We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS & INEXPENSIVE!”
Review of Green Bird

Green Bird
Ranked #16 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS & INEXPENSIVE!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Thai restaurant located in a side market alley off the busy section of Chaweng Beach Road. Don’t be put off by the basic décor …. The Thai food is outstanding and really very inexpensive. Noticed many different nationalities having dinner. We only got in after our 2nd attempt. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 682Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    443
    135
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh yeh!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Great litlle place ,real ,honest and good food. Amazing real thaifood ,nothing fake here ,great prices (actually it seemed too cheap) great fresh papaya salad ,all food is fresh and very tasty don't miss this resturant. If you're having a hard time finding it ,as it is in a small ally ask information desk at chewang street he'll direct you!! A samui must!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank nantam76o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tried this place after reading other trip advisor reviews - what a little gem. You wouldn't normally look at this place twice as is really a cafe and not a restaurant - but food is superb and for 5 dishes and a couple of drinks was no more than £20. Shame we didn't get a chance to go back - was always packed when we walked past.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debymanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best Thai food in Cheweng!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We found this lovely little restaurant/cafe from great reviews on trip advisor, we had been a bit disappointed with the food on Koh Samui up to then. The food was delicious, it was busy and very good value for money, we returned the next night and probably would have gone back if we had found it earlier. He panang curry and Pad Thai were amazing, the staff are lovely and I would recommend this place if you want authentic and tasty Thai food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very, Very casual restaurant with good food!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Green Bird is across the street and down a shopping alley from the Chaweng Regent Beach hotel which was very convenient to us. The staff is very friendly and the food was good. We tried different dishes every night and were not disappointed. We ate here 3 nights in a row because of the tasty food and low prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shorechicknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bird also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Green Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing