We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar
Ranked #9 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Azizskandar Awang that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Gleneagle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Top quality food, gorgeous private setting, excellent service :) had to book a few days ahead because it was full but glad we did. Wonderful experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Cathy P,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your compliments here on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    230
    107
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical dining experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i didnt even know of this place before we landed so we called on a whim for a booking and got one for a mid level platform. The view of the beach was obstructed by the accomodation so its best to book in advance for a higher level. However once the sun sets its the atmosphere of warm wind, palm trees, lovely food and gentle efficient service which is really what makes this night magical. We celebrated an occasion and the staff made us feel so special. The high point was definitely the trio of desserts! We walked out really full after sharing an entree, two mains and dessert. And compared to a similar dining experience in sydney, we thought it was great value. Thank you to the staff for our wonderful night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roseiespers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Roseiespers,

We are delighted to hear that the magic of Tree Tops has touched you and that we have been able to do our part for your special occasion.

Thank you for dining with us and hopefully we see you back soon.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must for couples”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Koh Samui for a special occasion as a couple then I would most certainly recommend Tree Tops. We were on our honeymoon and loved the experience. We enjoyed the bread, a nice bottle of champagne, the pork was perfectly cooked and the wait staff suggest which salt to have with your meal so don't worry about it being overpowering as its not the chefs who salt it. (See below comment) my wife had the most perfect salmon and we enjoyed a brilliant dessert of lemon meringue and ice cream. Perfect night with great surroundings and lovely staff. Book ahead and enjoy!!

Helpful?
Thank Aussieblte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Aussieblte,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am in particular happy to hear that the salmon was cooked to perfection as we had some challenges with that according to a previous comment. I will share your feedback with Chef Matthias and his team which they will most certainly appreciate.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Everything great except the food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Ambience was delightful, the service was perfection, but the food was over complicated and disappointing, although beautifully presented. A starter of fish cake with mango relish was delicious and served alongside was a selection of 3 types of fluffy bread and 2 butters. The peach Bellini I ordered was equally delicious. This strong start did not progress sadly. My children had duck served 2 ways. The duck terriyaki was unbearably dry. I had salmon with beetroot and apple, the sweet flavours of which were completely overpowered by the use of smoky salt. The vegetables on top were limp and greasy. My husband's black cod was raw in the centre. We ordered one desert - a chocolate liquid lava ball which was magnificent in presentation - but tasted soapy with a pepper kick.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear SuzSydney41,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambience and service of Tree Tops and would like to apologize for the food that hasn’t been prepared to our usual high standards. This has been addressed with Chef Matthias and we have intensified the training and quality control before the food is leaving the kitchen. I am confident that this has been fixed successfully.

We would usually not recommend one of our smoky salts to the salmon dish but rather go with the lighter Hawaiian Bamboo and English salt. Unfortunately we couldn’t find out in our follow up if you have opted for this choice or if our team recommended the wrong salt to the dish. Please accept our apology if this was caused from our end.

Nevertheless, we are glad hearing that you enjoyed the overall experience and would be delighted welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“incredible dining experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We called to book tree tops for the following night, luckily we did as it was full the next three nights so we just managed to get in on our last night! There are only 8 dining platforms so be sure to book, we were only able to get a lower platform as the higher ones were already fully booked but it was still a great experience and we ate at 7pm so it was already dark by then so it didn't really matter to us what level we were on.

We never bothered with starters (and I'm glad we didn't!) we were given a free appetiser with three different kinds of freshly baked breads, we had a main each and shared a dessert and we were both stuffed! I went for the pork, it was the best pork fillet I have ever had! My partner had the duck breast and this too was fantastic! The presentation of the dishes was beautiful and the chef even comes out to serve them and tell you about how they were prepared. We were given a run through of the different knives available for each course and they even have a "salt guru" who presents the different salts available from all around the world and advises which ones will best compliment your dish. This was really interesting, the food has so much flavour already we didn't need to salt our dishes. For dessert we shared the chocolate sphere, it was lovely! quite a big dessert and quite sickly so I'd recommend sharing this one. We both had the mojitos and they were one of the best I've ever had! This is my favourite drink so I've had my fair few.

Overall we had a fantastic time at tree tops! The food was incredible, staff were lovely and the setting and attention to detail were superb. By asian standards, the meal definitely wasn't cheap at around 4000 bhat for two mains, one dessert, 4 mojitos and a bottle of water. I thought 250 bhat for a litre of water was a bit much!! but the cocktails and food were worth it. I'd highly recommended this place and if ever back in Koh Samui I'd definitely go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x-claire-1987-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear x-claire-1987-x,

Great to hear that we have been able to accommodate your last minute request and having you dining with us at Tree Tops.

We have put a lot of thoughts into the little touches and surprises throughout the dinner and are happy to hear when they are appreciated and recognized. Thanks for the great feedback about the team as well which we will share with them.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to Tree Tops.


Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Tree Tops Sky Dining & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing