We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Oasis in Chaweng"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"Oasis in Chaweng"”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having stayed here for 6 nights in September, could only wished I'd booked for longer. I booked this hotel based on the previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. The moment I arrived I was greeted with the warmest of smiles and a speedy check in. The room itself is quite spacious and decorated with a warm contemporary design, kitted with a small walk-in dressing area with safe. Shower always had hot water and good water pressure. AC chilled the room well, Overall I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again as it's away frm all the noise and for the amazingly friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Tip: If you want to sunbathe on the beach just turn right on main road then then a left at Chaweng Cabana, there's a friendly guy there to serve you drinks, no charge to use the sunbeds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Henry

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Samui

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    305
    78
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
285
67
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room size was decent. Did not include breakfast. Beds were ok. For the prices on this island, it is considered cheap.

However, at night, despite being windowless, there were many little bugs flying everywhere. It was disgusting. Despite complaining to the hotel, this was not taken care of.

The hotel breakfast definitely NOT RECOMMENDED. It was horrible. Horribly cooked.

The Japanese restaurant downstairs was good though. Food was authentic.

Overall, I am not sure I will stay here again. The bugs really bothered me. And the cheesy backstreet boys and nsync music playing in the background of the hotel was...rather ...disturbing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank tak528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback during your stay with us.

regarding to your comment about the little bugs, It would be greatful if you could give us more information via email address gm@mercuresamuichaweng.com as It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the needs of our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for some of your less satisfactory experience.

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Sincerely yours,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I think this hotel is a bit of a hidden gem. my partner picked it because we stay at Mercure hotels in Europe quite often and the star-rating lottery of travelling outside Europe can leave you feeling a little short-changed so at least we would know what we were getting. The 3-4 stars that are variously advertised are pretty much spot on. It's a brand new hotel with central air con (so no noisy unsightly air-con unit outside your window), beautiful oasis-like pool and gardens, lovely decor and Thai restaurant (room service only till 9pm though). The rooms and communal areas are spotless throughout and are tended to by an army of security, hospitality and domestic staff. An excellent breakfast runs from 0600 til 1030 so you can easily get some muesli before an 0800 Muay Thai session or get up late, have a Full English and just vegetate! Wifi is free throughout the hotel so bring your iPad, staff are are a credit to the brand and the price is jaw-dropping. Because its not 'on' the beach, came in at only 40 pounds per night for a double room, this represents amazing value and is much appreciated when you are planning a longer multi-centre holiday. You'll find that although it is on the Chaweng road, it's at the quieter end where most establishments are restaurants, hotels and shops so no late-night music thumping. If you really like your peace and quiet ask for one of the 84 rooms set well back from the street and you'll find it deathly quiet!! All in all this is a great little package, brand-spanking-new, in the thick of the action, <=30 seconds walk to shops and eateries (nearest non-hotel restaurant is a Japanese offering called Fiji which is accessed through an internal adjoining door or off Chaweng Road, looks lovely though simply didn't get a chance to try it), 5 mins walk to the public entrance to the beach (actually the beach is just across the road if you decide to use dining or beach facilities provided by one of the beach front resorts), beautifully appointed, clean rooms with large flat screen TVs (bring a HDMI cable for your iPad if you're that way inclined!!), fridge and tea/
coffee making facilities, quiet at night even with air-con on, excellent value, dependable brand, ample moped parking, spotless, a stellar effort.

Room Tip: Specify a room set back from the street for extra peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana and taking your time to write the comment about us.

we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel.It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.

Regards,
Nalinee krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great value hotel, centrally located in the quieter part of Chaweng. Stayed 6 nights and totally enjoyed our stay. Hotel is very clean & comfortable, rooms air conditioned and great value for money. Pool area is lovely and clean, bar staff will happily bring meals and drinks to the pool. Fuji Japanese Restuarant is right next door to the hotel. Shopping, restaurants & massages etc close to the hotel. Best rooms are the ones overlooking the pool. Better to use the hotel car rather than a local taxi especially for the trip to the Airport and the (fixed) fare is charged back to your room. A special thank you to Nar in the Baantana Restaurant for the warm daily welcome and the outstanding service we received and also to Jum in Reception who couldnt do enough to assist us during our stay and always with a beautiful smile. We will certainly return to Mercure Chaweng!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topher52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam

We would like to thank you for choosing Mercure Samui Chaweng as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Thailand and for taking the time to write this review. Also, we are delighted to read that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed our hotel service.

Your comments have been shared with the team and made the very proud and encouraging us to strive for every day. We hope to welcome you back when your travel return to Samui again.


Sincerely,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure in Chaweng for 2 nights and found the experience pleasurable. The hotel is clean, the staff attentive and polite, central location and nightly rates are very low, making this one of the better bets in Chaweng for those not seeking to splurge it on a resort. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo_Segalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Segalla

Thank you for your feedback following you recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are delighted to read your review and learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

Looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Thailand.

Regards,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and loved the hotel. Large room with a king bed. The room is very clean and the bathroom particularly beautiful and large.
We loved the hotel restaurant and bar.
You can walk to all the good restaurants.
Unfortunately, there was no beach when we were there, as there was too much wind, but we were so tired after traveling for 2 weeks, that we enjoyed the pool, which was, very beautiful.
Definately would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claumax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear sir,

We are so happy to hear that you appreciate our hotel design, and your stay was very enjoyable.

At Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, we strive to deliver the best and to make sure our guest feels welcome during their stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Samui for your next trip.

Sincerely,
Nalinee Krisadavivat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,818 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Property: Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing