We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Ark Bar!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed March 5, 2011

If you love beach parties with good food and drinks then this is the place to be. Me and my best friend stayed End of Dec until Jan 8th in Ark bar 3 and it was the best vacation we had! The lady at front desk is very friendly and helpful. The food at restaurant was really good. Pat the waitress was my favorite ! At night the parties on the beach was the best parties we ever attended. We had the first room right behind the bar on second floor and loved hearing the DJ play the music starting at 2pm. The rooms were very nice and modern. Theonly bad thing that I didnt like was that it seemed that housekeepers were a little on the lazy side. We often came back from the beach around 4pm and ready to shower and the rooms still were not cleaned and had no clean towels. Then when they did clean the floor was not swept and was sandy. IHonestly I dont think they ever changed the sheets :( Overall I still loved the hotel. Plenty of restaurants, massage places, shopping just 2 minute walk away. We have already booked our hotel for next Dec and we are staying for 16 nights. This is not a hotel for a romantic getaway. Its a hotel for people who come on vacation to have fun and have parties on the beach and meet great people.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flygaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysamui, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

Dear Flygaal,

Thank you very much for your review and kind words about Pat, my favourite staff member.
Yes, she is an amazing lady. Always full of life and energy... And her ability to remember names never ceases to amaze me. She will probably remember your names when you come back again later this year.

I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday and your stay at Ark Bar. The points that you made regarding Ark Bar are "spot on" the mark. The location in the centre of Chaweng is perfect for those who want to have an active, action filled holiday mixing with people from all over the world. The beach-side location is perfect for the daytime beach activities, and then when the sun sets the beach "magically" converts to a unique restaurant and "meeting place".

Even though I have been here for 5 years, I still stop and marvel at the daily beach transformation.

There is obviously some work still in front of us when it comes to the standard of house-keeping. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. I assure you that we will do our best to rectify these issues and improve the service to the required standards on your next visit, later this year.

We all look forward to seeing you again this December,
Kindest Regards,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed in February 2011 in newest Ark bar 3 for 12 days. All, in reception, in restaurant etc were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice, clean and modern equiped. Beach is beautiful, location the best. Sure, here are better hotels, but more expensive

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denisgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysamui, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

Dear Flygaal,

Thank you very much for your review and kind words about Pat, my favourite staff member.
Yes, she is an amazing lady. Always full of life and energy... And her ability to remember names never ceases to amaze me. She will probably remember your names when you come back again later this year.

I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday and your stay at Ark Bar. The points that you made regarding Ark Bar are "spot on" the mark. The location in the centre of Chaweng is perfect for those who want to have an active, action filled holiday mixing with people from all over the world. The beach-side location is perfect for the daytime beach activities, and then when the sun sets the beach "magically" converts to a unique restaurant and "meeting place".

Even though I have been here for 5 years, I still stop and marvel at the daily beach transformation.

There is obviously some work still in front of us when it comes to the standard of house-keeping. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. I assure you that we will do our best to rectify these issues and improve the service to the required standards on your next visit, later this year.

We all look forward to seeing you again this December,
Kindest Regards,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

First i didn't realize that there is, in fact, three ark bars. ark bar 1,2,3. Three being the newest. We spent a night in two, which was good because it was a little bit quieter but the rooms are small.
We then stayed three nights in one, the newest of the ark bars. The room was quite large and obviously new. This section is the newest and closest to the all day/night beach party.
If you're in chaweng to party than this is the place to stay. The ark bar goes from laid back day beach party to lounger tables, hookas and fire shows at night.
The location of the ark bars are fantastic, as you step out onto the street and you're right at the doorstep of every restaurant, bar, massage parlour etc.
One main complaint is that you're directly below the flight path of the nearby airport and you have planes practically landing on you every 20 minutes.
The food in the restaurant is quite good, and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysamui, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2011

I would like to thank you for your positive and informative review. Below I will expand a little on what you have already said.

Ark Bar Beach Resort has in fact increased in size from the original single hotel. The 2 new Ark Bar Hotels are conveniently located next to the original building and all 3 have prime Chaweng Beach frontage.
To simplify the new rooms we have simply called them Ark Bar 2 and Ark Bar 3.
Ark Bar number 1 is the original and iconic Ark Bar.
The 2 newest sets of rooms are larger, more modern and have additional room facilities. All 3 are located next to each other and are in the same convenient and central Chaweng area.

Visit any of our two beachfront restaurants, the Original or the "New", and three bars where you can “eat, drink and meet“ under the stars, while lounging on tropical Thai style cushioned benches. Or you may prefer to watch live sport and play a game of pool at the inside bar and dining areas.

The restaurant's offer an extensive menu, such as fresh local barbecued seafood, imported or local steaks, an authentic Australian chicken parmagiana or experience some of the best and tastiest Thai food possible.

On most nights you can listen to DJ’s spinning the latest Uplifting and Funky Vocal House music. Be ready to get some sand between your toes while dancing the night away at the famous Ark Bar “Wednesday Beach Party” and the new “Funky Friday Beach Party”.

Ark Bar does have a lively and at times party atmosphere. We make no apologies for that. Ark Bar is famous for good food, good music, beach party's and a fun-lively atmosphere all located in the heart of Chaweng's night-life and restaurant district. The music is played at moderate levels during the day and until about 10pm when it does get louder. The music stops, without exception, at or prior to 2am.

Ark Bar is certainly not the place you would come to if you wanted a quiet, romantic and secluded getaway. We apologise and feel for sorry for any guest who has wanted a quiet secluded holiday and stayed at Ark Bar without knowing these things. Hence, we get fantastic reviews from regular like minded guests and some bad ones from guests who were unaware of Ark Bar's theme prior to their arrival.

I hope all of you choose your hotel wisely and be careful to do some checking prior to your booking. If you choose to stay at Ark Bar we are certain you will have lively and unique experience.

And, yes you will hear the planes overhead, as you will 200 metres or more in either direction of Ark Bar. Unfortunately that is one of the small prices you have to pay if you want to stay in the centre of Chaweng.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Prior to arriving in Thailand I had confirmed my transfers twice with the hotel. After waiting for half an hour at Koh Samui airport for my transfer I had to telephone the hotel and my arrival appeared to be news to them. It then took another twenty minutes for someone to pick me up. The people who work at reception are unfriendly and unhelpful, as are most of the other staff. The rooms are shabby and smelly and definitely not value for money. The bar plays incredibly loud music starting at about 4pm and continuing until around 2 am making sleep impossible. The music was so loud that the door would vibrate. The location is probably the only redeeming feature of the hotel if you want to be in central Chaweng, however there are definitely better value for money options in the same location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat1987_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

It is a brand new resort with clean and comfortable rooms. They have experienced some glitches due to being new, but they were always helpful. Due to the bar on the beach it can be noisy at night. The breakfast is included to the room! but from a limited menu and becomes monotonous after a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We paid 40000 bath for two Junior suites. The rooms were nothing like suites but rooms below common standard. We moved to another and better hotel letting our children use the "suites".
This should have been a nice place by the beach, but - for our part - it was reduced to a noisy party club of negative value and with no respect for peoples need of sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hangur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The moment we arrived at the resort, we didn't think too much of it until we arrived to our room. Room was great, it's spacious, clean and comfortable.
The location of resort is perfect, it takes less than a minute to get to beach, and it's right in the middle of night life and shopping. I would highly recommend this resort, i thought it was perfect in every kind of way.

Food was great... definitely suggest you have a few drinks at the Ark Bar before going out - Bartenders there are so friendly, they taught us some basic Thai words which was GREAT :-)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taniqua_Sasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#69 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $39 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing