We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good job!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Islander

The Islander
Ranked #29 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Asian, Thai, British, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sports Pub and Restaurant situated in the heart of Chaweng. Open 8am - 2am. Established since 1995
mcfoulg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good job!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great atmosphere. Food portions were large and very tasty. Daughter not feeling well so she had a chip butty! Just like being at home.
Very good value

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcfoulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    193
    57
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Half Roast Chicken!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Half roast chicken which is served daily is fantastic. Big portions of food. The apple crumble and custard is also great. I have eaten here a few times. The service is ok and the bar isn't my sort of scene, but the food never disappoints.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great place to watch the AFL or any sport when you are not at home. The staff are always keen to please.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, good drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We had never heare about the place, but went inside since it was packed. The waiter spoke poor english, and got the order wrong. The pork chop was overcooked and the french fries were undercooked. The cocktails were great, and the place had a nice atmosphere. Prices were reasonable. We will not be going back.

Helpful?
Thank René A. L. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't say I would go back again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I thought we'd stop in at this popular spot for a drink and a bite to eat after walking down to the end of of Chaweng and back to our hotel The Chaweng Regent. We decided to order western food as we wanted to enjoy Thai food in the evening.

I ordered the potato wedges as a snack as I had already had a banana crepe down the street at the stall which claims to have the best crepes in Samui ( and did taste amazing by the way) and my other half asked for the cheese burger special accompanied by a pint of Chang and a 99thb Sex on the Beach for me.

The burger never arrived - the waitress told us she never took an order for a burger. My potato wedges were undercooked and disappointing. Compared to the service and ambience we had received at Tumzaab restaurant the night before, the food and service at The Islander was terrible. They didn't care nor did they really want to be there looking after their patrons. It was almost as though they didn't need to talk to passers by or patrons because their trip advisor rating gets people in their doors anyway.

Really disappointing and we would not return!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Islander also viewed

 

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing