We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROOMS ARE GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al's Laemson Resort
Ranked #78 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“ROOMS ARE GOOD”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Hi,
Location of hotel is near the beach. Can walk down to the beach from your rooms.
Rooms are villa concepts, have outdoor shower.Quite spacious and comfortable, Very quite place to relax, though the villas are scattered throughout the compound, will be challenging for some elderly folks going and coming from the villa's as its situated on higher grounds, roads are inclined upwards walking's.

The hotel has shuttle services to the town (hotel will drop you off at Tops Supermarket and pick from up from there), not hourly, but at certain hours in the morning and evening. Walking to the town center would take approximately 30-45mins,there is a lots of ups and downs (the roads) that you have to do before reaching the town.
Returning from city to hotel via taxis would cost around 200-250bht. Motorcycle tuk tuk or other private cars would cost around 80bht to 100bht.

Swimming pool has a nice backdrop of the beach, has a pool side bar. the beach is ok to roam around and do beach activities like canoeing (canoe can be used for free, provided by the hotel). Am not sure whether the waters are ideal or not for swimming, didnt notice many people swimming but rather walking on the waters, because the water level is shallow.

Hotel staffs are pleasant and forthcoming with anything you require, Villa prices were quite reasonable,i suppose this is because it was a low season.

This would be an ideal location hotel for young couples, or people who don't want to be near the city.

Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    58
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
27
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Me and my girlfirend had a holidayweek in koh samui before we started backpacking on a budget and Als Laemson was spot on for what we needed.
The service was amazing, they couldnt do enough for you.
The room was very clean, big and had a semi outdoor shower.
The swimming pool had a swim up bar and drop edge that looked out over what was basically a private beach as it was at the extreme end of chaweng beach that very few people pass, although you are still only a few minutes walk from town.
We couldnt recommend this place enough!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

In wonderful Koh Samui, everything comes with a free smile. Great service, as also the lack of it. We should have realised from the start that the place wasn't worth it, but what to do, we'd paid for four nights in advance, and it was Christmas, the chances of finding alternative accommodation were next to nil. Here's how it went wrong:
1. We had booked a Suite Beach Front Villa only to realise that there was hardly any view of the beach or the sea. The only view was through another villa, provided the curtains therein were not drawn. On pointing this out we were shifted to another villa. This time one could see the sea, but only during the day as it was at least half a mile away. All this with a customary smile.
2. My wife and I are vegetarians. We were politely informed that a vegetarian breakfast could not be provided as there were no other vegetarians in the hotel. So much for Thai hospitality.

Room Tip: Stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socrates009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We weren't expecting much from this place from the many negative reviews and so chose to only stay 3 nights.

We were nicely surprised to have a warm welcome and were taken to our lovely, clean and modern deluxe villa. For 1800 thb per night ex breakfast we felt it was excellent value, especially when we were given breakfast vouchers for all 3 mornings for no additional charge. A mistake rather than a perk, but good all the same!
The pool area was lovely. I would agree with done reviews in that the beach area wasn't that great - and I'd query weather it's tecnically chaweng beach. We initially followed the beach round to the right to get the the main northern chaweng beach, but it wasn't easy as we had to navigate around old boats - could be the aftermath of the floods? We later discovered it to be much easier to go out of the entrance and go right until you see an Italian resturant, Olivio on the left. Cut through the restaurant to get to 'proper' chaweng beach.
We'd recommend eating and drinking at My Place as it doesn't add service charge to its prices - 100 baht for Pad Thai compared to 150 plus 7% tax and 10% service next door!
We would recommended it to people who want a nice & clean resort and who aren't too fussed about a few minutes walk to the main action.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

staff were polite and nice, but didn't go out of their way for you. use the free shuttle bus into chaweng if you go, taxis are very expensive for the distance to cover. housekeeping was sloppy - many times we didn't get fresh towels, or they didn't clean the bathroom. rooms are an ok size, nice to have your own little hut. pool was fine, some days - very poor as the water quality was bad. sea area is ok - very shallow, and beach is not fine, clear sand - has lots of stones. cocktails are good at the resort - make use of the happy hour, and breakfasts were very good -especially the omlettes! music played for a number of hours during the day at the pool-side, loud r'n'b tracks, so not that great lots of ants around the decking area near the restaurant - so sit under the shade. also recommend reserving your lounger first thing as they go quickly. overall location - its hidden down a narrow side street off the main road, so picking up a taxi it not that easy. hotel taxi is expensive for the airport drop off and general hiring. would suggest repeat booking with a taxi driver you pick up from chaweng - we got a really good deal that way to drive to bophut. try olivio's restaurant around the corner - fab food and amazing view. not a honeymoon destination - good for families.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Me and my boyfriend started our two weeks trip in Thailand with 2 nights in this place. We really enjoyed the quiet location in, otherwise, very busy Chaweng, Samui. The resort is really nice, clean and cosy with large, impeccable bungalows. We stayed in a deluxe villa, which I can really recommend. The only downside I can think of is the beach. It´s not very nice just outside the hotel, but if you walk the beach about 150 meters to the left, there is a heavenly nice beach. The resort is close to the airport and to Chaweng. We didn´t try the restaurant at the hotel, but there are plenty of cheap and nice ones just up the main road.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c-girl-Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed here in December at the end of out Thailand Trip. We had been staying in guesthouses on the mainalnd before we got to Koh Samui so we were looking forward to a bit of luxury. Overall it was a good place to stay but I'm not sure if we would stay at Al's Laemson again. On the plus side it was very romantic!

Accomodation:
We stayed in a Sea View Deluxe but to be honest the seaview wasnt exactly unspoilt. If we went again we wouldnt bother paying the extra. Also, our bungerlow was by one of the main pathways that led down to the beach so it could be a little noisy in the morning. I remember being worken up a couple of times by the staff walking past our bungerlow talking loudly and driving their carts around. Our inside shower didnt have any hot water so we complained but nothing was done about it. The outside shower was lovely but the hot water seemed to have a mind of its own and didnt seem to stay hot for long. The room itself was large and the decor was very nice.

Also, the TV didnt work through-out the whole of our stay. You don't go to Koh Samui to sit in and watch TV but it was rainy season when we went and it would have been nice to have it. We did mention it to the reception but they told us the cable TV was down on the whole island. I'm not sure how true that was because everywhere else seemed to have it on! There wasnt any internet in the rooms either - even the most basic guesthouse that we stayed in previously had free Wi-Fi in the rooms so we felt a little let down about that and the internet computers that they had in the reception were very slow.

Location:
Lovely apart from the fact that their part of the beach wasnt pure white powder sand it was more stoney but it was still nice. Across the bay is a tiny island that we Kayaked too curtesy of the free Kayaking hire service that the hotel provided which was a major bonus for us. We had a lovely day just sitting on this deserted island just a 5 minute Kayak from the hotel which was perfect. We really did have our own island!

Facilities:
The pool was great. We went in rainy season so we never had to share the pool with anyone as it was so quite. It really was lovely. The resturant was brilliant and we had the best food of our whole trip there. The staff in the resturant were great too and very helpful!

Reception Staff:
Not so great unfortunatly. The first few days that we were there were very rainy and everyone seemed to be incredibly grumpy but towards the end of our stay they did perk up and seemed quite friendly. They werent very good when it came to booking trips through them either - just book them through one of the many tour guides in town if you go as they will probably be cheaper and much more knowledgeable!

Location:
Great if you want a quite time in Koh Samui. Its a 5 minute drive from the airport and a 10 minute walk onto the main strip of Chalong Beach. We found a cut through to the beach through one of the hotels by Al's Laemson which made it really easy. Dont take the long route up the main road as it will take you ages!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
1.3 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
0.7 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
1.3 mi away
Al's Resort
Al's Resort
#75 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Laemson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Laemson Resort

Property: Al's Laemson Resort
Address: 154/14-15 Moo 2 | Chawaeng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al's Laemson Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Al's Laemson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Laemson Hotel Chaweng
Al's Laemson Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing