We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Only ate the restaurant, but the food was great and fresh, reasonably priced and good cocktails. Staff also provided aeroguard as we were being eaten alive with sand flies and mosquitoes!
The only negatives i have is the staff stood at our table the whole time and made us feel very uncomfortable my friend didnt realise and turned around to look for someone and actually face planted the girls stomache, thats how close she was! Also the people trying to sell things would actually come up to our table while we were eating and talking and try and get us to buy or to hold animals! very annoying.

Great view and would go back for the food and view!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimy_Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
There are newer reviews for Ark Bar Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed in the ark bar in July 2012. Honestly, first impressions were not great. Reception was a bit dingy and the rooms looked bleak. However as I had booked a suite, I was accompanied to the other side of the resort which was much nicer! Even the walk way was wider and cleaner! Room was lovely, as were the staff. The swimming pool was relaxed, by the beach, and for a solo traveller, a great place to meet people! The hotel restaurant and bar was also a very cool place with a very relaxed atmosphere. My advice to anyone over 25 though would be to make sure you take a suite as apposed to a standard room, as the standard part of the hotel was a haven for 18-25 year olds!!! Rooms further away from the beach are also advisable if you are looking for a more relaxed stay because the music from the bar can be heard until the early hours!
Staff were lovely and if I was to ever return to that side of the world, would definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a suite. Nice, clean room, good size and that side of the resort is much...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Although we didn't stay in the hotel, we constantly went to the beach-side bar / restaurant for food and drink during our 18 day stay. In Samui, there isn't a better place to go if you want a good view, good service and want to listen to great music. Every afternoon, they have a DJ playing amazing music... then it gets even better when a guy joins him and sets up his drums. I'm 44 and this place took me back to my crazy 20 party years. I bought 4 CD's from the bar. This place is great and fun... but caution - don't play Connect Four with the young Thailand girls... They are wickedly good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrisjacobs30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at Ark Bar for 5 nights at the start of this month, reserved 5 nights online giving over card details confirming it being £30 a night. Get to check in and they request to pay it then, woman on reception not going over any details or prices. Get to check out and have to pay an extra night with the dates being mixed up but not being notified, end up paying over £200 for 5 nights as the prices are different on the website. The pool and beach facilities are available for anyone in Sumui to use so you are paying just for the room, which is no better than any other resort with the shower being cold, taps to clean your teeth being hot and no hair drying or iron facilities and when requested, none was ever available saying the books were old. The staff around the pool are helpful and give good service but the food and drink is so overpriced for what it is. And the reception staff are ridiculously unhelpful, rude and raise there voices angrily. Would never stay here again, and don't bother going to the Wednesday or Friday parties if you want to feel like your in Magaluf listening to cheesy clubland music. Do not be fooled like we were!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThumperDink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I didn;t stay here, I stay next door in a really cheap rubbish place, however I always use the bar here to sit on the beach.

Has a good bar and decent food right down on the beach always busy and a good place to start a night off before heading into the main nightclub area for a night out.

Would defo recommend to go here for a few drinks and something to eat to mingle with likeminded travellers.

If you planning ona relaxing dinner with the wife or kids - don't go, this is not what this place is aimed at.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Superjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We Were There On The 26th Of September For The Pool Party It Was One Of the Best Days Ever.If You Want to Party Then This Is The Place To Be,If Your Old Or You like Quiet Time I Suggest Else Were! i Made A Video Of That Special Day Check It OUT,Love The ark Bar:)Heres The Link Ehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=6c9XyFkEVlAnjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldmemberTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel was the worse thing that happened to me at Thailand.
When I read party in the beach I would read: the hotel is crap discoteque.
I could be the all day talking about how bad it was but in summary:
- Unsafe. The "resort" is open, so anybody can walk inside.
- Bad rooms. Dark with the window looking at no garden at all, just people walking around. Terrible bathroom.
- Terrible attention. Girl in the reception dishonest. When I finally left she cheated on me with the refund, instead of 5.200 bath she change one on 1.000 for one of 100 (both are very similar).
- Terribly noisy. The music playing all the day plus an annoying construction.
- Bad beach, dirty water.
Fortunately I found other place, cheaper, with great attention that did not ruin my image of Samui and Thailand's people.

Room Tip: Do not go, it is impossible to describe how bad was the experience
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#68 of 184 in Bophut
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $48 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing