We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of The Room Chaweng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Room Chaweng
Ranked #55 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. The room was big and quite cheap. The hotel is close to the beach but a bit far from the nightlife area of Chaweng. There are two computer stands in the loby with free internet. there is free Wi-Fi as well. Sometimes I had to wait for the receptionist, but in the bottom line it's good for backpacker or couples for a short stay but I wouldn't recommend it for a honeymoon or families though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hagayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having walked from Koh Samui Airport to Chaweng Beach (this the result of a mild disagreement between myself and the unscrupulous taxi company at the airport!), I was kinda eager to find somewhere half-descent in order to park my rather large suitcase as I had been planning to take a similar stroll later that afternoon to Lamai which coincidentally, I did.

Put simply, "The Room" is cheap (1000 baht per night); cheerful, but sadly has the personality of a sleeping door-mouse.

It does however benefit from a great location and is generally clean and tidy but...

No fridge (removed by the owner it seems, for what reason I was never told but all the rooms had their (essential?) small fridges similarly removed).

The electronic safe refused to work properly, although this particular issue was solved by providing me with the master key which staff would normally use to access the safe when guests had inadvertently left leaving the safe locked.

There was free internet but no spare toilet roll (never underestimate the usefulness of spare toilet rolls in Asia!) the view from my room was also nothing to write home about.

It also has a lift and parking for bikes was available at the front so overall as a stop gap, The Room was perfectly adequate, but...

Had I not been so tired from the early walk in near 40 degree heat, I would have sought something with slightly more character.

For that reason, it's difficult to recommend a Hotel I will not be returning to but...

For 1/2 nights, you could undoubtedly do worse.

And probably better it has to be said!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The room in The Room Hotel is big, and cheap compare with other hotel in this area. it's only 5 min's walking distance to the Chaweng Beach, 7-11 store is also with 3 min's distance, and many restaurants and travel agents around, very convenient. I stayed there for 4 nights, but it seems only 2 rooms have client in my floor (about 10 room/floor), maybe it's the reason why the free WIFI is very fast. From my check-in to check-out, I only saw 2 staffs there, one was the security man sitting outside at nights, and another was the reception lady. At day time, you even couldn't find the reception lady sometimes.
Anyway, it's good for the value, if you want to save money. This hotel is worth trying.

Room Tip: It's a good choice for budget travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel looks pretty good from the outside.
Rooms are quite nice and clean (little bit urine stink and sometimes you can see gekon on the wall). Our view from the room was awfull (mess everywhere), but if you are in Chaweng Beach there is no point to sit in the hotel room and gaze from the window.
There is wifi you can buy, but try to connect without pay- we had free wifi on the room which was very nice surprise.
We can´t speak about the reception. In fact, there is no reception in this hotel. We met nice guy there one times, but he knows absolutly nothing! No English, no idea about our booking via internet,..
Location is very good. It´s just few minutes to the beautiful Chaweng beach.
The Room Chaweng is average hotel, but don't forget - you pay ridiculous money for that. What are you waiting for when you pay less than 600 Bath per room?! :)
It´s not for a week holiday, but if you are looking for some low-cost accomodation for a few days I can recomend this place to you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bara_Vyskocilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The hotel name says it all " The Room" is all you get , no real reception, restaurant,ammenities,or hotel atmosphere.
Its average price , hidden from the main road and the beach is easily accesable .
Nice sized room , no balcony , the window looks onto a pleasent scenary which is a suprise in a dump like Chaweng so that is a big plus.
Room was modern, bathroom basic , no hot water for the sink which is a bummer if your a bloke and need to shave but there is a kettle in the room.
The day before I left internet was made available in all rooms , which is great as I had to go down to the lobby to go online , the lobby being a space in front of the elevator that had a horrible old sofa to sit down on.
The friendly cleaner came daily and always had a smile , really very clean this place which is worth a lot .
The lady who runs the place is friendly as well and speaks good english.
I booked through Agoda which advertised a beauty salon , dont get me wrong I dont do beauty stuff being a bloke but there was nothing of the sort there ! must get onto Agoda about that !
Check in/ out was easy and quick ,fridge in room and the aircon the best I have ever had ! Can set it so that you can sleep with it on without freezing or sweating , a real big suprise.
Just stay here if you dont care about anything that has anything to do with a hotel , it literlay is just a room
But why stay in Chaweng anyway, was only there 2 days cause i had to , Mae Nam is much much quieter and better

Room Tip: they are all the same ,dont go to Chaweng unless you have to or you are under 25 years of age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The room....Chewang beach....Koh samui

The room in Chewang.......nice rooms...everything you need. Even tho the tap in bathroom dripped all night keeping me awake...but I am a light sleeper.
Wifi only in lobby area.....but reckon if u had a room newer to lobby u could get it no probs.

Staff.  Very nice..friendly and helpfully.
No breakfast included....no complimentary water.

Being on a two month trip of south east Asia....I have learned to book one night for arrival anywhere.
We found an even better room. Arou d the corner for half the price...albeit no fridge but was better and cheaper.

The room hotel was good, but wouldn't stay again...as I know a better room in Chewang.....but would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjcheffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I booked "The Room" Chaweng Beach Koh Samui as the nightly rate was so cheap, the Hotel whilst looking dated provided me with a clean room, the bathroom was very dated although clean, towels and shapoo, shower gel supplied, fridge and TV in room.

The only "BIG" issue was despite being advertised on Agoda & there own website as having "internet in rooms" there is none! There is a computer in the room by reception but this was always locked and reception staff where never available after 10am. On reception they have some colour brochures that also say "WIFI" in all rooms! what happened there then?

Why advertise WIFI if you do not have it?

The big issue for me was that not having in room internet resulted in having to lug my big 20" laptop out to check e-mailm etc in the mornings, I also enjoy being able to download some movies etc to watch in the evenings or if it is raining. I think that having wireless internet is a must have for any Hotel.

Anyway for €15 a night it is worth the money.

5/10 in my opinion.

Room Tip: No internet at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No7Agency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,937 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Room Chaweng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Room Chaweng

Address: 99/99 Moo.3, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: $17 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Room Chaweng 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Room Chaweng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Room Chaweng Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing