We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KC Resort & Over Water Villas
Ranked #47 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We booked a long weekend here as the overwater villas looked nice and relaxing. We have stayed in over water villas before and like having a private pool.

The pool was freezing and not private - everyone could see it
The mini bar was never restocked
24 hour room service was not 24 hours
Food in the hotel was rubbish
drinks were well over priced
the main pool had lousy drinks service.
The nearby beach was dirty

All in all it was just very average which is a shame because it has so much potential. The manager was lovely and helpful and the hotel was in a decent location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverWaterVilla, Area General Manager at KC Resort & Over Water Villas, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Confidant of KC,

Thank you very much for having taken the time sharing your experience with fellow travelers and having chosen KC Resort & Over Water Villas for your vacation.

We do deeply apologize and regret that our service wasn't to your liking and expected standards.

The Over Water Villas are only private on the deck, however not in the front of the pool. As the Villas are "over" water, you are private underneath the Villa; once you swim to the front you are in the open. This can not be made more private, as we would be blocking the view we are so well known for.

The pools are not heated, as we are on Koh Samui and the temperatures are only around 27 to 28 degrees this time of year and hence you might have experienced the pool to be a little cooler than usual.

We have addressed your comment on the minibar not being replenished and this was a case of miss communication from our side. Our team missed to inform our guests that some items were out of stock due to a lack of delivery from Bangkok, where the warehouses were under water. The deliveries are back to normal by the end of this week.

Some challenges, internally, we were faced with on the mentioned days about our 24 hour room service. This is fully operational again.

Our food and beverage menus are all priced at a four star rate, however with five star service - we try to be very conservative, as we understand that we have the beach strip within walking distance and we wish to keep our guests dining within the Hotel.
The Restaurant, just won an award for the most chic all day dining and was recently nominated for one of the best restaurants on Koh Samui and is also member of the Secret Chef Society - we would be happy to address your comment on the food, however it was too general - our apologies.

We do hope you return to Koh Samui, whereas we can not speak for the cleanliness of the beaches (as it is not ours), however we can guarantee a multitude of beaches which Samui has to offer, where there would be surely one to your liking. (Once the winds turn, some beaches are affected and it takes a few hours and a lot of man power to clean them.)

Best regards,

Andreas Kraemer
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    180
    109
    46
    52
See reviews for
58
404
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Had the most amazing time in Samui and this resort had a lot to do with it. There were a few small things like the mini bar not being stocked regularly and reception pushing for you to use certain tour providers nut all in all I would not hesitate in returning or recommend this place. The staff are all so friendly and the rooms stunning. The over water villas are fantastic. Roomy and private with an even bigger private pool if you can get a discount nearly as good as the one I got book it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattfenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverWaterVilla, Area General Manager at KC Resort & Over Water Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Confidant of KC,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and sharing your experience with your fellow travelers and visitors to KC Resort & Over Water Villas.

We do apologize for the lack of restocking your minibar - this will be looked into and addressed with the appropriate department.

We do have many activities and excursions on offer and we try to promote the partners that are most professional in handling our guests and that are safe and value for money. We do the same with recommending outside Restaurants.

We have a very special tour on offer, a tour that has been put together by our activity team. The tour includes spots on Samui that are not offered by the usual operators and places that are untouched and not overrun by tourists. Please ask for our KC Explorer, KC Culture and Amazing KC Tour - be sure to bring your camera. These tours are guided by our in-house activity team and we can assure that you will enjoy yourself.

We do hope that you will visit Koh samui again soon.

Best regards,

Andreas Kraemer
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv-Yafo, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

love the loction , the view and the service thank you.

Room Tip: the villas and if not the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last week for 7 nights in an over water pool villa and then had 1 night in a deluxe jacuzzi room.. one word.. WOW!!!!!....

The villa was amazing! try get one at the front as it has a hedge that gives you more privacy and also means you don't have to walk up and down the steep hill!!.. The bed was so comfy and the sheets were good quality! Aircon was great once you can figure out the right setting! took us 2 days of whinging and whining before we got the compendium out and read it properly! NOTE TO SELF: don't leave the auto button on!!.. Once that was sorted it was great!!!..

The staff are so polite and helpful! Our butler (we didn't really consider her that) I think her name was Saa she is also the tour guide was extremely helpful! She took us on our 4hr tour of Koh Samui and is just a beautiful lady and very helpful whenever we crossed paths!!..

We forgot we had a complimentary dinner as part of our villa package and one night we went to the restaurant not remembering and the lady realized we had changed rooms and asked us if we still wanted it! I thought this was great! She went out of her way to give us this option instead of making an easy $100 for the hotel by us just ordering on our own accord!.. Then even the chef came out to speak to us and have a laugh and a giggle! It was beyond what they had to do as staff and this is the sort of quality I wish all hotel staff would have! I work in the hotel industry and it is these thing's that guests appreciate most! but it doesn't stop there!!! They had all obviously communicated so well that when we got back to our room our bed had been turned down and there were fresh towels in the bathroom!! Clearly they had let the other staff know that we were at dinner and to do that for us! Once again they go above and beyond! and this was after we had already spent our 7 nights in the villa!! So to have stayed in the deluxe jacuzzi room and to still be looked after so well I was very very delighted!!!

We booked 2 tours through the tour desk and they had the cheapest rates even when I looked at the tour company's online!

It is a max 3min drive into the main st of Chaweng by taxi and the hotel offers a free shuttle bus 3 times a day and also return shuttle as well which was very convenient. The resort itself is located at the top of a massive hill (mountain) but it gets you away from the humidity and there is usually a nice breeze by being up so high. Not to mention the unbelievable view from different view points of the hotel!!!

oh and the room service!!! YUMMMM!!!! Defiantly try the mango sticky rice as the desert with ice cream as well!!! soooo good!!!!

I only have great things to say about this resort it was unreal and I wouldn't hesitate on going back there again and either should anyone that's wondering if they should stay there or not!!!

=) Happy Travels!!

Room Tip: For the over water pool villas the first row is my pref as no one could see into our bathroom from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverWaterVilla, Area General Manager at KC Resort & Over Water Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Confidant of KC,

Thank you for staying with us and for the exceptional great review on our team. I am happy to read that a fellow hotelier appreciates the treatment received.

The shuttles to the heart of Chaweng will be increased around May next year, for the opening of our sister property, KC Beach and Pool villas. This will make access even more easier.

Our Executive Chef along with his team are a gem and it's a pleasure to work with them on a daily basis. You will be happy yo know that they have just been awarded, Most Chic Dining Venue, by the Hotel Asia Platinum Award committee.

We do hope you will return to KC Resort & Over Water Villas soon.

Best regards,

Andreas Kraemer
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

It was my second stay at the KC, and everything is better year after year. If the view is one of the best for a romantic stay, it is not the main key point of the Hotel.
The most impactful is the quality of service. Every staff member is so helpfull and they do the best to have an amazing stay.
I really enjoyed my stay, and also never hesitate to come back in this hotel for my futur stay in Samui.
Don't hesitate to go on this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romain524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverWaterVilla, Area General Manager at KC Resort & Over Water Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Confidant of KC,

It's a pleasure to read your response and noticing that our team has kept your level of expectations since your last visit.

We have just upgraded our Panorama Bar located next to our main swimming pool - a new food and drinks menu will also be introduced shortly, with many signature dishes and cocktails of KC Resort & Over Water Villas.

You will be happy to know that KC Resort & Over Water Villas has just received three Hotel Asia Platinum Awards. The team is thrilled and will build on this to improve and surpass expectations in the future,

We do hope to have you back on Koh Samui soon.

Best regards,

Andreas Kraemer
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My first impression was 'Oh god, this is halfway up a mountain' and I don't do hills! Need not have worried as once you have climbed the steps to the reception a golf buggy is at your disposal if you can't manage steep paths or loads of steps. Our room was spacious and the bed sooooooo comfortable. We had a fabulous view across the sea and a double jacuzzi on the balcony. The view from the infinity pool was even better and the bar/lounge and restaurant enjoy similar views proving the advantage of being up a hill. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and we enjoyed several evening meals, thai, european and bar-b-que all of which were very good, well presented with very good service. Internet service was usually available free of charge in the form of a lap top on the bar counter but was for me at any rate a bit of a struggle as the subdued lighting made it difficult to see the keyboard! Maybe I should resist internet whilst on holiday anyway!
The hotel provided a free shuttle into Chaeweng throughout the day which was very much appreciated and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front facing the sea for a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank somersetgirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverWaterVilla, Area General Manager at KC Resort & Over Water Villas, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Confidant of KC,

Thank you very much for having chosen KC Resort & Over Water Villas for your holiday and also taking the time of sharing your experience with fellow travelers.

The hill truly feels like a mountain due to the incline, however once you have reached the top you are rewarded with the most breathtaking view that only KC Resort on Chaweng beach can offer.
A buggy is on call 24/7 to get you up and down the hill, if you do not wish to walk.

The complimentary shuttles to the beach will be increase as of May 2012, once the beach property, KC Beach & Pool Villas will open, to hourly.

We do look forward welcoming you again soon to Koh Samui.

Best regards,

Andreas Kraemer
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

i stay in hotel on 10 Oct to 15 Oct,wheni arrived at the hotel the staff is quite nice but they bring us go to check that was upsad and angry because i book the twin bedroom but they give us one bed of room,after they just told us no more choice for us because all room is full but i book this hotel 3 months ago.by the way the other thing is no bad

Room Tip: u need double check for the room is avarviable or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WingS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OverWaterVilla, Area General Manager at KC Resort & Over Water Villas, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Confidant of KC,

Thank you very much for having stayed with us and having shared your experience with fellow travelers.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and feel that KC Resort & Over Water Villas is a beautiful resort.
We have addressed your comments with our team, however may I mention that our team didn't receive the voucher as a twin bedroom booking from your travel agent. The team did try to move you, however, as you mentioned, we do only have a limited number of twin bedrooms and these were occupied during your time of stay.

We do hope that we may welcome you back soon to Koh Samui, perhaps then to our sister property, KC Beach & Pool Villas, to be opened second quarter of 2012. This property will also offer a private beach for our guests of KC Resort & Over Water Villas.

Best regards,

Andreas Kraemer
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.4 mi away
Bhundhari Spa Resort & Villas Samui
1.6 mi away
KC Beach Club and Pool Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
2.3 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
691 reviews
1.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KC Resort & Over Water Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Resort & Over Water Villas

Property: KC Resort & Over Water Villas
Address: 166/98 Moo. 2, Chaweng Choeng Mon Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KC Resort & Over Water Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ’KC Resort & Over Water Villas’ is located at the North of Chaweng Beach, on a hill top. This unique location allows you to be close to the center of Chaweng, where everything happens, but not be disturbed by any night time craziness. The view over the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Matlang and Chaweng Bay is spectacular and can be seen from anywhere in the resort. To fit all your need, KC Resort & Over Water Villas provides Spa-in and outdoor luxurious treatment rooms; A view Restaurant & Wine Lounge - featuring a terrace with a great view on the neighboring island and the ideal spot for dining or enjoying a drink and of course 95 exclusive rooms, suites and villas that will exceed your expectations, in a secluded estate enjoying stunning views over the cobalt blue sea and outlying islands of Koh Samui. Every room features complimentary WiFi, over size king bed with double seat Jacuzzi with light therapy system and rain shower column with acupressure jet, cordless telephone, safety box, mini bar and hair dryer with shaver socket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your KC Resort & Over Water Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kc Resort And Over Water Villas
Kc Resort & Over Water Villas Hotel Chaweng
KC Resort & Over Water Villas Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing