We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar-Rooms far too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have stayed in Samui several times and thought give Ark Bar a try. For a 2000 baht standard room it is really not worth the money.

Rooms outdated, Tv not much signal or channell, have to constantly get new internet codes from reception, dark red walls in room which makes them very dark, curtains dirty and no phones in rooms.

THERE IS MAJOR BUILDING WORK GOING ON NEXT DOOR.

Food very good and best Thai Curries in Samui at the restauarant.

Good central location but you can get far more for your money room wise else where.

No special touches made this 40 pound for a standard room- there is 3 pools on the upside but you can use these if you don't stay here as long as you drink or eat.

No need to start building work that shakes your room at 8 in the morning in a party resort.

Have moved elsewhere in Chaweng for rest of month.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovestoTravelalot06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
There are newer reviews for Ark Bar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you're looking for a fun place that pumps out great dance tunes, then this is the place for you. The Kitchen serves up really good food. The place gets pumping, great place to party and the accomodation is alright(more flash packer style). I would definately go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorindaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, awesome pools, also has a splash bar. Lots of young ppl getting amongst the bar and pool. Met alot of awesome people. Accommodation was nice cheap nothing fancy but cant complain. If you enjoy your sleep stay further away from the beach as there will be a party that ark bar throws everynight till 2 to 3 am. Theres a DJ there at the top deck of the pool, who is just awesome!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simo200sx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ark Bar Beach Resort in my opinion is much like an upmarket backpackers resort. I honestly felt a little old here (and I've only just turned 30) and it was a bit like schoolies running around getting drunk and acting crazy. When I booked the accommodation I wasn't informed of the construction going on next door (right next to my balcony window) and so sleep was nigh on impossible. Nevermind the hoards of drunks yelling outside your door as they walk down the pathway to the bar/beach. The music they play at the restaurant is also a little repetitive and sometimes it would be good to have something to chill to in the mornings (instead of constant doof doof).
Don't get me wrong the staff at the restaurant are lovely and always happy and smiling.There is a big variety of food on the menu (spring rolls were really good) and the thai food was nice. Not so much the western food. The hawkers along the beach in front of the restaurant can be a bit intimidating and downright annoying and pushy. The views from the beach are really nice though.
The best thing about Ark Bar Resort is it's location as it's right on the main drag in Chaweng and great for shopping.
The rooms are clean but not serviced unless you request it with your sign hanging off the door (ours had unfortunately blown off the door and it took 4 days to get another one.) Air conditioning stopped working on our second last day here so we had to move rooms. There were constant power outages also and wi-fi signal dropped in and out of the rooms. Honestly I'm not normally a whinger but overall I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the reception are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie-Jean688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Well, we booked the hotel without any idea of how it is going to turn out. We arrive in Koh Samui and immediately make our way to the Ark Bar.

The second we check into our room - Top notch service - we head towards the Bar/Beach and immediately revel in our decision to pick this place... The beach was packed with party go-ers. I mean the hotel is literally straddling a crystal blue beach and there is an abundant supply chairs and tables for everyone to take a slice of paradise.

At night the party begins and the place becomes an outdoor nightclub. Me and my travel buddy walked along the coast to see if we can "match" the experience, as it seems people are just "turning up" every night anyway.. But Alas, we could not - there is more "classy" or expensive or "exclusive" resorts.. But if you're looking for a good time? Ark Bar - the music is pumping, the beers are flowing and everyone just wants to have a good time. - not for children, really.. not for children.

Room Tip: Only stayed in 1 room, however it would be wise to have a room away from the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaikulJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had an awesome 10 day bachelor party for a friend here, we are already planning our next one :)
We met some awesome people, the beach partying and music was great, so was the food!! Highly recommend this as the number 1 place to stay on chaweng!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali Qizilbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Large, clean rooms and good location if you haven't been to koh samui before. Entertainment at Ark Bar is fantastic and meals and drinks are good quality too. Was going to recommend to others, until I got a "taxi" organised by the hotel to the airport for 900baht for 3 people for a 4minute trip.... Was quoted at 600baht (still a rip off) but given the wrong change! Other than that, great spot!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meltow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryAB, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi Meltow,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We attempt to make every part of your stay at Ark Bar a pleasant experience, even the taxi to the airport.
We are also very concerned that you got charged that amount for your trip to the airport. To help us remedy this problem, can you please tell us which reception you departed from and which company took you there.
Best Regards,
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#68 of 184 in Bophut
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $48 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing