We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal......again”
Review of Spirit House Restaurant - CLOSED

Spirit House Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Spirit House Village is presently closed for renovations and will re-open in July. We apologise for any inconvenience to customers.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great meal......again”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We ate at the Spirit House 2 years ago while on holiday, and decided to visit it again as we had so enjoyed our meal on our previous holiday.
The restaurant is situated in the most beautiful building with views into the garden. Staff are so friendly and welcoming and the food was amazing!
We had betal leaves as a starter, followed by the roasted duck curry. The flavours and spices were great, service excellent and the owner came to each table to make sure everyone was happy. My husband had dessert- flambe bananas which they lit at the table! Just a lovely experience and we will be sure to visit this restaurant again on our next trip to Thailand!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    142
    60
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing meal”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The atmosphere was fantastic! food incredible, and the wine even better... quite expensive but worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Biffy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and good (but not quite great) food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a high end, white table cloth type place. We had dinner here and enjoyed it very much, although it wasn't quite perfect.

What we liked...or actually loved: the setting was charming and beautiful, the building is made of brick and wood, like a big village house. We were seated on the upper floor, in a sort of wooden roofed balcony structure where there were about 6 small tables (the main restaurant inside is larger). It overlooks a walled garden with pond, flowers and trees, rushing water, soft lighting, soft music. It was just a phenomenally pretty setting. The service was excellent, with waitresses in traditional period costumes, lots of attention and advice (in quite passable english) etc.

What we weren't as impressed with was the food - as much as we wanted to be. It wasn't haute cuisine, nor was it noveau/fusion, nor was it that usual explosion of flavours that traditional Thai is known for. Which isn't to say that it wasn't good - it was, but each dish lacked something either on the flavour or inventiveness or presentation aspect.

So to sum up, the setting is amazing and it is worth going to dinner just for that reason alone (reservations recommended), the service is great, and the food is ok to good. If they improve on the food a bit, it can become very good.

Which leaves the question of value. By international standards our meal was not expensive at about £35 for 2, but compared to the cost of thai dishes at local restos, it was several times more. So if you are not on a tight budget, this will make for a great romantic dinner, but the foodies can probably pass for the time being.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean-ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outrageous crazy good”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

By far the most spectacular food I've eaten in Asia. Fresh, spicy just perfect the ambiance
Of this place stunning- it's in an old temple site,waterfall, soft lighting. Staff aI very attentive
No need to wave them down the owner Steve is charming couldn't be more helpful. Will take any recommendation he give. Hell even tell you how the Thai eat. Will be there again soon, second night Ina row....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanlowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevio Verona
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“particular”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I preferred the seefood menu. Good thai cuisine in a old temple, away from the bustle of downtown Cheweng, but near

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gianluca68marzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit House Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing