We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is !!!”
Review of Green Bird

Green Bird
Ranked #19 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is what it is !!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have visited Green Bird a few times before and will be going back again in December . Glad we found it as is good ,cheap food. We eat here some nights or afternoon walk away full up with tasty food and paid hardly anything. Then we pay so much more for the resturants on the beach ,the setting, the candles ,the sunsets. At the end of the day that's what you pay for as the food is just as good at the green Bird, you just get plastic and bog roll ah ah !! So go for it you cant go wrong especially if you are on a really tight budget. Don't bother going next door if Green BIrd is busy just wait for table, we made the mistake .

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,025
    419
    129
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A quick eats place. Fine for what it is. Som Tum lacked punch as did the green curry. Chicken with chilli and basil was good and flavourful.At 600 baht for two with drinks I can't really complain

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Its a little tricky initially to find, but kept on coming back to taste the lovely morel of foods. Did I mention the restaurant is painted in a lime green colour and very interesting customer notes planted all over the wall. So my interest factor was already high. The thing that sets this restaurant apart from others is its economical price point, high quality food and very 'clean' non-oily flavours. Could not fault it at all. Word of warning do not try to lean back on the plastic chairs, as you may discover yourself breaking the darn thing and lying on the floor...just saying. Oh yeah and free wi-fi access too, bonus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexPapadimitriou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No rumble snacks....but...”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Kickass meal. Ok, so yes, it's got plastic garden chairs, a wipe-clean tablecloth, and I'm 99% sure the serviette wasn't so much starched linen as it was a stylishly disguised loo roll, however, the food is superb. Satay was delicate and lightly flavoured, with a punchy peanut sauce. Spring rolls could not have been fresher. The beef mussoman was spicier than expected but very good, and the pork paenang (?) was superb. Very clean flavours of Thai sweet basil, lemongrass and coconut, but light and intense at the same time.

Great service. Insanely cheap. Contemplating returning for lunch tomorrow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A slice of pure heavenly Thai cuisine…authenticity at its finest!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was located along a side street off Chaweng Road and we never would have found it if it weren’t for some dumb luck. Wow, this place did not disappoint! Thai food is by far my favorite asian cuisine and is in my top 5 cuisines from around the world. I simply cannot get enough of the spice ! Anyway, the Green Bird was tiny, open air, and served ice cold beers & white wine in champagne flutes- LOL. The service was excellent, quick, and the food lived up to the hype. At the end of the meal, we were presented with a piece of paper and a pen to sign our names for the wall of fame- love the authenticity!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intlnabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bird also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Green Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing