We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Spirit House Restaurant - CLOSED

Spirit House Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Spirit House Village is presently closed for renovations and will re-open in July. We apologise for any inconvenience to customers.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a pre wedding dinner their for our family and friends and it was a lovely atmosphere and great food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 576 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Spirit House was recommended by the staff at the Mercure Chaweng Tana. It is just off what must be the busiest street on the island and truly I'd walked past it twice everyday!
Dinner is from 1800h and if your going to Samui look at the website!! It was just so good!! I'd highly recommend it and at the end of the day it cost a bit more but the quality was there!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We found this place via trip advisor based on the reviews and were pretty disappointed. The food was ok but nothing spectacular. It was probably my least favourite place of the holiday. Service was ok.
The restaurant was not very full either which we were surprised by due to the reviews.

Average and we probably wouldn't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 834HennieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very bad service! This is a very first time in Thaimland , the waitress should probably change job!
The portion were ridiculusly small, an,d tastless; all the dishes had the same presentation, (decorated carrot and cabbage) tourist trap!! it is a shame as the restaurant is nicely located and you feel you are in the jungle, too bad!!! avoid!!

Thank SinedVincennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spirithouse_12, Owner at Spirit House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

I sincerely apologize for your disappointing dining experience at Spirit House.I can assure this is not the standards that we are known for and we are are fully aware of the areas that need substantial improvement to bring Spirit House back to its high standard.
Unfortunately in high season it is very difficult to source good experienced staff and we presently have a severe shortage of staff in all areas and thus increased pressure on staff and low morale.
We are endeavoring to rectify this as quickly as possible and I am genuinely sorry you did not experience the real Spirit House.

Spirit House owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We pre booked our visit here a month or so before our holiday and were rather looking forward to it based on the reviews and the photos.

Upon arriving we were very impressed with the look of the building, it was beautiful.
We were promptly sat down, given the menus and placed our order.

SERVICE
From this point the service was awful. It was almost impossible to get a drink and at no point did the staff ask us if everything was okay with the food or if we would like another drink. I found this very poor seeing as even the back street cafés we visited in bangkok etc were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive, yet it appears that if you pay 20 times the cost to come here, the service diminishes to nothing.

FOOD
The food was average at best. The starters we had we very nice, satay was good and so was the soup, which was full of flavour. The main course however was extremely bland.

OVERALL
Despite the nice settings I would not recommend this place, it is let down by Terrible service and average food. Such a shame

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spirithouse_12, Owner at Spirit House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

I sincerely apologize for your disappointing dinner and evening.
As can be seen by earlier reviews this is not our normal standard ,in fact we have won a number of awards.
Unfortunately we are going through a difficult period due to a lack of staff in all areas and this has led to increased pressure on staff and low morale.
Whilst this is not your problem, it is the reason, and we are looking to rectify this as soon as possible and return to our normal high standards in all areas.
Again, I am sorry you did not experience the real Spirit House.

Spirit House owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit House Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing