the pricey side but well worth every single baht! We will be back xxx

Thank AshBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear AshBush,

Congratulations on your first wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing us as the restaurant of your choice for this special occasion.

We appreciate all the great things you are saying about us and the experience you had not only at Tree Tops but as well upon arrival to the resort and in the Beach Bar.

Try not to wait until your second wedding anniversary and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back sooner than that.


Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my 1st time visiting Samui (a babymoon getaway for my wifey), like many others, I heard very good reviews in TA on this restaurant and decided to have this as my "dinner of this trip". Overall it was a unique and wonderful experience. Some points to note:

1) Reservation is a must (at least one week ahead)
2) There are only 8 tables (low, mid, high tier, with the smallest number on the low tier)
3) Table #7, though not the highest pavilion, has the best view of the sea. Very advance booking required for this table.
4) Be there early at 6pm to catch the sunset (restaurant opens sharp at 6pm)

Some GOOD comments on the service and food.
1) The 5-course meal (with wine pairing, 5 glasses in total) is definitely value for money (about SGD 160). Each course is generously served (A reasonably good eater like me cannot finish all). PLEASE save your stomach for the main course.
2) Their freshly baked bread (3 different flavors - white, whole-meal, multi-gain) were hot and nice, together with their special vanilla flavored butter. Please resist the temptation to finish all of them!
3) Ambience was romantic (dimly lit) and it was pretty private (each table in individual pavilion).
4) Staff is generally attentive, friendly, prompt and good with photo-taking.
5) The music played was good too, not too loud.

Some BAD comments:
1) Knowing that my wife is pregnant. Staff actually served her something raw for her appetizer (raw tuna).
2) My main course was a steak, but staff served me a medium-well done without asking me. I usually have a medium-well and find it too bloody. I did not ask them to redo it (I believe they will) since I was too full to finish. In the end I ate only the sides of the steak which were more cooked.
3) There are quit a plenty of mosquitoes, though there was a insect repellent on the table to spray.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keongzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Keongzai,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and giving us the opportunity to improve to perfection. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your overall meal and the atmosphere as well as the service.

My apology that we have missed some small but important details. We will brief the team that many pregnant women decide not to eat raw meat or fish and this should have been clarified before serving the first course.

The team is usually requesting how the steak should be cooked and I am surprised to hear that they seem having missed this with your order. My apology for this too and we will ensure a better consistency on this. We would have certainly fixed this if you would have addressed it during your dinner.

As mentioned, we appreciate the comments and will be using them to work with the team on improving further.


Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I took my husband here for his birthday and was the only enjoyable experience we had in Samui. The staff are brilliant , food outstanding and the location unique. Yes it is expensive but so is all of Samui ,but it is worth it like eating at the burj in Dubai an experience worth paying for.
The staff know their stuff and are very helpful. They allow you the time to savour your food as well as the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allyty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear allyty,

We are sorry to hear that we have been the only positive experience for you on Samui as we believe Samui has so much great things to offer. Having ensured that at least your husband’s birthday was a great experience and we have played a key role in this is certainly a great compliment we appreciate.

Hopefully you will give Koh Samui another chance and we can assist you in ensuring that all your experiences will be as delightful as your dinner with us.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing