We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicous Italian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duomo

Duomo
Ranked #4 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicous Italian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We thought we would try this place for a change from Thai food. The setting here is very nice, clean, modern design that felt comfprtable and open. The tuna fish and steak we had there as recommended by the staff there were fantastic, their Tiramisu was also on par with my personal favourite I buy in Italy,

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicko999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    335
    82
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian...Almost just as good as in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a surprise. Last place you would expect to find half decent Italian food would be on an island in Thailand... But Duomo is legit.

Resonable value for money considering European food and they actually have a pretty decent wine list. Myself and my partner shared a bottle of barberra(Italian red) and it was excellent.

Pizza was also very good. Better than we get back home in australia. Staff very polite and well trained. Desert was also excellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJames25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach
1 review
“"I love dining at Duomo in Koh Samui Thailand"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family and I enjoy every meal we have at Duomo! The food is always delicious and the service is excellent! We have tried many other Italian restaurants in Koh Samui over the years, but we are never satisfied with the food or service, like we are with Duomo. It is a wonderful dining experience and I recommend it to everyone I meet and now I would like to recommend it to you too! Jennifer Williams USA

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food in Koh Samui Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Over the past 20 years myself and my family have traveled to Koh Samui Thailand more than 15 times. During our extended stays in Koh Samui some as long as one year we are seldom motivated to eat anything other than Thai food. Having said that we will dine once a week or so on something other than Thai food. We have tried most all the "Farang" food in Samui this is a term for anything other than Thai, and this would include Italian, French, English, Japan, Aussi, German, South African and American food. We have found what we believe to be some of the best Italian food not only in Samui Thailand but in the world. Duomo is the name of the restaurant and it is owned by a very likeable Italian guy by the name of Vincenzo, he comes from Milan. During our years of dining @ Duomo we have found the food to be outstanding and the service to be top notch. Vin has been able to teach his staff of all Thai to duplicate some of the finest Italian food available. All the required ingredients are available in Samui to prepare an authentic Italian meal being held to the finest standards. My personal favorites are the brochetta, pastas and pizza. Enough about the food there is an additional compliment I must give to Duomo, Vin and his staff and it goes to the service and in particular a lovely Thai girl by the name of Chor, she runs the dining room and is one of the best I have ever seen and she has never been outside of Thailand. The restaurant is easy to find, clean and charming and I must say air conditioned for those steamy Thai nights. I must say if you are lucky enought to spend some time in Samui Thailand and you have had you fill of Thai food give Duomo a try, I do not think you will be dissapointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryjenwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would like to thank you all for the great service and quality food served at your premises.
The staff consistently make you feel welcome and their understanding of italian food is exceptional.
We have been to many of the other italian restaurants on the island over the last 2 years,however DUOMO definitely stands above the the rest.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickolas o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo also viewed

 

Been to Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing