We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the ruff!!”
Review of Green Bird

Green Bird
Ranked #15 of 183 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diamond in the ruff!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This place didn't disappoint, great value for money & excellent food. We had heard about green bird so we searched high & low for this place & we were glad we did. The whole bill came to 250thb which is roughly $13 for starters, 2 main meals and drinks!! Highly recommend this place it's at the back of the local markets as you enter chawang beach coming from bohput just off the main road.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat-moimoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    434
    131
    44
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best value for money amongst a plethora of tourist traps”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Simple, tasty, straightforward Thai food, pleasant and polite service. Classic Pad Thai with sea food was particularly tasty.

Thai's habit of having toilet paper rolls rather than basic napkins is not exactly in my "must have" list for restaurants, but it is a minor crime, considering that the great majority of alternatives in Chaweng Beach are simple dreadful venues with awful food, kind of coastal england circa 1977.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FedeMTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super cheap but still good”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went on a saturday night at around 6.30pm and got one of the last tables left for 2. It got extremely busy after that, with people just lining up waiting for a table. If its a quite restaurant your after this is not the place. Its extremely casual and very cheap, but still enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant Thai Food, Service and Cheap”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We ate here quite a few times. The food was always brilliant- probably the best thai food we have had in all of Thailand. Particulary good was there pad thai, green curry and papaya salad- would recommend these. All for between 60-80 THB each.
The service was very friendly and really quick. Would go back again if I was is in Chaweng- defintely the best value for money in Chaweng.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wonderful little family-run place with excellent food. Everything we had was delicious- green curry, red curry, spring rolls, fruit shakes, spicy papaya salad, tom kha gai soup. So good and so well-priced we went back a second time. Highly recommended! Look for Chaweng Regent hotel on the main strip and across from it you'll see a green sign pointing the way down the alley to Green Bird.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bird also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Green Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing