We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a great hotel, location is good and just a little further down from all the hustle and bustle but a nice walk.
Rooms are nice and clean, bed is huge and comfortable. Has all you need. Tea/coffee and milk sachets, hair dryer and safe.
Staff are welcoming and friendly and breakfast is a buffet that offers all you need.
Just something that annoys me at any hotel that offers outdoor breakfast is that it would be great to have a non smoking area as being from Australia and a non smoker there is nothing more annoying than suckingup someone's smoke with my muesli. Not the hotels fault though, I'm just saying.
Not on the beach but a short 5 min stroll through a vacant block and your there, beautiful beach too, no rocks etc.
I would stay here again and would be happy to recommend it

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ducati748af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Bertie 748

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel.It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

Regarding to your advise about the smoking area, I would like to inform you that usually outside area is the area for the smoker however, I will note down and ensure that all staff will try their best to separate the outside area for the non-smoker.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 648 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed 9 Nights in the hotel including breakfast . After 5 nights in another hotel in Chaweng, it was nice to get to Mercure where I could get a softer bed ! The hotel is located at the southern end of the Chaweng Beach street, so it gives you a nice walk from the southern area up to the central area around the Chaweng walking street and further up to the Green mango and Ark bar area. As the hotel is located on the south side, you are outside the main bars area, which is nice. The hotel has a small pool, where it is good to have a swim after a day on the beach. The beach is just 300 meter from the hotel , and it is easy too find a place also. The breakfast was actually varied every day, and you could even order an omelette from the chef on the terrasse. The room was OK , and you got 2 bottles of free water in the room every day. There was a several language channels including French, German, BBC, and even a Macau channel which showed a lot of old films.
I found a great place for Thai Food - Ninja Crepes- opposite hotel Buri Rasa 6-8 minuttes walk north, where I paid between 80-180 bath for a main course. Go and try it out !
The beach is around 4km and and if you like running , it is best to do that between 1630-1700 as then the water is at the lowest. It's dark around 1830.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I didn't have any problems to sort out. It was nice too meet the staff who spoke very good English and I would like to mention Jum in the reception and Neung in the breakfast room, as two good examples of outstanding serviceminded individuals ! Thanks for all the smiles and your service !

I give the hotel an excellent rating, despite for not having a beach location. I can not find any fault , so why should I not give them the best grade ?!!

I will back to Mercure next time !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0rwegianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear N0rwegianTravellers

We would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Samui Chaweng as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Thailand and for taking the time to write this review. Also, we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel facilities and service.

Your comments regarding to our staff service have been shared with the team especially to Jum and Neung and made they very proud and encouraging us to strive for every day. We hope to welcome you back when your travel return to Samui again.

Looking forward to have a chance to welcome you again for your next visit in Samui

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hotel is extremely well priced and rooms are fine. King size bed is huge. Bathroom is good too. Well located walking distance to shopping areas and night market on Southern end of Chaweng. Beach accessibility is also very close by. Only ate breakfast at the hotel which was good. Pool area is fine too. Only negative thing to say is that hotel staff seemingly do nothing about drunk and disruptive residents returning after midnight and then having a loud pool party! Unfortunately this is a problem I've encountered at a number of Accor properties over the years and may be a result of discounted prices attracting revellers who have little to no regard for others.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Mr. Derek

Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We appreciate your feedback and noted that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Moreover, it is very nice to know you are satisfied with our hotel facilities and our hotel location was very convenient for you.

We are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the other guests. We sincerely apologize for the convenience caused during your time with us. However, normally at our property, we had allocated night shift staffs to walk around and ensure that there is no noise disturbed the resident but this accident still occurred. Mr. Derek, we are grateful for your important remark which can help us to rectify our service improvement and prevent not to reoccur to the other guests.

Thank you once again for choosing us to be at your service. We profoundly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Sincerely Yours,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week from 5th January. Staff were helpful when we needed anything. We had friends in a bigger resort so didn't use the pool and only made breakfast once, fried egg on toast it was nice. The only thing we found with the room was that there was no balcony or outside area so our wet clothes smelt of damp after a day at the pool, there are balcony rooms though so make sure you get one and you will be fine. Location is ok it is right at the end of the main strip and the bars are all towards the other end so we walked to them and got one of the trucks back at night for 50 baht each. I would stay agin if I went to Samui.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Claire

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you like the hotel location, had comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel.It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Samui again

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Henrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very pleasant stay at this hotel. Very good location in Chaweng beach. Five minutes walking from the sand. Staff very kindly and helpful. We d like to thanks the breakfast staff:
Their smile every morning made our staying more pleasant. Specially the young lady called Niung. We recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms at the main building.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Ms. Isabel

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel,especially the friendliness of our staff, Neung. Your comments have been shared with the team and made her very proud and encouraging us to strive for every day.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Thailand.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 103 in Chaweng
621 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
743 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $56 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing