We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
212 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from staying at Sareeraya Villas and Suites staying there from May 29 to June 7th. The most relaxing holiday we've had.

Upon arrival, we were made to feel very welcome. We arrived around 10am, and they were working quickly to ensure our room was ready ASAP - we waited about 10 minutes.

The room was amazing - we had pool access off our room and it was so discreet and hardly ever used - but we used it every day.

This hotel does not appear to be designed for children, so for us, it was just what we wanted. While there were some children there, mostly we weren't bothered by them (there was one annoying family with two kids who kind of took over the pool most days, but that could happen anywhere).

Staff were brilliant. Once they had asked your room number, they remembered it for the whole 9 days. Once they asked your name, they remembered it. They remembered your drinks order. They bought out ice cold towels to dampen your face in the middle of the afternoon. The quality of the spirits was great (some drinks at other venues tasted like petrol). The pool was so relaxing overlooking the bay.

The location is perfect too. It's about a 7-10 minute walk to the main strip of Chaweng. Close enough, but far enough away. There's an ATM over the road at the hospital and a 7-11 about a minute away. The restaurants along the beach were 1 minute away.

Sareeraya appeared to cater for people who wanted a more relaxing experience. Older couples and newlyweds seemed to be the norm. There was no drunken loutish behaviour. I hate how I sound like an old man typing this, but it was just the holiday we wanted - sitting by the pool, or swimming in the pool, being looked after. Sareeraya offers all this in spades!

Not only will we be back, we are already planning and bringing friends along with us.

See you next year Sareeraya and Seng (our favourite barman!).

Room Tip: Don't choose the pool access room - I want to ensure they're free for me to use when I retur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Peter G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review of your visit on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your positive comments towards our hospitality and friendly services have been well received by all of us and especially by our bar staff.

We are glad to learn that you also enjoyed our rooms with pool access. The location of our Hotel is ideal, as it offers our guests the comfort of reaching the city centre within walking distance.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again and providing another relaxing stay!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    197
    62
    25
    22
See reviews for
131
521
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Sareeraya. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Our room (a jaccuzzi suite) was very spacious, clean and comfortable. It felt very private, which was what we were after on our honeymoon. The only negative was that at the end of our stay we had some noisy neighbours in the pool suite downstairs.
The restaurant is nice, just a little expensive. We tried the kantoke diner on the beach which was absolutely lovely and definitely recommended if you're after a romantic experience. We also tried the thai cooking class which was very accessible and we learned a few interesting tricks.
The beach is superb in front of the hotel with plenty of sunbeds, the sand is wonderful and seems to be cleaned every morning by the staff. There are a few bars, restaurants and massage places along the beach.
The main Chaweng strip with shops and restaurants is a 10-15 minutes walk along the road, although you can find a couple of places before that.
Overall, we loved our stay at the Sareeraya and definitely recommend it for couples, friends or families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Camille P,

Many thanks for submitting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you had such a lovely time while staying with us on your special Honeymoon. Your kind words about our attentive and friendly staff, clean and comfortable room and nice restaurant are very much appreciated.

Glad you also had time to try our special Khantoke Night and enjoy learning the Art of Thai Cooking with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What an amazing hotel Sareeraya is, the hotel is beautifully modern, in a great location on Chaweng Beach, close to the shops, restaurants, night life and it is right on the beach.
From the moment we arrived by their chauffeur car we were treated like a royalty and it continued for the 2 weeks we were there until we were dropped off at the airport by Mathew the reservation manager.
The room was modern and excellent with lots of space as well as the large bathroom with a huge shower. From the huge balcony on the 3rd floor the view of the ocean was great as was the large daybed. The staff cleaned the room daily and turned the beds down every night with a nice smile.
The Chefs Table restaurant was excellent and the menu had a great international selection of dishes for lunch and dinner. They had amazing barbeque nights on the beach which was fantastic. Every morning the buffet Breakfast was amazing! They had pancakes, eggs cooked in 5 different ways, a selection of juices, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, waffles, cheeses and much more. The chefs were wonderful and nothing was too hard for them to please you.
The pool was wonderful with a swim up bar which was fabulous every day and we met the other hotel guests which became a daily happy hour for us all. They have many sun loungers with big umbrellas on the beach and around the pool and you were always able to get a spot. Even when we were on one at the beach for most of the day the staff would not only give you exceptional service they gave us a cold face towels this has never happened before at any hotel we have stayed at.
I have left the best to last, The staff at Sareeraya are exceptional. In reception, and reservations they were always helping us, including booking tours advising us which ones suited us and who were the beat operators. The staff at Chefs Table, the pool bar and the beach stewards were fantastic, always very helpful, smiling and treated you as if you were the only guests there.
We will be going back it is the best place to relax and be pampered.

Room Tip: The bungalows are great but a bit expensive, the best value is the hotel rooms especially on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wellard_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Wellard_10,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit, we are glad you had a relaxing stay here with us! We appreciate your remarks about our convenient location, modern, spacious accommodations and friendly staff. Our aim is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to know our entire team has done that for you. Thank you also for your recommendations towards our Chef’s Table Restaurant. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a lovely resort. More of a boutique style resort yet providing all the necessary requirements.
We stayed at Sareeraya for one week in late May 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it. Our rooms were spacious and the beds were wonderful.
Position of the resort was excellent. Just far enough away from the hub yet only a short ride to town. A little too hot to walk!!! The resort is right on the beach however quite e few rocks in the shallows which made it a little more difficult swimming in the sea. Breakfast was great as were the staff, could not be more helpful. We would definately return to this resort. Lots of great retaurants all the way along the beach which were cheap with delicious Thai food.

Room Tip: We loved the pool side rooms . Could just jump into the water first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255100Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear 255100Sally,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our location and size of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We've just returned from our wonderful stay at Sareeraya where we celebrated our 25th Wedding anniversary. Like all the other reviews have mentioned, this place is very special and highly recommended for a private getaway for that special occasion. Breakfast was excellent every morning with a great range of options to choose from. The pool with sun lounges actually in the water and around the pool and on the beach were plentiful and the location was perfect, very quiet yet only a 10 minute walk along the beach to the main Chaweng Beach area where all the action was.
Our room on the 3rd floor was a jacuzzi suite with fantastic views and a real treat, with nothing else required. Great for that special romantic getaway and highly recommended.
A special mention to all the great staff but particularly Elisa who looked after us very well, we really appreciated her special added touches which made our 25th anniversary even more special. Also to Lek who was our waiter on our anniversary night where we enjoyed the special romantic dinner experience on the beach under a canopy with candles and flowers. This was a special treat and Lek looked after us very well. Highly recommended for a special occasion and great value for money with a 6 course dinner :) Will definitely come back again and visit Sareeraya, thanks for a wonderful time away. Regards, Mark & Kerry Patterson. Australia

Room Tip: Try for the 3rd floor, you won't be disappointed with the views and the jacuzzi on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mark & Kerry Patterson,

Thank you for staying at Sareeraya Villas & Suites during such a special occasion and thank you for writing a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your 25th Wedding Anniversary special. Your compliments on our accommodations, services and facilities are very much appreciated. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon again!

Best Regards
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a boutique hotel with less that 40 rooms or suites. It has a spartan and alternative styled décor perfectly suitable for a beach/tropical setting. 200 meters from the main Chaweng drag, far enough to avoid the noise but close enough to crawl home after a night on the town. The hotel is on the beach which was a main criteria for us. The hotel pool and lounges are slightly elevated overlooking the ocean hence creating a panoramic view. This northern part of Chaweng beach is quieter which is great when you want to relax during the day. The staff was very friendly and very service minded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobbeinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear TobbeinOz,

Thank you for your contribution on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time at our hotel. Your positive observations regarding our resort design, location and services are very much appreciated. Thank you also for recognizing our team members for their friendliness and service commitment. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed in Sareeraya in March 2013 for the last five days of our three weeks trip through South East Asia. As we have been in several areas of SE Asia and particularly in Thailand many times before, we have taken our time to decide where to stay and we even looked into the hotel during our stay in Samui in 2012 to make sure this would be the best place for our trip in 2013.

Before our arrival in the hotel we were a bit worried about what to expect: We had read several comments in tripadvisor, and we where shocked about the reactions of the hotel management which we found insulting in most cases where guests had complained. So it took us a while to write our comment as we also expect an insulting reaction from the Hotel Management.

We had booked a suite without Jacuzzi and on arrival we were "upgraded" to a room with Jacuzzi - but it was the last room on the left side of the hotel on the first floor, right next to a construction site. We refused to take this upgrade as we wanted to sleep longer in the mornings and not being waken up by the sound of caterpillars. Unfortunately we were told that the hotel was "fully booked" - only by insisting that we would rather leave than sleep next to the construction site we were given another upgrade to a Room with pool Access. This room was (like all other pool access rooms) on ground floor facing the backside of the villas and therefore incredibly dark and depressing. And it had a very bad smell from moisture.
Yes, Miss [---], we know that the climate in Thailand is different to ours, but we also know many hotels in Thailand which do not have this smell of moisture in the rooms.
After long discussions it turned out that there was another room available - by surprise it was just the room type that we had booked - so the little odyssey through the other rooms had not been necessary at all.
Funny enough we read later that people had experienced exactly the same thing before (see reviews from 2012/2013)

The hotel itself is probably one of the best in Chaweng. It has quite a stylish layout and its close enough to walk to Chaweng (about 10 min. to the center) and quiet enough for a relaxing holiday.
But:
It is obviously not maintained well. Maybe the hotel management should spend more time on maintaining the hotel than on writing insulting answers to negative reviews...
The room is fairly big but the wooden floor is full of scratches, and there are stains on the wall and on the ceiling.
On the (large) balcony there is a worn daybed. As we felt disgusted by the stains on the daybed we had put shower-towels on the daybed on the first day. Up to the last day these towels have never been removed or even touched by room service.
The door to the balcony did not shut thoroughly - therefore it was always damp in the room. After a few days our clothes had taken on the smell from moisture in the rooms.
The breakfast room has a beautiful view on the beach but the buffet breakfast is a bit boring: There might be sixty items as Miss Kopriuova states, but it seems that only one or two of those items change on a daily basis.
No fresh juice, and if you ordered eggs you had to wait about ten to fifteen minutes. (the hotel was NOT full). The staff in the breakfastroom is not service minded - no smiles, no good morning, only chatting with each other.
So is most of the staff: During our five days we have not even once been offered drinks on the pool: not during the happy hour and not during all the other hours we spent on the pool.
In fact the staff of the pool bar was not seen during most of the time. But around 3 or 4 pm they would go around the pool closing all the umbrellas and wrapping them up. This gave us a very uncomfortable feeling and we had the very strong impression we were supposed to leave the pool. we even mentioned this to one of the waiters but he did not even respond - he was not interested.
The only nice and polite person around the pool was one of the security men - he always smiled and even prepared the towels for us. But he was obviously a security man (blue uniform) none of the other staff seemed to care.
The sun loungers are very close to each other, the pool is not too big and the terrace over the pool (which used to be the massage place but is not in use any more) is full of rust and looks rotten.
Three out of our five days the beach was blocked after 2 pm since the staff prepared for a beach barbecue or romantic candle light dinner. Those events might be very romantic, but its kind of rude for the guests on the pool to start blocking the beach at 2pm , then interrupting work for about 2 hours and start again at 4 pm...
The beach itself is thoroughly cleaned every day, but the water is very dirty so only put our feet in once...

Still, compared to the other hotels in Chaweng it is probably the best choice, but its obviously not a luxury hotel since it is in need of renovation and lacks the typical Thai service orientation which makes the guest feel special.

As this is not the first review of this kind, maybe the management should take the feedback and work on improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerhardFritsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear GerhardFritsch,

Thank you for staying in Sareeraya Villas & Suites on your recent trip to Koh Samui. Your Hotel experience is our priority and we regret that, although you consider us the best Hotel in Chaweng, we could not completely convince you with our service and facilities. Please be assured that we take reviews very seriously and have noted all your comments.

Occasionally, especially when running high occupancy, we might be booked out on a certain category of rooms and offer our guests a complimentary upgrade to the next available room category. For this reason, we assigned you our Sareeraya Suite with Pool Access and Jacuzzi, although your booking was for Sareeraya Suite. We regret that the upgrade did not suit your needs. As you preferred the room you had originally booked, we changed our room assignment and switched the rooms with another arriving guest. We apologize for any areas of misunderstanding or miscommunication. Our pool access rooms do not provide a sea view, however, the pool access is convenient in a number of ways and many of our guests prefer to stay in this floor. The room interior is exactly the same as in the upper floors.

Our hotel room floors are wood and although durable, sand and grit carried from outside by shoes can sometimes scratch and abrade the surface. Only option to avoid this issue would be to install a carpet, however, it would take away the pleasant, contemporary feel of our hotel. Please be informed that we spend a lot of time on preventative maintenance of rooms and public areas to keep the hotel looking fresh and up to date.

Koh Samui enjoys a hot and humid tropical climate year round and is therefore very different to weather conditions in many other parts of world. Recently we had a professional company to check and test the humidity inside the rooms and it was found standard for Koh Samui and its tropical climate.

The terrace over the main swimming pool is regularly maintained, as very often we use it for small wedding ceremonies. Some of our guests also like to spend their time there. Since the opening of our Raya Spa, we have focused on providing spa treatments and therapies inside the spa area, as the temperature is more pleasant and we can provide full service for our guests (showers, bathrobes, slippers, welcome drink, etc.).

Our Housekeeping team is dedicated and committed to provide superior standards throughout the property and we take pride in making sure our guests are comfortable in their room. For this reason, we encourage guests to let us know when they encounter something that is not up to their standards so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. We have a 24-hour maintenance staff which responds to individual guests needs, and many issues would take only seconds to fix or replace.

Our buffet breakfast is complete with both Asian & Western breakfast favorites and a selection of fruit juices and smoothies, and is often complimented by our guests. Unlike in many other hotels, most of our hot dishes, such as eggs prepared any style with your chosen ingredients, crepes, pancakes, waffles and French toasts are always prepared fresh to order and served to the table. We believe the extra effort we take is worth waiting for.

Nevertheless, we regret to hear that you did not enjoy the variety and apologize for any shortfalls in the service you received.

Finally, please note that all your comments have been shared with the team to ensure that we all are aware of what standards we need to exceed and where we may need to improve.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.2 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Property: Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing