We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! In the heart of chaweng ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend really liked this hotel, the rooms were very clean and really spacious, plus the beach in front was quite nice and was really lively day and night which was fun but still what impressed me was that although the party never really stopped you can't hear a thing from in the rooms,they must be soundproof which was good for us when we went to bed early.
Plus we really liked the restaurant,it never failed us...ark bar made our stay in stay in Samui all that bit better! :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Med95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I travelled here with a group of four others, we had been recommended Ark bar by a friend so our expections were high before we had even arrived! Well it was amazing... There are 3 large pools, one main one with a built in pool bar and dj stand, it is also right on the beach so you get the best of both! There is music played here everyday from 2pm to 2am with a pool party every wednesday and friday night. The beach is great at night as they lay out all the sunbeds flat on the beach with small tables ontop so you can just sit and chill with a cocktail, smoke shisha, listen to the dj perform and watch the waves come in! I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellyw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Went there for food and drink, both were great. Had all the sport on that we wanted to watch. The staff were really friendly. Great atmosphere, scenery, women, nice and cheap, what more could a man want!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Arc Bar is a place 18-30 year olds who are single or perhaps on a binge drinking trip with their partner.. It is right in the middle of all the action... The beach is constantly having loud techno music which is cool.. If that's what you want by day as well as by night... Generally this is the type of age group present at The Arc Bar...

The main issues we came across was very poor customer service we got the feeling that things were run on bare minimums in the rooms. Also they had this bizzare Policy Book that they just loved bring out every time they thought it would make them money point in case they give you a Pool Card which you must bring to the Pool with you otherwise no towel despite having your room key staying in a "Deluxe" room then apon checking out if you don't give them their pool card they will try to charge you 500 th Bhat for it and promptly show you their rule book.. Everything was cash up front.. The Rooms are out dated... The only thing this place has is that it's in the center of all the action.. Asked the question if I would choose to stay at this place again...Not A Chance :(.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Souvertjis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

To be clear... I am rating the bar more than the hotel...

I was recommended by local expats to check out this bar.... it's pretty far from the main road down to the beach... and you pass through all the hotel room verandas... I could see inside the rooms and the people staying there... and looked like a place I would never want to stay with people walking in and out as they please from the street down to the bar on the beach.

Seems very much like a party atmosphere for young people, rather than a nice place to stay.

I was at the bar with friends I met there from about 3pm to 8:30pm one day... so I saw it both in the afternoon and in the evening... the bar was very lively and had a good selection of beers and drinks for decent price. They were very busy so service was a tad slow, but friendly. Great atmosphere for the bar being totally open and right on the beach with all natural wooden furniture.

You can see many, many European and Israeli girls in their bikinis walking around, if that's your thing. Anyway, not a bad place to spend one afternoon drinking with your friends.

Room Tip: If you can find one, ask for a room away from the bar (which would be noisy) and away from the walkw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blandmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

It's our first time in Koh Samui and as we went down to the beach one night we saw these crazy lights and loud music further down the beach. We got super attracted to it, just like flies lol, and went down there.
If I was traveling with my girlfriends or a group of people I would have loved this! Loud mainstream music that you recognize from the clubs back home, many bars and lots of staff, fire show, dancing girls, a dude with a saxophone and sunbeds on the beach where you could sit and chill.

There's something for everyone here, no matter what your partying habits are. You could either sit by the bar and gulp down buckets, dance with your friends or sit on the sunbeds and enjoy the fireshow!

I liked it -- for one night, since I am traveling with my boyfriend this time. We're not on a party vacation but it's nice to have options. You don't have to stay at the Ark Bar Beach Resort, you can just follow the sound and light for one night. It was perfect for us. :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

For all those people moaning about the noise maybe you should have done some research on where you are staying before booking?

Great party's on Wednesday and Friday that has a free BBQ at 4pm. Rooms are standard nothing special.

I recommend booking if your under 30 years old and want a good time!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tajinder2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 185 in Bophut
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#30 of 104 in Chaweng
640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $40 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing