We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, usual drinking prices for Chaweng”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location, usual drinking prices for Chaweng”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I went to Ark Bar for drinks and food a few times while staying in Chaweng and though it was a really good place to go on a night! It's a lovely location and a really chilled out vibe.

The drinks aren't cheap, but drinks aren't cheap on any of the islands really! It has a great atmosphere and they have dj's playing throughout the day.

There's also free barbecues on certain days, so don't miss that!

The only thing I didn't like was the Thai children coming around selling necklaces and adults trying to get you to pay to play connect four, but you get that everywhere and if you say no thank you and stay firm they will leave you alone. But if you do buy them I wouldn't give any more than 25 baht for one! And give up on the first go at connect four because you will never win them, trust me!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoni772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    531
    281
    108
    118
See reviews for
51
414
111
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel is in a great location in chaweng but that's about it. Loud music every night and construction makes this place a big mess. Expensive drinks and food are another disadvantage. Staff was not flexible with our booking reservation and we paid 2 extra nights which we didn't stay. Would not be returning here

Room Tip: Pick a room far from pool to get some peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3nights in June 2013, the only good thing was the location. It's so close to everything. The hotel was so noisy, from first thing in the morning to the early hours trance music is playing at the pool/restaurant/beach, you cannot escape from it and its so loud. I like to party but this was ridulous, not good when your hungover or just want to sleep on the beach. We were lucky that our room was far enough away that it wasn't too loud when our door was close. As well as the music there is a lot of building work going on so from 8.30am we were woken up and this was right outside our door. This hotel was £35 a night (the most expensive place we stayed and the worst).
The staff came across rude. Also in our room it states that the water was complimentary, when we checked out they charged us for the water, we questioned it and their reply was "it's the tap water that's complimentary" thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANICE21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June.. Hotel rooms were horrible. Toilets and showers in need of replacing and refurbishing. Bathroom door didn't close properly, kept swinging open. Staff walk pass your hotel rooms telling you to shut your door if your air cons on. This hotel is geared around young people and you certainly get treated like one. Crappy doof doof music from 12.00 lunchtime till 2am every night. Not worth $10 per night.... STAY CLEAR...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banglard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited here for lunch and loved the vibe and banging music being played at 2pm so decided to return at night. It was an amazing night with a such a great party atmosphere with so much entertainment - a definite must if you like to party!!

Also they sell cocktails by the bucket (literally) great for sharing with lots of straws... or keep it all to yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Centrally Located property in the busy Chaweng locality for people looking to party in Kohsamui..
Beautiful and huge beachside restaurant ..The party pool is the place to be for the Happening Afternoon ARK Bar beach parties..Only negative side about this place is the so called 'Superior rooms' are smaller than one can imagine.The construction work for hotel expansion is a nuisance but seems to be a temporary thing..If one is looking for peace of mind this is not the place to be with all the drunk people running around and creating havoc in the property ..Overall a very good stay when one is looking to party...Not a place to be in when with family though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you are looking for a place to relax on a nice quiet beach then this is not the place for you, try looking at a hotel further up the beach. With pool parties everyday and beach parties twice a week it is probably the liveliest hotel there. We were checked in for a week here and after 3 days the thumping music from midday to night time got a bit too much and we had to take a break from it in other parts of the island. It is a good clean hotel, very reasonable rates, decent sized rooms, nice pools, excellent staff and right on the beach. If you are looking to have a party all the time you are here and can deal with the music all day with your hangover......this is definitely the center of the action, but for me 2 or 3 days of it was enough I would have stayed else where on the island after that. If you are only in cheweng for 1 or 2 nights and looking for a lively spot, definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the New building and back from the beach if you plan on catching some sleep during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#67 of 186 in Bophut
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing