We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
2 reviews
“Good location but too noisy”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ark bar is in the centre of ko samui, it has a good location, but if u want to go to bed before 2 a.m. it's nearly impossible, cause of the music and the people shouting and making noise. Our room was too near the beach and a zone of construction, so we asked to change room and the receptionist let us to see other rooms, she was polite. Now I think that ark bar is good to enjoy one night but I wouldn't recommend it as a hotel for a stay of 7 nights. The sea is better in the north of chaweng beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisella N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    517
    273
    106
    115
See reviews for
49
403
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Bit of a mixed bag...Location is good, bar and beach area very nice. However I thought the rooms were overpriced for what they were. I paid nearly 1900 baht a night for the base level room. Think they are using their premier name of a party hotspot to justify charging these rates. Reception staff not overly friendly or helpful. Restaurant staff on the other hand very helpful. Food average and overpriced however. I wouldn't stay here again. On top of all this, next door they are building new structures and it is very noisy during the day if you are trying to have an afternoon nap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sum12cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had the best 2 nights here to end my tour round Thailand. Stayed here with 12 of my mates and if you are looking to party in Koh Samui, then this is the place to stay. Absolutely loved the Pool/Beach party on the Friday we arrived. The swim up bar is a fantastic touch to the pool. The rooms are basic but they and clean and comfortable and the staff are polite and very helpful and are never far away when you need something.
If your looking to party then you must stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan88-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

OK not that I have sufficient time to go anywhere else to party in Koh Samui due to short trip. But this place is highly recommended for party people. Better to be there 11pm onwards and get the best spot. The DJ spins great music and there is a fire show.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the ark bar resort for one night as a stop over back to Bangkok and although it was very lively the rooms were spotless and the staff were fantastic. There were different pools available to choose from so you could get away from the loud music if you wished. Perfect location in terms of restaurants and bars and only ten mins from samui airport which was perfect. We had a room away from the bar which I would recommend if you wanted to get an early night. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Ark bar--- what can I say.. I've been coming here for 11 years, and it's evolved, let's say! ... Typically grown into something Western, yet still has great staf and views to die for. The sea is a milky colour at sunset and music is amazing, free BBQ's... Staff are the nicest ever met, so worthe a visit... Immaculate and the owner Mario is a first class chef!!! Get to know Pat, she's great... from Bangkok and speaks excellent English.. GSOH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llcoolkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Best thing about this place is the music, the party atmosphere and the location and Lovely attentive staff! The best way to describe the ark bar resort is...."too easy a place not to leave..." you want to go experience other places but there is something about it which keeps you there! Beds are a tad uncomfortable (too hard) but the rooms are clean. Food and massages are good and reasonably priced! Drinks are strong, and the beats are brilliant! Will definitely be visiting again! (Ark bar is not recommended for families or light sleepers)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viciousb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#71 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing