We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suitable for travellers only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“suitable for travellers only”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This resort is directly on the beach so good location. However, the beach front from the resort is not great. The sea had empty beer bottles and fag butts in it because of the party goers staying there.

We walked further down the beach every day where is was cleaner and the sea was beautiful.

This is a party hotel so don't stay here unless you want to be up all night. The music is a bit monotonous - very very loud in the early hours.

We had a superior room but there was nothing superior about it. The smell of drains in the bathroom was disgusting and the room was tiny. I have stayed in bigger Travelodge rooms.

The reception staff were rude and unhelpful but the restaurant staff were nice.

The photos on the Arb Bar website are not a true reflection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARKbarPR, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Judy G,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for your feedback.
Our Beach Team are constantly endeavouring to keep the beach and waters edge free from refuse left behind or washed up every day during hours of sunlight. From the morning setup, disposing of all rubbish then raking the sand ready for each day. At night this job is a little more difficult to undertake with the number of people enjoying the atmosphere at ARKbar and the low light.
In regards to the drains and bathroom, we are currently renovating all of our Superior Rooms to ensure the comfort of our guests is met.
Feedback such as yours gives us the opportunity to improve our service and guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    531
    280
    108
    118
See reviews for
51
414
111
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really enjoyed Ark Bar and even went back for another night once we had returned from the surrounding islands . The breakfast was good and overall the atmosphere was great. The only problems we experienced was that on two occasions, Tom forgot to wake us up. When we brought this to his attention the first time he apologized. On the second occasion he said that he had no record of put wake up call. The second problem was that during our first 4 day stay, we were not given our 1000 baht deposit back upon check out and I too, forgot to ask for it. When we returned for another night a week later, we asked the cashiers to check on the deposit. They presented me with a signed receipt showing that the money had been given to us. It was however, not my signature on the receipt. I informed reception and they said that they would look on the CCTV camera's. We then went off for the afternoon and upon our return, a new cashier gave us the money after making a call to the cashier who had worked the day shift. They Footage must have shown them that the money was not handed over. It was worrying that someone had fraudulently signed for the money. This is a problem universally though and all that I can suggest is that management keeps an eye on the cashiers and deals with them accordingly. Overall though , we are sad to have had to leave Samui and we will definitely be back, with friends, in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaSwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARKbarPR, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you LunaSwart for your review,
Our Resort General Manager would like to follow this up personally with you directly.
Have messaged you with contact details and look forward to welcoming you back to ARKbar in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My room was great and a welcome change from the hostels i was staying in. Too really take advantage of the location you need to get down to beach and pool bars. It's right in the center of Chaweng beach so your close to everything you could possibly need. Its definitely more touristy and found my stay to be great value for money. The food in the bar is really good and had some of my best breakfasts of my stay there...

Room Tip: Just be aware this is a lively & noisey location in places. Most nights have some sort of part g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryAB, Director of Sales at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear BenjAsh,
All reviews and opinions are important, whether good or bad.
They are after all, one persons opinion, and opinions differ according to many personal factors.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a very positive review of your experience at Ark Bar Beach Resort.
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Bouris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

service is horrendous 45mins to check in.
room was not clean towels all dirty bed unmade was told i should of put room to be made up on my door although only checked in.
charged for items missing that never existed ashtray and bottle opener on check out.
security unfriendly as well as general staff.bar and restaurant are friendly food is good standard and well priced.
stayed in premier deluxe rooms full mosquitos.
my friends phone was stolen hotel deny this and unhelpfull.
2 years we have stayed at this property thought we would give it another chance this year but
was clearly a mistake.
notice a large decline in western tourists due to large amounts of israelis in the hotel overall are rude and unfriendly .there was a group of 3 families the only exception.
location good but better cheaper options if you do your research.my 10 friends who have stayed in coral sea previous ark bar for last 8yrs will never stay there again.

Room Tip: stay at 2 doors down chaweng beach garden quieter and friendlier staff.buy spirits from 7-11 as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danep738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryAB, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear danep738,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Ark Bar Beach Resort.
On behalf of everyone here, I apologise for your delay at reception and check-in. We value your feedback and use this information in a positive way to continually improve our service and meet the expectations of all our guests.
Countries all over the world celebrate and have holidays at different times of the year. The country of origin of our guests varies greatly according to these holidays and the seasons as well. For example, the winter in the southern states of Australia can be very cold, during these months the number of Australian visitors increases dramatically.
Thank you for providing this feedback, this information is important to us.
Terry Bouris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Lahore, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

To begin with,the location is very good..right on the beach,close to the commercail district of Koh Samui and close to good restaurants and cheap market.The parties on the beach organized by hotel play some very good music and the ambience gets very good at night..
The restaurant is over priced with average quality of food..The hotel itself is just average.nothing more,nothing less..The receptionists are rude and not helpful at all..There is a construction site at hotel and you just cant escape all the noise made by it..the beds arent comfortable at all and the washroom is way way below average..
My advice to anyone planning to go to ark bar would be to stay somehwere else and visit this place for cocktails,its location and parties.Donot stay here..Just not worth it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madddy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryAB, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear madddy1988,
We are grateful that you have taken the time to express your opinion regarding your stay at Ark Bar Beach Resort. Every opinion regardless of the content is valuable to us as we strive to improve our standards and fulfil all the expectations of our guests.
Naturally, we are sorry that you did not enjoy the rooms at Ark Bar, however we are pleased that you enjoyed and have recommended our beach bars, entertainment and atmosphere.
We look forward to seeing you here again, and hopefully, due to feedback like this, you will have a better experience at Ark Bar Beach Resort.
Terry Bouris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon, Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had an extremely pleasant stay at Ark Bar. We were close enough to the party pool that we could walk there in under a minute, yet far enough that we could sleep peacefully before 2am if we wanted to (but we never did!). The resort is on the beach itself and has a restaurant that serves great food, both Thai and Western. We never really left the resort for much, except to go on trips and to party at Green Mango (which is also super close to the resort!).

One downside is that the electricity in your room does not turn on unless you are also physically in the room. For this reason, it was a struggle to charge all our cameras and phones since we were always by the pool, at the beach or on tours. I do understand that electricity needs to be regulated in this area so that was fine. Don't even think about detaching your room card from the actual room key - they thought of that way before we did :)

We had the pleasure of experiencing Ark Bar's beach party, which was killer - we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you're looking to sleep before 2 am (as that's when the DJ stops), I'd suggest asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you've been to Chaweng before then you will know that Ark bar is the place to be.

The rooms are ok, the location is EXCELLENT, the food is EXCELLENT(although a little pricey) the music is AMAZING, the atmosphere is AMAZING!!!

If you want to go to Thailand and party then trust me when i say this GO TO ARK BAR!!!

Room Tip: Beach parties on Wed and Fri are seriously good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBooth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryAB, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear SBooth86,
We all thank you for taking the time to write such a raving review of Ark Bar Beach Resort.
Every one here does try to do their best, usually we succeed, we are human, so not always!
Please tell your friends about Ark Bar Beach Resort :)
Terry Bouris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#68 of 186 in Bophut
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Property: Ark Bar Beach Resort
Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing