We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Don't be put off by the looks... the food is AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bird

Green Bird
Ranked #11 of 178 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the looks... the food is AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ok, granted this restaurant is nothing to look at... HOWEVER... after being recommended by several reviews, we thought we would give it a try.
Amazing, quick service, not the mention THE BEST thai food we have ever had.
Sweet and sour is great, as is the fried rice.
We ordered 8 mains and 4 cokes, it came to a total of $19AUD !!! INSANE! If only we could get food this amazing in Australia, let alone at such a great price.
This is a MUST eat in koh samui!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    340
    93
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great little place for a feed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We got referred to this place by a manager of a pub down the road. He said that if u want genuine cheap and good Thai food go here... He was correct in saying it was good food...
There were 6 of us and the total bill with drinks came to 200 baht per person. Most dishes 50 - 100 baht.. Definitely be back here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morry1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ate at Green Bird more than anywhere else during our recent holiday in Samui. The whole deep fried fish with lemongrass, the rice paper rolls, Chicken Pad Gra Pow were highlights. Green Bird catered for our young kids, who loved the tempura fish with fries and the non-spicy Chicken Pad Gra Pow. The staff are efficient and friendly, and....the beer was extra cold! Love this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ktpinnuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The resturant has reviews from previous customers on the wall, make sure you read it before you order food. Must try - green curry, spring rolls, beef in oyster sauce!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VisheshJayawanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most authentic/genuine Thai in chaweng aside from the street carts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This cafe nestled in to the market area in chaweng was a great find! Very reasonably priced and great tasting food without a touristy feel. So pleased we found it. Definitely visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whirlybird_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bird also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Green Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing