We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Chawengs best”
Review of Duomo

Duomo
Ranked #2 of 183 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of Chawengs best”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate at Duomo twice during our stay in Chaweng. Both times the food and service were fantastic. The staff were very welcoming and attentive, we found the pizza's and salads delicious, and the house wine good value. There are many places to eat in Chaweng some good and some not so good but Duomo is up there with the best and definitely deserves it's TA rating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redandwhitearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannizangari, Owner at Duomo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Redanwhitearmy
I'm very glad to read yor feedback,considering Duomo one the best restaurant in chaweng beach.
Thank you very much for to visit us and spend the time for sharing your opinion in T.A
Best regards

Vincenzo Zangari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    350
    86
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good little Italian. Stick to Pizza and Pasta”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came twice. It's a cute place - very similar in look and feel to many places in Italy. The staff are fantastic and try very hard to get things correct. The second time we ordered pizzas and they were fantastic- original ingredients and cooked Italian home style - thin crust and yummy. The first time was a disappointment - we ordered the veal "Milanese" - essentially Shnitzel and we came up with a new rule - "never order a German dish in an Italian Restaurant!" The veal was over cooked - so chewy and dry we could barely stomach it - think a piece of shoe leather with some breadcrumbs and you have a good picture! My wife had two bites and left it and I had three - and I can eat almost anything but not this. Luckily we had filled up on very good starters and stopped at Haagen Daze for dessert. Great for our diet and looking good at the beach!

My wife thought the house wine was very flat so avoid.

Several people ordered calamari and/or frito misto which they seemed to enjoy - the portions looked very generous.

I recommend sticking to the pizzas and pastas and perhaps the seafood if our veal is an indication of how they treat the "carne!" Certainly worth visiting if in Koh Samui and you need a bite of something Italian and traditional.

Helpful?
Thank RT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannizangari, Owner at Duomo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Rt
I'm glad to hear that you came for a dinner two time in my restaurant,sorry about your veal Milanese,we use to serve this dish very thin and crispy.
I'm happy that my staff were great ,and the pizza very nice,thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again.
Kind regards

Vincenzo Zangari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An average Italian”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I do not think that this restaurant rates it's current position on the Chaweng TA ratings.

I should add that the night that we went into this restaurant their air con wasn't working and it was hotter inside the restaurant than it was outside in the balmy Chaweng air.

Because of the pizza oven it was almost unbearable and there is no doubt that this has tainted my view of Duomo somewhat, but putting this aside I will just concentrate on the food!

My starter of bruschetta was quite nice. I didn't look as you would expect a bruschetta to look, in that it came on small slices of french stick topped with some wilted oregano but it tasted better than it looked and was actually very tasty.

My wife had a pesto version which was absolutely saturated with green pesto that had to be scraped off before it could be eaten.

I went simple for my main and had a Calzone, which was well cooked and had all the right fillings.

My wife had Salmon Penne which she thought was average. We didn't have a desert as it was sweltering and we needed to get out by then.

All in all if you had our meal in a Prezzo's or an Ask in the UK you would probably be mildly disappointed, but for Chaweng I suppose it was ok, if not a little steep at 1600 THB for the meal as described plus two glasses of wine.

In summary it wouldn't be somewhere that I would look to eat at again, although not terrible it had few redeeming features.

BJ

Helpful?
Thank beejjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannizangari, Owner at Duomo, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear BJ
I'm sorry to hear that your experience in Duomo was not so great,we have 3 air con.inside the restaurant maybe one of them was off,was enough a question to my waitress " why is hot inside" to fix this small problem.Im happy anyway to hear that the bruschetta was very tasty and the calzone well done.i check your bill " Conto"was not 1600 bath but 1300 bath
2 glass red wine 360
1 water. 40
2 bruschetta. 280
1 calzone. 320
1 penne salmon 300.
Tot. 1300 bath.
Best regards

Vincenzo Zangari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great Italian place. I had the tuna steak and my boyfriend the pebersteak. Both very very good - and great house red whine. We had dessert as well, and is also worth a try. Service was great. No complains at all. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannizangari, Owner at Duomo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Patrick
I'm very happy that you are enjoy in my restaurant,thank you for a execcelent review.
Best regards

Vincenzo Zangari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at one of the worst restaurants in chewang the night before, this small Italian restaurant was just what we wanted. Good service, tasty meals and nice wine. The complimentary bread and dips were greatly appreciated and were really yummy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsayRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannizangari, Owner at Duomo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lindsay
Thank you for your feedback,I hope to see you again in Duomo.
Kind regards

Vincenzo Zangari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo also viewed

 

Been to Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing