We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My Fiance and I recently stayed four nights at this hotel in February 2013, and at first glance you think this place is a nice modern hotel.

Upon exiting the elevator we got off to a carpeted hallway which looked like many battles and druken nights had been spent in the hallways.

Stains, hair and general uncleanliness were apparently visible. We entered our room to find the same. The hotel itself appeared to either have been recently built or renovated and had all the potential to be a great stay, however the general cleanliness left much to be desired.

The bedskirt of our bed appeared to have never been changed and was stained a blacky red with who knows what. The shower curtain and ceiling was covered with black mold. The toilet appeared to have been recently vomited in and remnents were still visible around its base. Hair and dust was all over the nice ceramic floors.

We went downstairs to the front desk to see if our room could be cleaned or if they had another room for us. We were taken to the top floor to see a premium room and found much of the same. The room had all the potential to be nice with modern fixtures throughout, although the general filth through out was terrible.

We decided to stay in our original room and had the cleaning lady reattend. She came by shortly thereafter and proceeded to clean the room with a wet cloth and broom. (no cleaning products, and no chance of a vacuum.) As a result our room remained relatively the same until my fiance desided she'd have to clean the room on her own if it was going to be reasonable. This was definetly the first hotel room I've ever stayed in that was as poorly maintained, with moderate potential.

We rented a scooter and headed to Crystal Bay Beach as the local beach in Chaweng is very loud, busy and dirty. As well from the hotel its about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach, which is ok just wasnt worth it once we saw the general vibe of the beach.

Definetly recommend a taxi ride or scooter to Crystal Bay, which is about a 10-15 scooter ride along the coast.

As for the hotel I'd stay away. Other then the reasonable price of the room, at its current state it wasnt worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this hotel via Miles And More program of lufthansa! I spend over 40000 miles just for 4 nights, equal to a free return flight from europ to mid Africa! So I expected a real 5 star hotel, but that was not the case!
The rooms are quite ok but than again I guess in the class of 1200 but per night but not recalculated the 5000 per night that I paid!
Swimmingpool is small and not many relax chairs! And the included breakfast, they better won't serve any, it's the worst I ever had, even would not pay 20 bht for it! not really close to the beach as well, at least 15 min walk, and 20 min to centre of chaweng!
Positive, rooms are clean and spacious, good aircon and nice and friendly cleaningladies!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammypla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our last 3 nights in Thailand. We wanted clean and modern with air con and a good shower. We got exactly that for a good price too with breakfast included. No free wifi like everywhere else across Thailand. We did not pay their ridiculous prices instead managed to borrow the Irish pubs wifi from next door after visiting to get a magners, luckily we were on the right side of the building to get it on our balcony. Did not eat in the restaurant as we could find cheaper walking to the beach. Breakfast however was pretty good. Fresh fruit every morning with cereals and toast or a cooked breakfast. Although it is not in the centre where everything happens it does have a bit of life down the road more for men if you get me so we did not visit that area. instead took the 10min walk everyday to the beach for lunch and dinner. Cheap cocktails at the nearby night market.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miniaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Strongly disattisfied with the female staff over here! As I requested to switch my single bed room to double bed room. I was told that there is no room. When I about to back to the room, the female staff start to critic me with another female staff! She even dare to ask me go and complain. She's really no manners! I wouldn't come back here for sure! Terrible customer service!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MavisNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

i stayed at fx resort on october 2012 for 4 nights, was actually very pleased with the hotel iself though its kinda far from the center and u have to take a taxi to return at night.
but nothing preperd me to what happend when i got home.
i was charged by the hotel at the day i made the booking thru booking.com on july.
1 month after i got home(november) i saw 2 new charges on my credit card, when i contacted booking.com and the hotel i was told that i gave permission to pay for 2 more groups at the hotel!!
i think i would have remember doing that...
now im trying to cancel those charges thru my credit company but its important foor me to warn you people to STAY AWAY !!! so it wont happen to you too

Room Tip: i recommand to stay away from all rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silentbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I did my research and was surprised, it was better than it looked. Good location, great rooms, comfy beds, fantasic rooftop pool. Brekky was a bit average after the fourth day but plenty of it. Cannot say enough good things about the staff too. Exceptional value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All good, could see no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

never write reviews on hotels but this one has been brilliant! the hotel staff are amazing. me and my partner were travelling around thailand and our last point of call was koh samui. Hotel rooms were everything we expected and the staff couldnt do enough for us. the reason im writing this review is because of one incident in particular. I lost my phone in the taxi on the way to the airport to catch our return flight back to the uk, not only did the luggage claim people ring koh samui airport to see if id left it there, they also rang the hotel, when they said they hadn't found it, the hotel then rang the taxi company without us asking them to do so, the taxi driver found it in the back of the car, to then return it to the hotel and for them to send it back to me!!! They have been brilliant! Hotel is in a very good location and is only 10 minutes from the beach! we would definaly stay here if we returned. Thankyou

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank york1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.3 mi away
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Nora Lakeview Hotel
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#69 of 104 in Chaweng
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
91 reviews
0 mi away
MM House
MM House
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
28 reviews
1 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Diva Avenue Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Diva Avenue Samui

Address: 3/55 Moo-2 Soi Poonsawas, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly D Varee Diva Avenue Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: $21 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D Varee Diva Avenue Samui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui is a well-established resort perfectly suited for a relaxing getaway. Set amidst lush tropical garden in Chaweng area, this stylishly-designed resort is near Koh Samui's hottest spot and entertainment belt. It is situated within 5 minutes' walking distance to the beach and is only 15 minutes drive to Koh Samui International Airport. The resort features 110 spacious guestrooms, fully equipped with all essential in-room amenities to provide most comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Diva Avenue Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fx Resort Chaweng Hotel Bophut
D Varee Diva Avenue Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing