We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Visit, Glad I Came Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Third Visit, Glad I Came Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is my third review of this hotel and I'm sure there will be a fourth upon my next trip to Samui.

From the moment I checked in I felt welcomed, it was an absolute delight to see the smiles of Jum & Joey at reception and Yut at the front of the hotel. Jum & Joey are two of the most friendly and professional staff at this hotel and both should be very proud of the work they do, they make me want to return again & again. Throughout my visit they take the time to chat and enquire not only about my day but my well being as they knew I had not been well for some days.

The hotel would appear to be making some efforts to change things slightly, there is now an egg cooking stand for breakfast outside whereas before it was behind closed doors in the kitchen. At around 220 baht the breakfast buffet is a now more economical than previous visits and what it may slightly lack in variety on a day to day basis, it makes up for in value.

The ladies who work tirelessly all days cleaning rooms do a great job, always with a smile even at the end of a long day. The beds are pretty comfy for Thai standards, some family members spent 1 night here at the same time and they raved about the comfort level compared to other similarily priced hotels in Thailand.

Wifi works fine for email and badic web browsing. iphone seemed to struggle keeping connected but my Samsung tablet had no problems so I think any connection issues may be device related.

Air conditioning in the room was fabulous, sometimes so good I had to turn it off as it was too cool.

There's a laundry service right across the road from the hotel, a family mart at the end of the street and a couple of 7/11's around the corner as well as some typical cheap eats within a few minutes walk. Timmys tailor shop is just a few doors down and a great thai massage a little further along.

I've never hesitated to recommend this hotel before and continue to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Matt

Thank you for your patronage to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. It is our pleasure to hear that this time is your third visited to the hotel and lovely to come back.

we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel facilities and service.It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day. The comment to the staff friendliness especially to Jum, Joey and Yut have been shared and all of them made us very proud.

Regarding to the breakfast varieties is well noted. As we are working on it and gradually change to meet with the various mix of clients in the hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Samui again.


Sincerely Yours,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    293
    74
    7
    5
See reviews for
76
272
60
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 26.11 to 08.12.
Hotel is situated in the center of all life at Chaweng. sometimes it's too noisy there. Some sounds from the street and near hotel comes thtough the windows into the room, but it doesn't bother much.
Breakfasts were not various but were enough.

We liked this hotel because:
1. Nice and responsive ladies at reception. Always were ready to help us.
2. Very good staff at breakfast.
3. Good lifts
4. Very good condition
5. Clean and tidy rooms
6. Good free Wifi internet (not very fast, but it's OK for reading email and news)
7. Nice small pool

We found only one serious problem: hotel doesn't have own beach and way to the beach is not comfortable, the road was bad.

The best value for money hotel!

Room Tip: All good rooms are situated far from the street, because this street is really noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

It is at the corner of the busy Chaweng stretch. Rooms are new and clean. Wifi is good. The Thai restaurant is a bit pricey but well worth it as the Thai food there is truly authentic and very delicious. Japanese restaurant serves bento at price range of THB300. Good value.
I had a group of 16 with 8 rooms booked. The receptionists had no problem sorting out and getting all of us on the same floor.
Beach is just behind the main street. Massage parlors are plentiful nearby with pricing of THB200 (USD7) per hour of Thai massage.
Convenient store (7-11) is just a stone throw away.
Getting around on a tuk-tuk (taxi like van with open seats behind) is THB50 per person. If you have a big group with you, get a private van and travel on your own. 10 people + driver (total 11 people) can fit into the private van. They charge THB400 per hour, minimum 4 hours. The price of around the Koh Samui island tour is THB1700 per person and you can get this from the travel kiosk right opposite of the hotel but it would be cheaper if you get the private van to bring you around. You also get more freedom this way. I got the van for THB300 per hour and paid THB2700 for 9 hours around the island plus shopping at Tesco Lotus.

Room Tip: During Loy Krathong, I can watch fireworks from room 415 but not from 409 which faces the building b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jentmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Ms. Jentmy

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you like the hotel location, had comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel.It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Samui again

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is situated close to the beach and there are plenty if bars and restaurants around. My only complaint is that the wi-fi is really slow. I did complain and was told I could upgrade for 180 bahts a day to their high speed wi-fi. Whilst this is not an expensive hotel, it is not cheap and good wi-fi should be the norm. So come on Mercure improve your free wi-fi

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Steve

We would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Samui Chaweng as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Thailand and to write this review.

We are so happy to hear that you appreciate our hotel location, and your stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. However, we are grateful for your kind suggestion to us and we will certainly take your good notes to ascertain the areas you mentioned for our service improvement.

Looking forward to welcome you back again to Samui in the near future.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Property: Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing