We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accor you could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accor you could do better”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, tranquil design and close to the beach if your on a budget. Having said that if your not chasing points there are many similar places that are similar but cheaper.
I urge you to insist that your room is not placed adjacent to the main road if you want to sleep.
If traveling alone this property is fine and you will be happy. If you are a couple or a family, spend a little extra and stay on the beach away from the traffic. Believe me on this one.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dgm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are very sorry to hear that sound from outside had disturbed you at the night time. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience that was created. Thank you for your important remarks which are very helpful for us to rectify our product. Now we are working on it with the interior design team to remedy the re occurrence.

We do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Sincerely Yours,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    301
    77
    7
    5
See reviews for
77
280
66
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My GF (both in early 30's) and I stayed at the Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel during our south east asia trip in December 2012, specifically from the 18th to 27th. Our plan was not to be locked down in one hotel or place in Koh Samui - We were thinking of staying a couple of nights in Koh Phagnan (Full Moon/Half Moon) in our initial thoughts. Therefore the Koh Samui/Koh Phagnan was a 10 day stop as we noticed/read that some hotels have minimum number of nights you have to stay (i.e. 7, 10 etc.). Knowing this, we started looking in August/September to book for December.

If your reading this now (i.e. September) start booking now. As we realized hotels get booked early - If you don't book now - you will eventually find a place - But expect to pay. You'll also get the best prices now.

We came by the Mercure in our searches and based on some of the reviews on the "beach front" hotels - unless you were willing to stay in the same hotel for 7-10 days and book well in advance - you were going to pay a good some for not so decent "beach front" hotel - This was true for most hotels that we saw. They really didn't have amazing "beach fronts". The Mercure didnt have any length of stay restrictions during December (high season). The price online when booking in September was around $45 USD - read reviews and saw some pics - looked worth it for that price - this included breakfast. So we decided to book for 2 nights thinking it we were going to go to stay on Koh Phagnan or move to another part of Koh Samui. - Well that didnt happen. After staying the first two nights and knowing that this was by far the best hotel we had in our 4 week journey - we decided to stay the remaining 7 nights - And we paid for that decision - Because we made our decision while at the Mercure - we ended up paying $105 USD a night - compared to our original $45. Luckily for us the hotel did have "Rooms" - We have to switch once - available for us to stay in. Remember this was December - peak high tourist season in Koh Samui.

LOCATION:
Its was hard for our airport taxi driver to find the hotel - They didnt know the name of the hotel. I believe when we went the hotel had recently changed names/owners (i.e. Mercure) now owns it - so it was hard for the driver to find it, however, at the end they did - we did have print outs of the address (in THAI) and a google map screen shot on our iPad to show him. Eventually he did find the hotel - Suggestion - Tell your driver to take you to FUJI Restaurant - It is attached to the hotel - They will know where it is.

The hotel is NOT on the beach - but across the street - You will have to go through another hotels grounds to access the beach - that was the downside of the location. The beach however is not as busy in this area.

The hotel is also a good 10 -15 minute walk south from where the "action" of Chaweng is - however, this walk is good as you see the local vendors/restaurants etc. The tuk tuk ride to the hotel from Chaweng for two should be about 100 Bhat.

You can rent scooters right across the hotel for 20 Bhat a day, however, know how to ride one prior to doing so. We saw many many many people with scooter injuries - too many to be honest. So make sure you know how to ride one in a dense, hilly, uneven road environment before considering renting one.

ROOM:
The rooms were simply amazing! Very comfortable beds - the decor is modern wooden aspects
Nice flat screen mounted on the wall with numerous channels
Bathroom/Shower - Full stand up rain shower with warm water all day long - Very clean bathroom with small tiles and painted concrete all around - very nicely done
Beds - Very comfortable beds - no issues at all - Both king and double beds were very nice
A/C - a must in Koh Samui in December - cool and always working
Storage - has a nice sized closet and a nice size set of drawers
Safe - Has a safe - standard - but good

SERVICE:
The service was EXCELLENT! I dont recall his name, but a young gentleman that worked in the front during the late night shift - tall - very nice and helpful - Always provided us with the inside details of what to look for, where to eat/shop, what to watch out for, what are the local prices/costs (for transportation etc.) - Not ever forcing, but making great suggestions.

During one night when we had to wait for our transport for the Full Moon party - When going to full moon or half moon from Koh Samui - you purchase transportation from Koh Samui to Koh Phagnan - This includes: pick up from hotel, boat ride across and back and drop off to hotel. They tell you to be ready at a certain time and they will come pick you up from hotel - if you miss the time, they leave as they cannot miss the boat - We arrived 10-15 minutes in the lobby of the hotel to ensure we didnt miss the transport. After 20 minutes passed the time they stated - he was re-assuring us that the transport individuals would arrive and pick us up - he called them and spoke to them in thai and ensured that they find the hotel and pick us up for our transport.

Also with our last minute decision to stay in Mercure the friendly front desk staff made arrangements to ensure that we were not inconvenienced too much while they were making our arrangements.

POOL:
Cool and simply amazing - take a dip when its really hot - well worth it

BREAKFAST:
Amazing - Very good quality products. They have a huge selection of breakfast options (veggie/non veg) - fresh omelets etc. very good. You can even sit out in the patio area - get there early however, as there are only a couple of tables

As mentioned above - we saw the beach front hotels from the beach and their grounds as that's the only way to access the beach from the Mercure. Unless you plan on staying at "The Library Hotel" - then in our humble opinion - the other "beach front" hotels are now where close to what you will get in the Caribbean, Mexico etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muggzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Everything was just perfect at this hotel. To bad that I just got to stay there one night! The service was very good (the best I have had during three weeks and many hotels) and there was no problem to cancel one night when I had to go earlier with my flight to BKK. I would certainly recommend this hotel. I stayed at 310, third floor and it was very good, just as the photos shows. The thing that got me the most was the kindness and happy faces on all of the staff. The hotel is very clean and it's like a small oasis in the hectic chaweng. The pool is just fine, nice to get away a bit and just relax. I have stayed at many hotels on chaweng, and this is the best in this price class. Tried a hotel for the same money on the beach, but it was dirty and I think that it is so much more worth to stay 100 m from the beach on a clean and superb hotel, rather than on the beach at a dirty and worn down hotel. Since its not in the centre of chaweng you need to go up a bit on the street during the evening, but that's good cause you can sleep better without all noise that comes with living in the centre. Just rent a motorbike for 250 thb/day and go around. This is really a boutique hotel, as it has a special vibe over it, I like the design. Many thanks to the receptionists Tum, Kiko and Jum for making my stay perfect! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heleijna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Heleijna

Thank you for taking your time to write the comment during your stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana

We appreciate your feedback and pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Moreover, it is very nice to know you are satisfied with our hotel design, location ,facilities and especially staff friendliness as it is what we strive for every day.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Samui


Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I loved this hotel. very clean every where, some parts of the hotel which were even open to the public were spotless, not even a few grains of sand would stick to your feet as you walked bare foot everywhere! No bugs, No dirt! The staff were very very helpful and very nice, so professional without being annoying! I have nothing but great things to say about the hotel. Food great, Price is reasonable. Staff fantastic! Beds are so comfortable! Showers are powerful. Rooms are spacey! LOVED IT THANK YOU SOOO MUCH!

Room Tip: Email before you get there is you want some thing special, like we wanted to keep the same rooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Khun Jay

We would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Samui Chaweng as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Samui and for taking the time to write this review. Also, we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel service.

Your comments have been shared with the team and made the very proud and encouraging us to strive for every day. We hope to welcome you back when your travel return to Samui again.


Sincerely,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in August 2013 and we were thrilled with this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, quiet and relaxing. We spent many days reading by the beautiful pool on the sunbeds, with the staff serving food and drinks by the pool.

I must dispute one of the below reviews regarding the 'bugs' in the hotel. The only place I saw any bugs was the toilet in the main foyer, where there were a few mozzies. But this wasn't just specific to the Mercure - the mozzies are everywhere in Koh Samui!! I actually think the hotel does a magnificent job in keeping the bugs OUT! I would highly recommend getting some strong bug-spray for your holiday in Koh Samui - if you're anything like me, the mozzies will eat you alive! I bought a 55% strength spray, and it was perfect.

We loved the breakfast - lots of choice, from cereal and toast, to fresh omelettes, to asian-style noodles and fresh salads and fruit.

We also loved the location - the hotel is on the main street of Chaweng, but just far enough away from the action to be really relaxing. There's a fantastic Indian restaurant about 400 metres down the road (turn left on the main street), i think it's called "New Indian" or something like that. Really worth checking out.

We would most defintely stay here again! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Ms. Clare

We would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Samui Chaweng as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Thailand and for taking the time to write this review. Also, we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel service.

Your comments have been shared with the team and made the very proud and encouraging us to keep the standard of service. We hope to welcome you back when your travel return to Samui again.


Sincerely,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having stayed here for 6 nights in September, could only wished I'd booked for longer. I booked this hotel based on the previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. The moment I arrived I was greeted with the warmest of smiles and a speedy check in. The room itself is quite spacious and decorated with a warm contemporary design, kitted with a small walk-in dressing area with safe. Shower always had hot water and good water pressure. AC chilled the room well, Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again as it's away frm all the noise and for the amazingly friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Tip: If you want to sunbathe on the beach just turn right on main road then then a left at Chaweng Cabana, there's a friendly guy there to serve you drinks, no charge to use the sunbeds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Henry

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Samui

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Property: Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing