We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier deluxe room is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Premier deluxe room is nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Ark Bar is a huge complex hotel. We stayed in premier deluxe room and it was far away from the bar and the loud music. Room was nice and clean. We didn´t have any ants, bugs or geckos in our room. Beds are comfortable and the air-con was working efficiently. Breakfast is not worth to eat. So I recommend to book the room without breakfast.
Beach in front of Ark Bar is not nice. Very shallow water and a large pile of rocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    515
    271
    104
    114
See reviews for
48
401
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My stay at ARKbar was conflicted. The rooms were big and lovely, the smaller quieter pool was lovely, food was lovely and location was prime!

However all I could think about was how STINGY this hotel was. Literally everything has to be paid for -
I asked for an extra pillow = 50 baht per night!
I asked for an extra butter sachet at breakfast = 60 baht
If you lost your pool towel or didn't return it by 8pm that night = 500 baht
They felt it necessary to go through every item in the room and tell us how much each would be if they were damaged or went missing. I can understand some guests might push the limit but we were 2 couples and I'd hope we didn't come across as trouble makers...

The bar was very pricey, food not as bad.

All this stingy-ness from a man who has not 1 but 4 showy cars parked in the lobby, covered and with a fence and sign saying "please do not touch my toys"

He can afford this but not to give his guests free butter? We just got an all around bad vibe from the place by the end it felt a little prison-campy

Also, if your going for their Wednesday/Friday pool & beach parties - don't bother. The place was fully booked out and yet nobody was partying and the pool closed at 8 - so much for pool party!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilymay_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a great time I had at ark bar.. Staff were amazing, so helpful, couldn't do enough to help and so polite... Room that we stayed in was a premier deluxe, very spacious and the decor was modern design along with a reasonable price.. Party's..... Well this is just amazing, partying all day and all night, free bbq's (great food) live djs with live drums and saxophone... Also the age of folks around was mixed which was nice from families to teenagers to pensioners which made a great atmosphere.. Defo would recommend this place to anyone.. I can't wait to go back.. Saving already.. See you soon ark bar

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boozle1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The resort is situated on the beach, it has few pools, bars/restaurants, close to everything you need - clubs, shops, etc. There are parties in the evening with DJ's on the beach. Good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekalania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Theres no doubt this place is the life of the party in samui. Great people, great music, amazing fire shows. Come night, it's as though all of chaweng accumulates here. I had an amazing few nights with my husband here partying till dawn.
That all being said. The hotel half of ark bar was a massive disappointment. The rooms were tiny, the bathrooms even tinier. One entire wall of the room was made of glass with not thick enough curtains, which meant after partying til the wee hours of the morning, you're woken up to blinding sunlight by 8 am. There was no soap in the bathroom and according to the room help, there was none in the entire hotel. She kept handing me shampoo and conditioner to wash my hands with. Absurd.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonyashamsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed in Ko Samui from 1 October - 15 October 2013.

I went with a friend but stayed elsewhere. We did visit and party at this resort pretty much daily as it is at the centre of everything.

Ark beach parties were on Weds and Friday from 2pm until late. They were great and we had a blast.

The beach had sooo many rocks so couldn't go in very deep and definitely had to be careful as the rocks were huge and sharp. Better beach further down 1-2kms, outside other resorts.

I think you get to see the real depth of a place when things go bad. Unfortunately I got stung by a huge Jelly Fish right outside Ark Bar on the beach and ended up in the hospital. The staff were soo useless and their carefactor was a big fat ZERO. Thankfully, the locals and the massage girls were very lovely and helpful and got me to the hospital. The hospital told me there are heaps of Jelly fish right outside this bar and their Government won't do anything about them.

Because we didn't stay at Ark but wanted to hang out we did pay AUS $10.50 on several occasions to be able to use the pool resort and this cost also included 1 cocktail.

For $10.50 Australian, we also went to the BBQ night event which included a really nice meal.

WIFI was good and staff were overall nice and helpful when it came to ordering, but the food was very average and so overpriced. The drinks were very expensive also compared to everywhere else.

Although we didn't stay at the resort, we made friends with people that were staying and got to see the different rooms available. It's great as a meeting place and for the beach parties but better value for food and accomodation at most of the other places. Very loud music which was fine by us but if you are staying at Ark, you can hear the music, so you won't get much sleep.

Most of the tourists we met were students from either Israel or Saudi Arabia. There weren't many Aussies at this time.

If you just want to relax on the beach lounge, this will never happen, between the music and the locals bombarding you with cheap tricks & gimmicks.

Overall, we had a good time but Ark you should really step up your game as you could be so great.

Room Tip: If you want to get a good night sleep, get a room as far away from the beach as possible.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived they told us they only had two rooms available, there were 6 of us. Although they still charged us for three rooms as we needed fold out beds.
We eventually found out that they did have at least 3 rooms available, when we confronted them about this they tried to charge us again, even though we'd already paid for three rooms.

The staff were very stupid and very rude.

The hotel itself was very clean and in a great location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#72 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing